We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cocobay Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
COCOS Hotel Antigua(Jolly Harbour)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarind Hills(Saint Mary's)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sugar Ridge Resort(Jolly Harbour)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hermitage Bay(Saint Mary's)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Curtain Bluff Resort(Saint Mary's)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,440)
Filter reviews
2,440 results
Traveller rating
1,629
529
161
60
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,629
529
161
60
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoco baythe cottagesplunge poolmr gorewaterfront suitelower poolbreakfast and lunchrum punchsheer rocksdeluxe cottageour honeymoonpaninislobstersea viewplantation housemosquito netbuffet style
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,043 - 2,048 of 2,440 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Lincoln, United Kingdom
211
Reviewed 30 July 2005

Me and my husband stayed here in july 2005 for 2 weeks.Eating here is self service for breakfst and lunch but in the evening the restaurant has candle lit lighting and the meals are la carte so lads make sure you take plenty of collared shirts and long trousres to eat here ,ladies the dress code is casual ,we did notice that on a sunday when its bbq night the dress code for men was a bit relaxed.The only good thing my husband says about wearing long trousers is it helps you stop getting bites from the mosquitos,which there is a problem.The hotel are trying to sort this by fogging the place but once a week i feel its not enough, in one evening with all the creams and sprays on to stop bites i had 74 bites in the morning.The beaches here are lovely soft white sand and clear warm seas but didnt go no where near the beaches after seeing bites on people legs from the sand flies.The main infinity pool is great to keep cool looking out over the sea, and the small infinity pool down near the sheer restaurantis a great get away.The entertainment at cocobay is round the bar if you like playing drinking games drinking plenty of rum and getting to know other guests you will love the night life if you are looking for party night life dont go you have been warned.The beach / pool towels are available at reception in the morning and there is no charge of this,but the bottle water there is a charge of $2 i feel that this should be compilentary in your room it doesnt sound alot but as a all inclusive resort it should be.The cottages here are basic but lovely,are first room was 26 which is close to reception we moved after 6 nights the noise starts as early as 4 in the morning with taxi turning up and staff turning up for work, its hard getting to sleep here with the noise of the frogs and the heat and with no air con in the rooms we had to move,if you get this room you have been warned.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Oklahoma City, OK
14
Reviewed 28 July 2005

We recently returned from a trip to the Cocobay resort in Antigua. We were surprised to know there was no air conditioning (our fault). We had a super time in spite of serious mosquitos - there's repellent and netting to sleep under at night.

A relaxing resort - lots of nations represented in the guests. The staff was nice, the food was good and the bartenders were generous in their pours!

I recommend it - no TV, radio or telephones - a great place to relax, unwind and "check out".

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2005

My wife and I stayed here in July 2004 and we had a great time.

Lets do the facilities:

Seaview Hut: Great upgrade, well worth having. As you will gather they are basic but roomy. Only negative is the lack of air conditioning, however after a few days you do aclimatize, even though we didnt think we would! Shower is great. Swing open the doors and bathe in front of the Carabbean sea - perfect way to start the day.

Eating: Breakfast was self service, sometimes a wait for a omlette, but its not like your going to be late for work is it? Lunch was self service often with freshly cooked local sea food, or burgers, however you can make a buffet what you like - thats the idea. Evening meal Dont forget long trousers chaps, and ladies no swimwear for the evening, food in the evening is close to a la carte, very impressive, we stayed for 2 weeks and did not see the same main course twice. You will not go hungry unless you are a serial eater looking to eat between mouthfuls - like some of our cousins across the atlantic...

Beaches: welcome to paradise, soft white sand and clear warm water, this will take your breath away.

Pool: Very cool to drift around the pool, cooling down and taking in the views of the caribbean. Lovely little hot tub below also but dont tell everyone!!!

Things to do: Same as most islands really, dont go into St. Johns town if there is a cruise ship in as you will pay three times price for most things. Allways worth knocking prices down for goods they will give you money off most things - treat shopping here like buying a used car. If you only leave Cocobay once, make sure its for Shirley Heights on every Sunday afternoon / evening, great food / drink and local entertainment. Watch out for the chaps selling 'special' herbs as this is illeagal in Antigua and you might find yourself in hot water in you "pass it to the left hand side".

We loved Antigua and Cocobay, best for relaxing and unwinding. If you need constant supervision and entertaining go to Blackpool and leave visiting Cocobay to the people who are serious about chilling out and taking in life's simple pleasures at a cool, Antigan pace.

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank pinstripe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2005

We have been to many hotels and destinations around the world and all we expect from our holidays is value for money and some sun. On this holiday we got neither.

We went there just after Christmas last year. It was going to be a special holiday which cost over £4000 for two weeks. However it turned out to be the biggest waste of money we had ever spent.

This was an all inclusive hotel eg you could get breakfast, lunch and dinner however if you fancied a snack throughout the day or somthing to nibble on you would have to buy it yourself! The food was nice but often the same and the service was slow. The bar staff were very good and nothing was too much trouble.

If the weather is bad (which it was for 2 weeks) there is not much else to do. Taxi's are very expensive and it is far cheaper to hire a car but don't get too excited there is not much too see on the island and we managed to cover 90% of it in a morning.

The rooms are nice however a little too close to nature for our liking (including waking up to a cockroach on my pillow one morning). If you like aircon then don't go here. When the weather is not so good you are constantly damp.

If you are happy to ignore all this and go for it anyway then here are a couple of tips.
Watch out for the sand flies, they bite like hell
Make sure you take clips/pegs for the mosqito net in your room
Make sure you close your shutters when you arrive
Make sure you ask reception every night for insence coils for your room

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank SteveScholes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
PEMBROKESHIRE . WALES
18
Reviewed 1 July 2005

we have just returned from 2 weeks at cocobay.
we got married there 'brilliant day' the setting is beautiful and the registrar was fantastic.
the cottages are beautiful 'get a seaview' the is outstanding out across the bay, one fault , they need air-con,the heat at night in the cottages are unreal.
the hotel itself is lovely,the aim of this place is 'relax'.the beaches '3' and sea is wonderful.the bar staff 'david,nik,joel' are great .the food is good but a bit fancy at night.
while there do go on a couple of trips,the stingray city trip is awsome and so is the wadadli catamaran triple destination trip 'fantastic' they pick you up on the beach.
so if you want a place to chillout and relax 'GO' if you want nightlife 'DON'T

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews