We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!!!”
Review of Cocobay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cocobay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Certificate of Excellence
kent
1 review
“Perfect!!!”
Reviewed 20 March 2009

My husband and i travelled to the Cocobay for our wedding/honeymoon and got eactly what we expected. If you read the brochure then you will know exactly what you are getting!! We chose the Cocobay because we wanted a quiet intimate wedding and that is exactly what we got, the staff and especially Elizabeth were brilliant in hepling with the wedding arrangements, the photographs we had taken were top quality and stunning and the rooms, food and drink were all wonderful. If you are looking for a lovely peaceful resort with rustic style cottages and the most wonderful view across the ocean then you won't be disapointed!!! x

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blondie77Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,520
    499
    146
    60
    60
See reviews for
91
1,811
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (684)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Martletwy, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2009

My wife and I have just returned from Cocobay Hotel, Antigua and cannot recommend it highly enough. We stayed at the sister hotel, Coconut Beach 4 years ago and thought that was good. This place definitely had the edge - lovely friendly staff who always made you feel welcome. Do not expect 5 star food or accommodation - you will have to pay a lot more for this - but the rustic atmosphere of the cottages and the restaurant, with spectacular views over the beach and ocean, will give you an unforgettable holiday experience.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chauffeurman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2009

Not your St James', not your Jolly Beach. Relaxed, laid back, nice people but not intrusive. A do-what-you-want, be-what-you-want kind of place. With fantastic views, great beaches and a very decent banana daquiri. Just chill out and enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DougalBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2009

My girlfriend and I just returned from 5 nights at Cocobay and would hop on a plane and go back today if we could. The resort/beach was beautiful, the rooms were just as they described and the staff was friendly and helpful.

Here’s a quick rundown of a few areas:

Hotel – The hotel is located in a quiet bay area approximately 30 minutes from VC Bird. The taxi will cost you roughly $30 USD each way not including tip. The grounds of the hotel are well maintained and the open air design of most of the common area buildings/reception adds to the beach resort feel. One item to note… A lot of other people commented on the bugs and need for bug spray, but we only saw a single mosquito the whole time we were there. This may have been due to the season or the consistent breeze throughout our stay.

Room – I’ll start with the one small issue we had in the room (because this wouldn’t be an honest review if I didn’t report it). On the first and second night when we returned from dinner there were a bunch of small ants crawling on the beams in the bathroom. The front desk attendant said that it happens sometimes on cooler nights and handed me a can of bug spray which seemed to keep them away for the remainder of our stay. I felt this had more to do with the nature of the bungalows/natural location NOT the cleanliness of the hotel, so I didn’t bother me too much. Now for all the good which greatly overwhelmed a few ants. As many other people have reported, this is not a luxury resort in the traditional sense. The rooms are basic, but not boring. They offer a rustic feel without making you feel as though you are roughing it. The bathrooms are spacious and the beds, while a wee bit firm for my taste were quite comfortable. By far the best attribute of the rooms is the location and view. We stayed in an oceanfront room, which in my opinion was worth every penny. The ability to step out onto our deck or sit out in the afternoon in the hammock without any units between us and the water made the experience feel more secluded. Another benefit to the rooms and I assume this is the case for any location on the property is that you can hear the waves lapping on the shore in the evening and when you wake up (it was as though we put an ocean sounds relaxation CD on).

Pool – The pool is everything you’d think it would be from the pictures people post. The view is absolutely amazing and there are a good amount of chairs. Only once or twice did we attempt to go to the pool and not find a chair. This was mostly due to 4 inconsiderate guests that placed towels down and didn’t return for a few hours each day…Which again wasn’t an issue because we just went down to the beach.

Beach – The beach was a little windy while we were there, but not enough to keep us away. The sand is soft and there are lots of shells if you’re looking for a souvenir or two. The water was comfortable without being too warm or too cold. The resort had snorkel equipment, but it wasn’t used very much because the fine sand made the waters rather cloudy.

Bar – The all inclusive package includes all beer, wine and mixed drinks. We never really hung out at the bar, but did bring many drinks back to the pool area (try the Caribbean Sunset). The wine was nothing you’ll find in Wine Spectator, but it was plentiful and free, so it’s tough to complain.

Restaurant – In our opinion the food was just ok. The breakfast buffets were pretty standard. I personally would have liked a bit more selection at the lunch buffet. Dinner was nice and the presentation was good, but the food seemed to fall a little short. That said we didn’t go for the food. We went for the location and relaxation, so this wouldn’t deter us from returning. I should clarify that it wasn’t bad and we never went hungry. It just didn’t blow us away. To put it into perspective we went on a catamaran cruise (Wadadli cats) one of the days and the lunch they served was one of our better meals.
Overall – As I started the review…if we could go back today we would. The overall experience was fantastic. I would absolutely recommend Cocobay to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation in paradise.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AATBenjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simmons861
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2009

I am absolutely disgusted with the people who are slating this place when they write a review. My partner, mum and dad, sister and brother in law all stayed here for a family reunion and it was superb. I have never seen anything so beautiful as the first view we got when walking through reception. The views were gorgeous, the rooms were superb with brilliant views from every room. The food in the all inclusive restaurant was first class with a different a la carte menu every night and service was exceptional. The staff were excellent and very happy to do anything they could to make your stay better. They were happy to make drinks never heard of before and have a laugh with you at the bar. The beaches were out od this world with beds a plenty, the water sports etc were great and really fun. I recommend this place to anyone it was lovely and the staff just made it better. The hotel went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed every moment on this trip and i will definately be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simmons861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2009

My husband and I went here to meet up with family from the UK for a bit of a family reunion. We couldnt have chosen a better place for this purpose.

Upon arrival the receptionist was lovely, very helpful and happy. The rum punch is refreshing and just what you need to make you feel like you are finally at your holiday destination.

A bell hop carried our luggage to our room. The room was out of this world, there was flower petals sprinkled on the bed, a bottle of champagne with glasses chilling in an ice bucket and the view was amazing,. Our cottage overlooked the bay to the right of the hotel. This beach is always deserted. The bathroom was big and had double doors in it so you could shower whilst admiring the view. Fantastic.

The staff in the restaurant are very friendly and cant do enough to help you, the food was lovely, with alot of choice. The wine with the meal was ok, I have tasted worse. Mr Gore was very entertaining and liked to give the men of the group advice on "men being the boss in a relationship!!"

The bar was a fun place to hangout and the only place to go for entertainment really. Oriel, Peanut & Valencia are fantastic and very funny if you make the effort to start up a conversation with them. There is normally only 1 of them on at a time, so they are a bit overworked as they have to wash all the glasses by hand from the bar & restaurant. It can take a while to get served but my advice is be patient, your on holiday theres no rush.

The pool is always empty and there are loads of beds around it, most people go down to the beach. Even so the beach never feels like it is busy, there are alot of beds to use, so please dont feel like you need to reserve them with a towel!! Very annoying!!

I would recommend a trip to Shirley Heights for a night out on Sunday evening. There is a steel band playing, bbq and later on a reggae band. All of which are very good and the view is amazing. The atmosphere there is good fun. I would also recommend a trip into St Johns which is good for shopping and nice to see a bit more of the island. You can get to both easily as there is taxi drivers outside the hotel nearly all of the time, we used JJ for both trips and he was like a tour guide pointing out places of interest.

All in all I would recommend this hotel, I cant say enough positive things about it.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsk1ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, La
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Cocobay. We were aware, ahead of time, that the resort was on the rustic end of the scale. Everthing was clean, staff was friendly, food was satisfactory. Wished we could have stayed longer, we will definitely return in the future. We are from the southern U.S. and are used to mosquitoes--but were thankful that we brought our bug spray. The atmosphere was peaceful and relaxing. It was a nice surprise to find a new a/c unit in the room. Also, our row of cottages had new plunge pools, which the manager said the others would have soon. No issues while at the resort.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cclaud3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolans
9.0 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,846 reviews
1.7 mi away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
452 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
813 reviews
4.7 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,322 reviews
13.8 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocobay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobay Resort

Property: Cocobay Resort
Address: Valley Church, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cocobay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua's most romantic all-inclusive resort - Cocobay is a colorful collection of pastel cottages crowning a breezy hillside undulating down to two white-sand beaches and miles of turquoise Caribbean Sea. Blessed with some of the most dramatic ocean views on the island, we cater to couples seeking a romantic getaway in a quaint, natural setting. Guests can choose from 57 private, authentic, Caribbean cottages and 4 plantation houses each enjoying a private verandah with striking sea views and custom designed wooden furniture. The premium pool cottages provide the very best oceanfront locations, and other amenities such as: private plunge pool, more spacious interior including extra seating area, air conditioning, bathrobes and other extra bathroom amenities, private balcony with adirondack chairs and hammock, ceiling fan, mini fridge, shower, hair dryer, espresso coffee machine, iron & ironing board, king size bed with pillowtop mattresses and high thread count 100% Egyptian cotton sheets, in-room safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, West Indies, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cocobay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobay Hotel Bolans
Coco Bay Antigua
Cocobay Antigua
Cocobay Hotel Antigua
Cocobay Resort Antigua, Antigua And Barbuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing