We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cocobay Resort - Very enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cocobay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cocobay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Certificate of Excellence
West Herrington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cocobay Resort - Very enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We've just returned from a two week stay at Cocobay Resort. We booked a Sea View Cottage (Room 34) which was in a great location. The Resort itself was fabulously located and the views were stunning. The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. For very little effort the hotel could improve further, for example, making beach towels readily available throughout the day, replacing towels and dressing gowns in the bedrooms (they were too small especially for my husband who is 6ft 4), keeping the bar open slightly later than 10.45pm (The staff had to catch a bus home at 11.05pm) and perhaps having a mirror in the main bedroom. The food in the restaurant was of a very high standard. We had a vegetarian in our party and she sometimes struggled as the menu was limited for her (although it must be said when she asked for someone "off menu" such as an omelette they happily obliged). The buffet breakfast and lunch were excellent as were the restaurant staff. The evening meal was a sit down 4 course menu which was great for the first week but by the second week we would have liked to have more of a variety, e.g. a bbq night or perhaps a themed night? The hotel only has one restaurant, although we did eat at "Sheer Rocks" the restaurant attached to the hotel for tapas on the Sunday afternoon (which was fabulous!) The beach attached to the hotel is a public beach, but there was no charge for sun lounges and there was no shortage of availability. We hired jet skis which were approx US$50 for half an hour. We also used the services of "Eddie" who was a driver organised by the hotel, he took us to English Harbour, St Johns, Shirley Heights and we had some great days out. The weather was fabulous, we had several rain showers but that's all they literally were and mostly on an evening so it certainly didn't detract from our enjoyment of the holiday. We were a bit unique as we were out most days, but the provision of packed lunches would have been an added bonus. We also went into Jolly Harbour on an evening for the odd Italian or Greek meal which was only 5 minutes away by taxi (In our second week as we were ready for a change). Wifi was available for an additional charge of US$10 per day. All in all though a very enjoyable holiday and I would certainly consider staying at Cocobay in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,466
    483
    141
    59
    59
See reviews for
91
1,740
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (656)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

If you are looking for an all inclusive resort with GREAT food, GREAT views, GREAT people and more look no further. We stayed in a sea view hut, with private plunge pool and it was worth every penny. Staff was friendly and accommodating, just remember that a small tip goes a long way. We would recommend booking excursions at the hotel if you don't want to be bothered on the beach. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Go with the sea view, you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Antigua
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in July at Cocobay Resort. It was truly amazing! We didn't realise it was all inclusive, so you can imagine how OVERLY happy we were after hearing that on our arrival! They served fabulous breakfasts and lunches but the dinner was DIVINE! They had a 5 course dinner with a beautiful variety of food. The service was wonderful!
The BEACH..... Valley Church beach/ Jolly Harbour area is stunning! The sun was shining the whole time and the ocean was bright, bright blue!
We were SO happy with our room. It had a small pool and a partial beach view, just gorgeous. Trees all around, birds and gorgeous sounds. The pool temperature was just perfect and the pool got cleaned each day.
On the saturday evening the staff put candles and flower petals through the room. It was such a special touch that they do for the guests and really, truly lovely!
The bathroom was lovely and opened straight up to the deck! We loved the hammock and the comfortable deck chairs was our favourite spot.
The bars were great (we couldn't believe still that it was all inclusive of alcohol too!) The pools were absolutely beautiful and we never felt like it was overcrowded!
So, so, so impressed with our stay! O'Neal (The Hotel Manager) was very lovely, he introduced himself and checked with us if everything was ok.
This was actually the most relaxed we have ever been at a hotel/resort. Cocobay is so much more than a hotel/resort, the individual cottages make you feel like you have your own piece of paradise for the week! We will forever love our stay in and we can't wait to return.
Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for an incredible time!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AJK51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

WE have been to this Resort 3 times now and it continues to be amongst the best we have ever visited.
This is a mainly couples resort. With Good Food friendly staff in a great location.
To be honest it is better that i do not witter on about all of the good things, the list is too long.
I notice most of the bad reviews complain about insects and the weather, which are to be expected in the Carribean and certainly are not an issue.
Please try Cocobay if you have not been, you WILL NOT be dissapointed

Room Tip: Go for a beach front cottage with a pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We had a lovely, relaxing time here. Our hut was sea view, set back a little on a hill which suited us as we had a nice view and caught a breeze too. Furnished simply with a large bathroom, very caribbean with the water from the shower flowing out through the bathroom door onto the side of the verandah, nice to be able to shower with a view too! Mossies net over the bed which helped as I always get bitten a lot, lizards and hummingbirds to watch as you relax with a pre dinner drink. The food was excellent, especially dinner with a good choice of delicious courses, never managed dessert. Staff were lovely, slight preference shown to Americans, but not anything disturbing ( one exception to this but cannot remember his name, he was surly and very reluctant to serve, even denying he knew how to mix drinks that the other bar staff made, and one outstanding young lady (with beautiful nails) who was great).The beaches are amazing, three within easy walking distance, the two away from the hotel front were deserted and soooo beautiful. Pools good, possibly towel service could be improved, at times there was quite a wait for clean towels to arrive so was wise to keep ones from day before. I would not hesitate to return, the sooner the better.

Room Tip: Personally I wouldn't bother with the plunge pool rooms but would go for a plantation house if w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LionAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

My husband and I just got back from our 7 day stay at Cocobay resort. We booked based on previous trip advisor reviews and a college friend (thru trip advisor) who had written a glowing review of the resort. The long and short is we would both recommend it to any of our friends or future honeymooners....your friends will be green with envy. Now for the long review.....

1st Make sure you book through Cocobay's website you get all sorts of free comps, i.e. airport transfers, bottle of alcohol in the room, all inclusive no-up charge on meals and guarantee the best room in your category at time of booking.

Pros:
Rooms: We stayed in Yabba house. A large beach front cottage there was lots of sitting room, a small closet, double sinks, walk out shower, plunge pool, tub and hammock. It also has a porch with lots of shade when you need it. I know other people have said it's not worth it to get the pool for us it was. We were the first row of houses on the beach. We'd spend the am over at the beach or pool and after lunch we'd go hang out in our room by the pool. The beds was THE BEST hotel bed we both have ever slept on. The pool was great, the walk out shower was as well. Private but still close to reception/bar etc. We were moved late in our stay due to a bug issue (see the only con) and we were moved to Chattel House. We would request Chattel again it is the room from the brochure, with 2 glass/open walls, double hammock, tub, pool, only a window shower and smaller overall than the first room. This room gets more sun and no porch but has a large palm that shades part of the patio/pool. The views here are unreal it's just you and the Caribbean sea. Also the mini bar was ALWAYS restocked water, sodas, juice, beer everyday no questions asked and when we moved rooms I forgot to pack a granola bar and bottle of aloe from our old fridge and they moved it for us. Also we asked about wifi and were comp'd the wifi (normally a $150 charge) because we were in the premium room....just ask!

Service: Fabulous the best we've ever had. Melissa, Ceyeon, Oriel were all fabulous stand out guests. I loved Ramone, a sweet girl at the front desk who always had the biggest smile and would wave and chat with us every time we were in reception. People here are truly happy and like their job unlike other islands we've traveled to. The asst. manager was also very helpful, but I can't remember her name. We had an issue at night and felt our problem was heard much more clearly/quickly during the following day...it was worth going back and talking to the asst. manager. We also met Oneil a few times each time he introduced himself and shook our hands. Clearly he is very involved in the day to day operation of the resort and it's details.

Food: The food was excellent. We ended up eating a lot of the fish (not big fish eaters normally) and every day it was fabulous. If they have the pineapple donuts at dinner dessert one night GET THEM GET A DOUBLE ORDER! I would have liked a little more variety at breakfast...maybe french toast or waffles, a casserole of some sort, but other than that it was very good. Drinks are also very good, strong and are always being topped off before you can ask a bartender to do it. Ask Ceyeon for his off list drink the "Moonlight" best drink there!

Pools/beach:There are 2 we liked the upper pool better (more breeze) we only used the lower pool once and left to use our own as there was no breeze and it was hot that day. The beach is very nice a little rocky but the water is warm and sand in the water is very sugary. The beach further down at the end of cocobay beach has nicer sand and is probably a 2 min. walk past Dennis' restaurant (we did not eat there). There are few vendors here and go away the very first time you tell them no. We had no issue getting either and umbrella or a pallapa on the beach if we went before breakfast and dropped off towels and returned afterwards.

Spa: We got a couples massage. The relaxation hut is very nice, can hear some pool noise. The pressure was a little much a times but overall very good and same price we'd pay at home. Easy to book and was a nice add on to our vacation.

Price: We looked at Sandals and met a couple visiting from Sandals to plan their next trip to Antigua (NOT at Sandals) and found that comparing notes our resort was much quieter, relaxing and for the price we had the more luxurious room which is the same cost as the base room at Sandals.

Landscaping: Gorgeous, beautiful full sized palms, everything in bloom. The resort itself is small ( 50ish rooms) but with all the landscaping it seems much bigger than it actually is because your eye can not see too far down the path or away from your room which gives the illusion of a bigger resort and ultimate privacy.

Con: The bugs. We are from the Northeast so gnats and mosquitos are not uncommon to us. We only saw gnats and were easy to swat. OFF was available at the gift shop for not an awful resort price. We live near the water at home and we both understand that bugs are part of nature. However we ended up combatting roaches 3 nights while we were there, each time (at night post dinner-mood killer) we told he front desk and they would come spray immediately. Finally we went the next morning and spoke to the asst. manager and was moved right then and had access to our new room within the hour. It was more of an inconvenience and a bit creepy but overall it would not deter us from staying there again. We are already trying to figure out when we can make it back.

Overall the resort is quiet (bring something to read!) and is a place to unwind, recharge the batteries don't expect lots of pool parties, organized group activities, etc. It's about soaking up the sun, rum and the pool....that's all. We would recommend the creole cruise as an excursion (very laid back easy going lunch was yummy, not a "cattle-maran" cruise like the others. We ate at Sheer Rocks one night, the view is unparalleled, the food was good but I'm not sure it was best food we've ever had but we are spoiled living so close to NYC. It was good but I would have been fine if we skipped that night and ate at hotel rest. Alex the owner is incredibly nice and the bar there is wonderful and nice break from the pool bar etc. with some fancier truly hand crafted drinks (we did stop there twice). Other reviews complain about it not being "all inclusive" and being charged an up charge (which is shown on the menu) best I can figure out all those people booked through a travel service (Virgin, etc.) and must not have bough that package. All the American's we were with did not have an issue with an sort of up charges. We only left the resort for the excursion and for a trip in St. John (skip it if you've ever been to any cruise port you've been to St. John). There was no need to leave the resort it was our own oasis and just wonderful.

Wish list: Snacks at tea time (they have cheese sandwiches, it would be nice to have some mini bags of pretzels, crackers, veggies or fruit...just a little something to grab and take back to the room to snack on between meals....I'm a snacker and like my afternoon snack but I was never 'hungry" always received enough at the meals.

Room Tip: Chattel house is the "brochure" room with the glass window. Gorgeous, quiet just you and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sarah Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

My partner and I have just returned frm the most amazing 10 days here. This hotel is the most relaxing and beautiful place to spend time. The views from our cottage were breathtaking and it is so hard to describe just how fantastic the location of this hotel is. There are 3 beautiful beaches within walking distance and if yoju venture to either of the 2 not directly attached to the hotel you can find them deserted which just makes them seem so much more beautiful.

The food is fantastic andwe were never hungry as there is plenty on offer. The drinks were excellent and again plenty to choose from. The staff are what really makes this place, when I arrived I needed to see a doctor and the staff on the reception desk were so helpful and had a doctor out to me within a few hours which saved my holiday. If you make the effort to speak to everyone and greet them with a smile you will get a lovely warm response from everyone and they are the best bunch of people who make you feel like part of the family.

We took the Wadadli Cat catamaran around the island which was superb and the snorkelling at green island is fantastic. Highly recommend the zip wires and stingray city excursions and also its worth going to Shirley height for the Sunday night party as the atmosphere is amazing.

If you are thinking of booking this hotel don't delay - book now you won't regret it and you will never want to come home. I will definitely be back at the Cocobay

Room Tip: Ask for F2 a bit of a walk from reception and communa areas but the views were astounding
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sneero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolans
8.9 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
1.7 mi away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.6 mi away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#2 of 7 in Saint Mary's
5.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
4.6 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,188 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocobay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobay Resort

Property: Cocobay Resort
Address: Valley Church, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cocobay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua's most romantic all-inclusive resort - Cocobay is a colorful collection of pastel cottages crowning a breezy hillside undulating down to two white-sand beaches and miles of turquoise Caribbean Sea. Blessed with some of the most dramatic ocean views on the island, we cater to couples seeking a romantic getaway in a quaint, natural setting. Guests can choose from 57 private, authentic, Caribbean cottages and 4 plantation houses each enjoying a private verandah with striking sea views and custom designed wooden furniture. The premium pool cottages provide the very best oceanfront locations, and other amenities such as: private plunge pool, more spacious interior including extra seating area, air conditioning, bathrobes and other extra bathroom amenities, private balcony with adirondack chairs and hammock, ceiling fan, mini fridge, shower, hair dryer, espresso coffee machine, iron & ironing board, king size bed with pillowtop mattresses and high thread count 100% Egyptian cotton sheets, in-room safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Cocobay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobay Hotel Bolans
Coco Bay Antigua
Cocobay Antigua
Cocobay Hotel Antigua
Cocobay Resort Antigua, Antigua And Barbuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing