We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do yourself a favour, save a bit longer and stay well clear of this hotel.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jolly Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do yourself a favour, save a bit longer and stay well clear of this hotel.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Miserable staff as a whole, the younger staff were very lovely and friendly, but getting a drink at the bar or just a drink with breakfast seemed a real chore for some of the staff.

Jennifer at the concierge desk was fantastic, lots of advice and explained how everything worked. Reception desk staff were utterly useless. Have to pay extra for towels, safe key, and anything ok sounding on the restaurant menus was at an extra charge.

Wasn't too disappointed by the room in the end (still the worst of my holiday stays to date) as air con was ok and it had a Tele and bed was alright. But hotel is VERY VERY dated. Bar pool had chavy music and was visited by non resort members, looked a little grubby to be honest.

My advice, SAVE the extra money and visit Antigua in style. Am surprised Kuoni even have this hotel on their books.

Antigua as a place and the people are fantastic, but stay clear of Jolly Beach Hotel and Spa, you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LouiseJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JollyManager, General Manager at Jolly Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent visit to Jolly Beach Resort and Spa. We appreciate that you have taken the time out to give your valued opinion on our resort.

We are happy to hear that you did enjoy some aspects of your stay. We will be sure to pass on your sentiments to Jennifer.

We do acknowledge that our rooms are on the smaller side and that the hotel was built some time ago; however, we believe that a clean and comfortable area is most important to our guests. There are also so many interesting adventures to experience at the resort - most guests spend a minimum amount of time in their rooms.

As advertised on our website, the safe is not included in the All-Inclusive package, and we do offer supplemental items for an additional cost on our menus. This allows for our guests to have added options.

Our All-Inclusive guests are required to wear wrist bands. However, we do have guests in the Room-Only category who are also welcome to visit our bar and purchase items for a cost at their convenience. These guests do not wear bands and may sometimes be mistaken for local Island individuals.

Feedback from our guests is essential to our success and we value your review as a means to improving our future guest experiences. Thank you once again for taking the time out to present your opinion on our resort.

General Manager
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    728
    1,628
    971
    458
    373
See reviews for
831
1,953
142
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,010)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Been all over the world and this hotel location is simply the best, let's start at the beginning, reception staff welcoming, polite and helpful, we stayed in the super saver rooms which were adequate but a little small but remember you only sleep there. That's the only negative I could find, the rest is awesome, the food, staff, location and people are the best ever. Big it up for Neil the bar man. Stayed for 2 weeks from 6/10/13, we had some rain but it didn't matter, 2 lovely pools, 4 great restaurants. Lots of rum punch

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkDIEssexEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROCKLAND
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We were on a cruise and bought a day pass to this resort. Free drinks and food all day. It has a beautiful beach and a wonderful pool. Everyone was very friendly. I would go here again.
Cab ride was awful, we actually got in an accident. Cab was old, no airconditioning and tiny. Make sure you see what youre getting into if its not a big car with AC walk away and find another.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enon, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We went last Feb. We really loved it. We have been on 21 cruises, all over the Caribbean and this was the best relaxing vacation we have taken.
If you are looking for 5 star, do not go there, but if you are looking for fun and sun you have got it there.
If you want lobster on the beach it is fresh and wonderful. It is not part of your plan, but boy is it worth it.
We will be going back for 2 weeks in Feb. I can not wait.
Don't go if you like 5star, but if you love the Caribbean like we do this is the place to be.

Jackie from Ohio

Room Tip: . .Try to go up at less to 2 floor so you can see something
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jackie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed here from the 6th-13th October 2013 with my partner and the general conclusion is it is a lovely hotel as it was so quiet but probably wouldn't stay again.

Check in was resonably quick although we did have to wait a while for the porter to return before we could be shown to our room. We had a 3rd floor room with a nice view of the gardens - you could also see the sea through all the trees so was quite nice to watch sunsets in the evening. The room itself was always very clean however extremly basic and small compared to other rooms in other hotels. The bed was huge (Which i think made the room look smaller than it was) - not the comfiest but still always had a good nights sleep! Like all other reviews if they updated the rooms this would be a wonderful hotel! We did also have a problem with the amount of mosquitos that managed to make their way into our room - this seemed to be the only place i got bitten and my poor legs got eaten alive! Bug spay had no effect!

We spent most of our time either on the beach or around the adults only pool.
The beach is picture perfect with the bluest sea I have ever seen! Only complaint was the Aloe Vera man who once you had said no came back 5 minutes later to try his luck again and again. He then resorted to rubbing it on my partners legs without permission and the begged for drinks and food once we had told him we were not giving him money! This was part of the reason we started to spend our days around the adults only pool however some of the other beach vendors do climb through the bushes to try and sell you stuff by the pool and hide each time a security guard walks past. - Other than that the adults only pool is nice and peaceful :)

We could not fault the food at all! The Indian was our favourite with the Italian a close second! The buffet in the mornings and afternoons had plenty to choose from and with my partner allergic to nuts and shellfish he still had plenty of options to choose from. With regards to other peoples comments abouts the birds - Its the Caribbean - you get this at most places. If you dont feed them they dont come back for more!

Have to mention both Alvin and Neil the bar staff! I have been on many holidays but never had such memorable service which these two gave! So friendly and great company!

Overall I would recommend this hotel based on the food, the friendliness of the staff and the facilities however the rooms do need a refurb! It was also very quiet when we stayed and I think if the hotel had been full it may not have been quite as good a stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emmaa1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manheim
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

The most outstanding feature about this hotel was the staff. They were helpful and delightful and made you feel like they were enjoying working at Jolly Beach. The concierge and staff helped me to plan and execute a special surprise for my husband on the beach at sunset and seemed happy to oblige. The location was unbeatable. My husband and I were there Oct 2013 when you could get a chair on the beach or at the pool with an umbrella anytime you went to get one. We felt like the mile+ beach was ours alone at times. The sunset every night was spectacular. The food was above average for this price and type of resort. Getting into the Italian, Indian and Seafood restaurants was easy, even if you decided an hour beforehand that you wanted to go. The drinks were adequate - not a whole lot of variety, but surely you could find something to delight you. It would have been nice to have staff come ask or refill your drinks, like at other resorts, but I'm not complaining! The only other quasi complaint I have is it would have been nice to have a sign for the door to make up the room. We went diving or participated in excursions where we would come back after 3 and the room was still not made up. The accommodations were adequate with the a/c in perfect working order. It was a tad loud, but I am grateful because of the really loud crickets outside. Please don't go to this resort because it is now my very best secret! I can't wait to go back again next year...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Terri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Far exceeded my expectations based on other's reviews. The beach was fabulous. There was a great variety and abundance of food. Had fish everyday which was a treat for me. Had a great ocean view on the 3rd floor. The room had a large bed and was quite adequate. The only thing would have been to have had a mini fridge in the room for bottled water, however you could fill up your bottle from the restaurant. The majority of the staff were very friendly and went out of their way to accommodate us. A special thanks to Neil at the main bar and Spice (Veille) who are excellent. Can't wait to go back next year.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolans
8.1 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,605 reviews
10.7 mi away
St. James's Club & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
13.2 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
0.3 mi away
Sugar Ridge
Sugar Ridge
#2 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolly Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolly Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Bolans Village, Bolans, Saint Mary's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Jolly Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua's best all-inclusive value, the 464-room Jolly Beach Resort & Spa is an exciting Caribbean experience. The resort offers great year-round value for destination weddings, honeymooners and families. Rates include accommodations, government taxes and service charges, all meals, snacks and afternoon tea, house brand beverages, non-motorized water-sports, activities, Jolly Kidz and Teenz Clubs, use of the gym and entertainment. All rooms are air-conditioned and face the ocean; each has a patio or balcony, direct-dial phone, TV and hair-dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Ebookers and Destinology so you can book your Jolly Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly Beach Hotel Bolans
Jolly Beach Resort And Spa
Jolly Beach Resort Antigua
Jolly Beach Resort All Inclusive
Jolly Beach Antigua
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa Antigua, Antigua And Barbuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing