We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good all inclusive hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cocobay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cocobay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good all inclusive hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2009

We stayed for 4 nights from Christmas day 2008 till the 29th.

The initial impressions were very good and the check-in staff were very friendly and had some nice juice and wet towels to refresh ourselves on arrival. The room was nicely prepared and clean and we had very nice views of the bay (we had a Seaview Cottage). The remaining areas of the hotel are well presented, the restaurant, bar and pool areas are clean and also have great views of the bay. The bar toilettes were clean with one exception, where we notified staff and they were sorted out within half an hour.

The food is generally good with lots of options and of good to very good quality. We never had something that we thought was bad, but then we never had something we though was extraordinary either.

The nearby beach was a bit too rough when we were there as it was fairly windy to try out although it had plenty of deck chairs for people to soak the sun. The space around the pool can be limited though depending on the time of day.

Overall we had a very good time and didn't encounter any "shortages" in the food or bar, although we must say that we were lucky that the hotel was about half full during our stay. On the last night it seemed to jump to full capacity though and the bar seemed to run out of juices for some cocktails (although spirits were available). The staff were also always very friendly and courteous.

I think some people might mistake them for being surly or unhelpful as they probably expect the US/Western service standard of "thank you please". Just look beyond that and they can actually be very friendly if you make an effort to start a conversation. Also, this is not a Hilton-type place where you can shut the door and expect to isolate yourself from everything else. The cottages are in tropical vegetation so do expect to find lizards and birds on your balcony (and room if you don't close the doors at sunset time). We didn't have much mosquito problems although the windy weather must have helped. We did get a few sandfly bites around the pool though.

Also, the first night might be a bit of a shock as the noise from the frogs, crickets and other animals around you might be a bit too loud. After that they disappear in the background with the waves and make for a pleasant hum. Also, if you are having difficulty walking you should go somewhere else as it can be a long walk from your room to the beach and restaurant and there are steps everywhere.

  • Liked — It was not a big development and not too crowded
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank panos.v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,466
    483
    141
    59
    59
See reviews for
91
1,740
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (656)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2008

My wife and I have just returned from 10 days in Cocobay and we are pleased to report it is even more beautiful than the photos can ever do justice. Accommodation is basic but it never claims to be anything else and anyway, it’s very comfortable even though it may be too rustic for some. Food is of good quality although variety may be a bit too limited for those fussy eaters but should be perfectly adequate for most. Drinks, while not branded, are very generous and of good quality so even those who consider themselves big drinkers should be happy and if not then maybe you should be holidaying at the Priory. Facilities are limited but that’s the point, it’s a get away from it all resort but there’s plenty of tours on offer (at a price of course) if that’s your bag. Most people seem to be happy to chill and unsurprisingly a large proportion of guests are honeymooners. Guests are mainly British by way with a smattering other Europeans and Americans. It may also be worth noting the hotel is gay friendly so if that offends then I’d suggest holidaying in the dark ages. I am surprised by the negativity of other reviews on staff as we found everyone we met to be extremely friendly. Just make the effort to chat and remember your manners. It doesn’t cost anything and pays dividends though the odd tip here and there might not go amiss either.

So, why the “but” in the title? Well you’ve probably read it before but the sandfly / mozzie issue can be a real problem and if you’re one of the unlucky ones then you will suffer! We did everything we could to prevent it – garlic tablets, super strong deet products, pegs on the nets etc. – and while I got the odd bite my wife was positively torn apart and she was not half as bad as some of the other victims you see around the resort. It seems so random and not the hotel’s fault (hence a four star rating) but it really can have an adverse effect on your holiday and for that reason alone we wouldn’t risk returning which is a shame as it should be a perfect destination.

  • Liked — simple, clean, stunning location, friendly staff
  • Disliked — the mozzies and sandflies
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank R0ssi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portishead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2008

Arrived home yesterday after a wonderful week at Cocobay, we had a fantastic time everything at the resort exceeded expectation.
A bit of confusion with the taxi from the airport but soon sorted out. Greeting at Reception was really nice,bags carried to cottage by Receptionist and Porter.
Cottage was nice,we had one wing (sounds like a stately home) of one of the Plantation cottages,large inside bathroom,fantastic view across to Jolly Beach.
The Bar was alright,if you can get near through the throng who " must sit and stand at the bar " . Oriel the Barman was a bit morose,maybe due to the fact that he is so busy he did,nt have time to interact with his customers,although when I asked him for a favour he went out of his way to help.
The Restaurant is absolutlely great, Breakfast as much as you can eat,and yes the Egg Ladies are brilliant. Lunch as breakfast but less choice but still plenty. Dinner great I ate things and flavours I'd never have dreamt of.Birds at breakfast are a bit of a pain,but can make you smile.
Sheer is very good a bit pretentious and pricey,but the food and the setting make up for it. We did have a problem while at Sheer which took a couple of days to resovle satisfactorily,but was sorted eventually.
It was my wifes Birthday when we were there,I ordered flowers through the Reception they were delivered at exactly the time I requested, and she loved them, and when we returned to the cottage the bed had been covered in flowers by the cleaning lady
( not from the bouquet). And members of staff spent the next two days asking if she'd had a nice Birthday.
All in all we had a fantastic time all the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Tip! If you want to use a curtesy room to freshen up before going to the airport you need to arrange it early on the day.

  • Liked — The bed, bathroom,views,birds ( all sugar junkies)
  • Disliked — The distance from the bar
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank damson49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2008

What a great place!!! Just go there. The resort and the surroundings are great. The all inclusive food is ok. The staff is nice and have a great service mind. The only minus is the "activity lady" who really sucks!
Book the cottages next to the water that have their own private pool.

/fredrik

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the "activity lady"
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred1235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maidstone
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2008

We Stayed at the Cocobay resort for one week from Nov 26th to the 3rd of Dec.
We loved the experience.
The rooms were lovely. Yes basic and rustic but the beds were so large and comfortable . I found the rooms to be very clean and loved my time spent here. I did worry that the mosquito nets would be a bit appressive but i did not find this to be the case. I loved the wooden floor and the view from our room was unbeatable.
The beaches ( choice of three ) were very different but truly stunning.
Quiet and peaceful.
We found the staff to be very helpful and accommadating and a friendly smile and a hello goes a long way !
The food was very good . Breakfast was excellant with a very wide choice. lunch was ok with a choice of fish or meat with salad and pata or rice. The evening meal was again very, very good with a choice of 3 or 4 dishes for each course. Smallish portions but plenty . We never felt hungry.
We ate in the sheer which we enjoyed. Stunning location. Very good food.
The only down side to this holiday was the party held on a beach across the bay. It started Saturday night, fair enough, we thought it would stop around midnight, but No. It went on all night untill 7 in the morning . Nobody got much sleep. It then started up again all day till 6- 30 in the evening. I am not joking when i say absolutley everybody had had enough !! I really do not like to moan and i do realise there was nothing the hotel could do about it. The hotel did say it was not a regular thing and hopefully this is the case !
The wildlife here was fantastic and we loved to watch the humming birds and lizards. Often getting up early to have a wander and to watch the sun appear over the mountains! breath taking.
I do feel if you do your research really well then you will know there are no tv's in the rooms, no phones etc. There is a tv room and an indoor seating area if this is what you want. Also my mobile had a good reception , so no worries here.
We really had a very peaceful, relaxing time at cocobay and would recommend to all that want nothing more than to spend time together and to rest.
LOVED IT !!!!

  • Liked — Loved the peace, tranquility, and lovely views
  • Disliked — Mosquitoes !!!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank nand1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2008

We just returned from a fabulous week at Cocobay to host our daughter's wedding. We have the highest praise for this paradise resort. The staff is warm, welcoming, and accomodating. Monique helped us plan every detail of the wedding ceremony and party afterwards. Tameka made sure that each of our guests had the right accomodations. Mr. Richards was personally involved in making sure all of our needs were met. We have no complaints. It is a relaxing place, clean, and beautiful.

  • Liked — relaxing atmosphere
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank SuzBethesda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2008

I am a person who bores easily and find it hard to unwind when on holiday, usually distracting myself with activities and excursions. But i have to say this is the only holiday that has left me totally chilled out both during and after my stay. The food is good but not great, but the hospitality and atmosphere more than make up for it. The wellness cottage is worth experiencing and looks out to sea It has an open front to increase the impact of the experience (I treated myself to a manicure and pedicure)
I have been on a few holidays since but would still rate this as the best ever. The entertainment is subtle but entertaining. The steel band added to the atmosphere, and the comedy singers were great. I will definately return in the future.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank judgejulesEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolans
8.9 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
1.7 mi away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.6 mi away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#2 of 7 in Saint Mary's
5.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
4.6 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,188 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocobay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobay Resort

Property: Cocobay Resort
Address: Valley Church, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cocobay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua's most romantic all-inclusive resort - Cocobay is a colorful collection of pastel cottages crowning a breezy hillside undulating down to two white-sand beaches and miles of turquoise Caribbean Sea. Blessed with some of the most dramatic ocean views on the island, we cater to couples seeking a romantic getaway in a quaint, natural setting. Guests can choose from 57 private, authentic, Caribbean cottages and 4 plantation houses each enjoying a private verandah with striking sea views and custom designed wooden furniture. The premium pool cottages provide the very best oceanfront locations, and other amenities such as: private plunge pool, more spacious interior including extra seating area, air conditioning, bathrobes and other extra bathroom amenities, private balcony with adirondack chairs and hammock, ceiling fan, mini fridge, shower, hair dryer, espresso coffee machine, iron & ironing board, king size bed with pillowtop mattresses and high thread count 100% Egyptian cotton sheets, in-room safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Cocobay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobay Hotel Bolans
Coco Bay Antigua
Cocobay Antigua
Cocobay Hotel Antigua
Cocobay Resort Antigua, Antigua And Barbuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing