We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect setting”

Dennis Cocktail Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Bolans
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect setting”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We came here twice for lunch as we were staying at the all inclusive Cocobay resort round the corner. Always good to go off piste to mix things up. Food was very good and the service friendly but the highlight was definitely the setting. Overlooking the gorgeous white sanded Ffryes beach. Both times excellent but the second time was funny, almost like a challenge on the spice front, when partner asked the chef to make his meal spicy, there was a glint in chef's eye ... and how spicy were his pork chops! Fab, loved seeing partner's eyes water up with the spiciness, he loved it too! I had the spicy prawns the first time and the second time the lobster - both excellent. Washed down with chilled white wine overlooking the stunning beach. Went for a swim in the sea afterwards, such fun getting knocked over by the big waves! Would defo recommend, a perfect day to remember.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    160
    38
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food great view great service!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had the entire place to ourselves for a sunset dinner overlooking ffryes beach. The food was excellent and the service was great... A must do in Antigua.

Helpful?
Thank E H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia Falls, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best burger on Antigua!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Beautiful views from the open air veranda. Bar sits on side hill with beaches on both sides. Burgers were wonderful. Very flavorful. Great house hot sauce on the tables. Bread pudding was a delight with local fruits mixed in. Prices were high, but service and food were great. We went twice, making a point to drive across the island to get to it. They had a gentleman on the steel drum on Sunday during lunch, and it was very enjoyable. Even the owner, Dennis, stopped by our table (and everyone elses) to say hello and make sure everything was ok. Nice touch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank windvixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Dennis Does It Again !”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We gave Dennis 5 stars on our last visit to Antigua in September 13 and we were equally impressed this time around.

The setting on Ffryes beach is fantastic, but it is the friendliness of the welcome and the preparation of the fresh, local ingredients which really steal the show. Dennis' cooking continues to delight and it would be a shame to visit Antigua without sampling some of the local dishes. The curry goat continues to be a real highlight, but there are burgers, shrimp and chicken for the slightly less adventurous.

The addition of beach beds makes a day on Ffryes beach perfect for those coming from further afield, and if you plan to stay at CocoBay Resort it is just a short walk along the beach and should not be missed. We recommend going on Thursday in place of the buffet night at the hotel.

It's a lovely venue for ealy evening dinner and if you forget your mosquito repellent as the sun goes down, Dennis and his staff will gladly let you use theirs.

We are delighted to see the restaurant continuing to thrive and particularly enjoy Dennis's initiatives with live music and DJ nights.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Corinne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Just go there!”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Idyllic setting with superb views, comfortable chairs and a breezy verandah overlooking the sea. Lovely, lovely food. Great rum punch. Sublime bread pudding, rum/raisin ice cream and a melt in the mouth curried goat packed with spices let us very, very happy. A truly great beach bar/restaurant experience. GRIFF

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GriffLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dennis Cocktail Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Saint Mary's, Antigua
 
Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
 
Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
Crab Hill, Saint Mary's
 

Been to Dennis Cocktail Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing