We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$480
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Victory Villas Antigua(Bolans)(Great Value!)
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Wild Lotus Antigua(Bolans)(Great Value!)
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$458
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$370
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$416/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Antigua Village(St. John's)
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Siboney Beach Club(St. John's)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Galley Bay Resort & Spa(Five Islands Village)(Great Value!)
US$570
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$531
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (2,503)
Filter reviews
2,503 results
Traveller rating
1,677
543
162
60
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,677
543
162
60
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmr gorethe cottagescoco bayplunge poolbreakfast and lunchwaterfront suitesheer rockslower pooldeluxe cottagerum punchour honeymoonpaninislobstersea viewplantation housemosquito netbuffet style
Filter
Updating list...
186 - 191 of 2,503 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2017

Words can't describe how happy I was with my stay at Cocobay Resort. I am a travel blogger who enjoys occasional getaway trips for photography. I had once visited Antigua two years ago and fell in the love with the area of the island where Cocobay Resort is situated. I came back to the island not only for picture taking, but also to be near Ffryes Bay, which was my favorite beach. Cocobay Resort is located just a few steps away from that beach, in a very quiet and peaceful area. This boutique hotel has mostly newlyweds, but at no point did I feel like a loner. At arrival and throughout my stay the hotel staff went out of there way to make me feel at home and comfortable. Every staffer always had a smile on their face and were very nice. The food was top notch amazing as well as the cocktails and other drinks. The rooms were private and bathrooms had an open air balcony connection. I stayed in a Deluxe room which had an incredible view of the ocean. The hotel offered connections to a wide variety of amenities and excursions. Of them I received spa services and booked a trip to Stingray City. I conversed and made friends with many of the guests there, who were all diverse and super friendly. All in all, I recommend this hotel, especially if you want to a complete getaway and to feel pampered.

Room Tip: Walk to Big Ffryes Beach (ask hotel staff about it)
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chrshayes363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuella H, Guest Relations Manager at Cocobay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Hello Chrshayes363,

Thank you for your review!!!

You have really just opened up a new aspect on leisure for those doubtful of vacationing alone. At Cocobay our staff are truly all embracing.

For a complete getaway and with our pampering you will never feel like a loner...............



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

Cocobay for 10 days was probably the most relaxing holiday I think my wife and I have ever had, the location, beaches and accommodation were paradise. The staff were super friendly and the service was true 5 star. The food was super with up to 4 / 5 courses for dinner, and buffet lunches and breakfasts, plus afternoon tea ! The bar also serviced pretty well what ever you wanted. We had a premium cottage with its own pool, Air Conditioning and direct views of the Church Valley Bay, just stunning, and totally private. As with any holiday, there are always a few minor issues, but the positive far outweighed any issues at Cocobay, so we have to give the resort a full 5 stars !!

Room Tip: The sea view Premium Cottages are just stunning!
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank V3799JOjamiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuella H, Guest Relations Manager at Cocobay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Hello Jamiem,

Thank you for your review.

It is extremely gratifying to know that the location, beaches, private accommodation with stunning views, super food with a good bar, and all topped up with friendly staff, could probably have made your trip to Cocobay your most relaxing holiday ever!!

Do visit with us gain the next time your plans bring you back to the island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

We've recently returned from a 10 day trip to Cocobay and can't say enough good things about the place.

Having never holidayed in the Caribbean before we were unsure what to expect but we were pleased to find that all the positive reviews for Cocobay on Trip Advisor were pretty much spot on. (There are a couple of very minor negative points but I will come to those later as the positives far, far outway the negatives).

On arrival up the long drive you are greeted by smiling faces on reception, a stunning view across to the beach and a nice (strong) rum punch which pretty much sets the tone for the rest of the holiday. The manager O'Neal even came out to greet us - from reading other reviews I think he does this a lot which is a nice touch as you don't normally see a hotel manager unless you want to moan. After a very quick 'tour' of the resort we were taken to our cottage - we were allocated Five Islands (F1) which I think is about as high up and as far away from the reception as it was possible to get which wasn't an issue for us but might be a problem for people with mobility issues.

When we got there however the small walk paled into insignificance as the views over the bay were amazing (see photos). The cottage was a fair size, immaculately clean, with a large extremely comfortable bed and a very large bathroom (in fact so large that it was actually a bit of a wasted space). I think our cottage is linked to another one and is designed to be shared by larger parties - if you get this one be prepared for issues when you turn the external light on the shared balcony off when you go to bed if the people in the adjoining cottage want it kept on.

In short summary however:-
- The place is incredibly relaxed and never felt crowded even when the hotel is full.
- The grounds are impeccably maintained and look absolutely gorgeous. We regularly saw tropical birds and on a number of times almost walked into mongooses (is that a word?) wandering through the grounds. Views from all parts of the resort are fantastic, either across the bay and the turquoise water, over the beach or inland up into the hills.
- The two infinity pools are both clean and well positioned, one high up by the main bar overlooking the bay (we spent most of our time here), the other is lower, has a smaller bar but also has a fantastic view this time overlooking the beach. Some of the boarding round the pool area is looking a bit 'tired' now but that simply adds to the rustic feel.
- Food is fantastic and better than you'd normally get in an all inclusive. Breakfast and lunch are buffet style but lunch changes every day and dinner is more a la carte with a varied choice of 3 or 4 dishes for each course, on a number of occasions one of the friends we met whilst there was unsure which dessert to have and the waitress was only to happy to bring him one of each! I've read some people commenting on the two tier dining system (if you book through the hotel direct you get additional food options included) but that really didn't cause us any issues as there were plenty of options on the 'normal' menu.
- From the front of house, to bar staff to waiters/waitresses to cleaners, the staff are pretty much ALL amazing (with a couple of exceptions - no names mentioned). They are particularly friendly, seem to love their jobs and always welcome you with a smile and a cheerful greeting. Everyone is so good that it seems unfair to single out individuals but Jermaine does deserve a special mention - you'll hear him before you see him but always really friendly, welcoming smile and remembers everyone's names so an all round top bloke.
- If you're someone who's prone to insect bites definitely take some repellent for the evenings. We didn't get bitten too badly but other people we met had been 'mozzie'd' to within an inch of their lives. Also be prepared for the continuous night long noise that the cicada's, etc make - we couldn't believe the racket for the first couple of nights but eventually got used to it - others might not.
- Finally, because it's a relatively small hotel (compared to places like Sandals) you get to see the same people day in day out, so make a lot of new friends which made our holiday even more special.

We didn't do many excursions as the resort was so nice so we had no real urge to leave but we highly recommend the around the island day trip on the Wadadli Cats catamaran. Staff and crew are all very good, you get to see a lot more of this amazing island, unlimited drinks, very nice lunch and get to visit a couple more beaches as well - well worth the money.

We had a couple of minor gripes which although didn't spoil our holiday are definitely worth mentioning. Cocobay markets itself as an all-inclusive resort but no water is provided in the room (or certainly not to 'standard' guests), instead you have to remember to take your empty water bottle down to the bar every evening to get it refilled or spend money buying more expensive bottles at the on-site store. This is not something that I'd expect from an all-inclusive resort and feel that bottles of water should be provided in all rooms as standard, particularly in that heat.

There are also no black out blinds in the rooms, so when the sun comes up at 5.30-6 in the morning and shines straight through the window you're up too. Whilst I understand that this is a conscious decision by the hotel to encourage guests to make the most of every minute on the island, not everyone wants to be woken so early on their holiday / honeymoon. It would be nice for every room to have blinds so at least people have the choice of using them or not rather than an enforced early morning wake up call.

That said, I could write a lot more about how nice Cocobay is, but I'm in danger of gushing on and on about this place. Suffice to say that if you're thinking about booking a Caribbean holiday definitely consider Cocobay, we would recommend it to anyone. There are other pricier, more 'upmarket' options but you definitely won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Five Islands (F1) has an amazing view but is probably further away from the reception area than other.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank StuWeightman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuella H, Guest Relations Manager at Cocobay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Hello StuWeightman,

Thank you for your very comprehensive review.

Through it all we are glad that you have found Cocobay as the little jewel in your first Caribbean experience. Thank you - it was all our pleasure hosting you.

We hope that you will visit with us again at some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

We had such a fabulous time last year that we went back this year. It was even better than the first time. Nasasha was so helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We had an even better deluxe cottage this year. The beds are so comfortable, I wanted to bring one home with me. Jermaine, Kerry, Kathleen and Keva just to mention a few, remembered us from last year which was lovely. The staff make the holiday and Sonia the breakfast lady makes amazing omelettes. Mr Gore, a very nice chilled out man who was really good in the restaurant in the evening and Sasha was so friendly yet again. Thank you all for making our holiday very memorable.
On a negative point the bathroom lighting is very poor and could do with another chair In the cottage. Cushions on the chairs around the bar in the evening would be nice as sometimes the chairs got a bit hard! Might stay round the bar a bit longer! Some of the umbrellas on the beach could do with some attention. Having said all that, the holiday was brilliant and the food is fantastic.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuella H, Guest Relations Manager at Cocobay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Hello Mary,

Thank you for visiting again and for your review.

It was a really great feeling to welcome you both back. We note your concerns, and rest assured that we are constantly upgrading for total guest satisfaction.

The Team is waiting to welcome you "home" in the future for another very memorable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

First things first - stop comparison shopping for resorts and just go to Cocobay. There is simply nothing better on Antigua.

I just can't say enough great things about Cocobay. I went here for five days on my honeymoon and wrote this review immediately when I returned home. I won't repeat what all the other reviews are saying (fantastic scenery, service, exclusivity, and food), but I will emphasize a few things:

1. Service is incredible. Could not have been more top-notch. Perfect combination of relaxed, island attitude with the attentiveness of a luxury hotel. The Manager, O'Neal, greeted us by name each day and went above and beyond to ensure we were enjoying our stay. Bar and restaurant staff were lovely - one of our favorite parts of the trip was interacting with Sonia, Jermaine, Sasha, and others at meal time.
2. Location is spectacular. The view is better than the best pictures you'll see on this site.
3. Food was excellent. I'm not a big seafood guy but I was always asking for seconds. Great variety for picky eaters even with the set dinner menu.
4. Small resort means fewer guests - you really feel like you have the run of the place. We always had our pick of pool chairs each day.

So in summary, just go, it's incredible.

Some tips for your stay:
1. If you can, book through the Cocobay website. It's rumored (but unconfirmed) that you get loads of extra amenities, including premium menu items at dinner.
2. If you don't find your villa to be to your liking (view, poor a/c, whatever), they're generally pretty accommodating to move you.
3. Air conditioning is a must. If you're trying to decide between deluxe cottage and regular, go deluxe.
4. Don't waste your money at Sheer rocks. Yes, they have a fantastic menu if you're willing to pay $200 for dinner, but I'd suggest just ordering the steak or lobster at the all-inclusive restaurant.
5. Ride a Jet Ski at the beach. Easily our favorite experience on our honeymoon.
6. Bar selection was excellent, so don't be intimidated by the reviews that say the liquor was too bottom-shelf. You're not putting McAllen 18 in your pina colada anyway.
7. Don't leave the resort. There are plenty of (great!) activities on the island, but you're looking at an hour drive just about anywhere, and there's plenty to do at the resort. We went to Stingray City (and had a blast!) but it took up most of a day which we could have spent at Cocobay.

All in all, hats off to Cocobay. Tremendous experience and we can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Your room type will determine your view. Deluxe cottage better than regular, pool cottage right on the beach, etc.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bnewman09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuella H, Guest Relations Manager at Cocobay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Hello Newman,

Thank you for your review!!

With incredible service, at a spectacular location, intimate feel, excellent food and bar selection and being looked after by lovely staff adds to the recipe for a perfect combination of relaxed, island attitude with the attentiveness of a luxury hotel.

You have said enough good things and we cannot wait for the pleasure of welcoming you back on an anniversary..........

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews