We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

A really friendly resort, amazing beach, great staff and entertainment. The food was consistently good in all restaurants. Good value for money, overall everywhere is looking a bit tired, but didn't detract from our holiday. The rooms are small, if you can upgrade to a superior it's well worth it. Would definitely recommend and will be returning ourselves.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Tracy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JollyManager, General Manager at Jolly Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Tracy,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know that you had a great holiday at Jolly Beach Resort!

We love to hear about the specific things you enjoyed most and love that you felt you received good value for money, as that’s really what we’re all about.

Can’t wait to see you on your return visit - the beach will be waiting for you :)

General Manager
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    735
    1,665
    986
    461
    379
See reviews for
849
1,985
144
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,032)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

My family of four (2 adults & 2 teenage boys) recently stayed at the Jolly Beach Resort. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The beach was beautiful, large and clean. The large pool was also very nice. We didn't use the quiet pool, but it also looked nice. The grounds are pretty. The rooms are average, but are clean and comfortable and the AC worked well. The restaurants were pretty good but the buffet restaurant at dinner was a little disappointing but the breakfast there was good. The poolside grill was very convenient for lunch and snacks and the jerk chicken was very good. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Plainfield-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Just came back from my honeymoon. JBR was fantastic. We were able to participate in different activities every day, do our own thing or nothing at all. Great food every meal - pants don't fit right now!! Love the pool and beach! Great service from all the staff especially Blondell, Kesi and Evelyn. They were attentive, extremely helpful and took very good care of my wife and I.
Thanks so much. Hope to be back again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NIcholasVoisin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We have just stayed in Jolly Beach resort for a stop over. We read all the reviews before traveling and can honestly say we were not one bit disappointed.

It is a slice of paradise on a perfect beach, really clean white sand and beautiful ocean waters. The pools are good also.

We ate in the buffet as we had just flown in and you can all find something you like, good selection and good food hygiene. Good fast service.

The rooms are basic but omg what a view right on the beach and sunset (which is really beautiful). Bathrooms all clean and shower pressure and temp surprisingly good.

Bar cocktails are yummy with generous rum servings And the bar staff are great. Strawberry daiquiri good also. Local beer and wine also surprisingly good. Surprised pool bars didn't open til 10:30am though.

The whole resort is well maintained and really well planted with loads of Palms and hibiscus. Overall buildings are a little tired but clean and great value, as reflected in other reviews. What more can you ask from a 3 star Caribbean resort.

Looking forward to the return leg stopover in a week!


Sent from my iPhone

Room Tip: All standard rooms are beach front. You don't go here for the room, you go for the amazing beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheWorleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JollyManager, General Manager at Jolly Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hello Worleys!

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us on your stop over, and we’re all very pleased that you found a slice of paradise here.

It’s great to hear you enjoyed the food and drinks at Jolly Beach, our gardens, and, of course, our perfect beach. We agree with you - the views really are magnificent :)

We look forward to welcoming you back on the return leg of your journey and hope you have a wonderful time between now and then.

General Manager
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

My husband and I went on a Virgin Package to Jolly Beach for half term week in May because it worked out the cheapest all inclusive on offer at the time. I had been there 10 years previously with my sister and had a good time. Despite the room not being the one expected (Virgin had promised an upgrade to superior but was only basic) we had a very nice time. The room although small was clean and clean towels every day. The visit to Lydias was fantastic and thoroughly recommended but the Indian Restaurant Ustav was terrible-not Indian at all and made my husband ill.After this we did not try the Italian as Hemispheres was very good and you could always find something you liked. The staff at the Guest Services were great always had a greeting and smile and ready to help.If you want a walk out of the resort Jolly Harbour is just out of the main entrance and readily sign posted. There is a supermarket where i recommend you buy a mosquito spray for the room as they are rife in the resort.we had taken prevention for our persons i.e.patches and spray as we had read this on your site before we left. Also The Crows Nest where you are assured of a warm welcome for entertainment and drinks. They have Banks which was not available at the hotel All in all a good hotel and we hope to return although I would upgrade the room.

Room Tip: Go for the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol-anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

The best holiday we have ever been on. After returning from Jolly Beach in May I can honestly recommend this hotel to anybody looking for a stress free, laid back, sunshine break. My Dad had previously stayed at the resort and initially recommended the hotel to us so we booked up and started the countdown to the sunshine. The holiday itself was stress free and a large part of this was due to the amazing hotel staff, the likes of Elroy and Rowan were constantly on hand to make sure we were having the best time, offering a friendly approach and providing lots of local knowledge and recommendations, the staff really contributed to making our hotel one of the best yet. We loved the holiday so much that during our stay, after being bombarded with many photographs of the white sandy beach my parents booked a stay themselves and will be venturing to Jolly Beach next week (still hoping they will find room in their suitcase for me)! After two weeks of glorious sunshine we still found it hard to leave Jolly Beach and there is no doubt that we will return there again one day, the holiday was the most memorable yet, everyone was very friendly and we walked away having had one of the best couple of weeks ever and many friends richer! Thank you Jolly Beach Resort.

Recommended trips: D-Boat and Shirley Heights

S Jordan

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sophie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JollyManager, General Manager at Jolly Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
The best holiday you have ever been on - wow!

We love that you had such a stress free break with us and that the staff played such a big role in making your trip one of your best yet. That’s such a compliment to us, and we truly hope all guests leave feeling as you did.

We look forward to welcoming your parents soon - thank you for your part in encouraging them to come for a return visit :)

Whether they manage to find room for you in their suitcases or not, we also hope you are able to return again - sooner than later.

All the best!

General Manager
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

My wife and I just returned from the Jolly Beach Resort on June 8th and would like to share our experiences.
To start with we listed a property before we went away and wound up receiving an offer our first night. With offers and counteroffers going back and forth it got a bit stressful. Without the help of Dayjah (sp.?) who took time out from training another staff member to print out documents scan and email them for us ...she even acted as a witness for us. She went above and beyond. Another day we got help from a young lady on the concierge desk, didn't get her name,but she called us the "old people that knew a lot about computers" You know who you are..haha,Thank you so much!
Then there's Ian the manager. My impression of Ian is that he is genuinely dedicated to pleasing his clients and he obviously leads by example as we experienced the same from the majority of his staff. Ian also has a good heart, on our second day my wife brought her concerns to him about a kitten in distress. He arranged for a live trap to catch the kiten as well as having it brought to the SPCA.He also updated her throughout the week. I know there is a huge debated on this forum about ferral cats that I don't want to get into. Suffice to say that Ian's actions made my wife rest easy the remainder of our stay.
Rooms- Pretty much what everyone else has said we had no complaints.
Food- We enjoyed just about every thing.I really enjoyed the seafood resturant, was looking for "more spicy" at the Indian resturant and probably could have ordered somthing different at the Italian resturant (the kittens liked my grouper though). About the fourth day in I did recognize the breakfast repitition but I switched from omelets to poached eggs and all was good again.
Service- this is where the resorts excelled for us.At the a la carte's and the Thur. night barbecue the service was incredable. We have been to 5 star resorts in the Mayan Riviera that could learn from Ian's staff.
Vendors- we did see some aggessive behaviour from some vendors ie Nathan selling conch shells and the tour guide reffered to earlier(we were in the next palapa and were sorry he put you through that). We however didn't experience it. We informed them early that we were not interested in trips and that was it. Some stopped by through the week and asked if we were "good" and we'd let them know how many planes were coming in that day. I would like to offer a few names I would buy from if we were buying. Ricky Ricardo showed up later in the week and had more charisma and salesmanship in his little finger than the others who would yell JET SKI from 3 meters away. Acare, his business card lists cook and personal chef among other talents. He was just selling trips to make ends meet. Bubbleiscous, she had style and walked back and forth in the heat carrying her wares all day. All nice people!
Rum Tip- I researched English Harbor 5 (1 of the worlds top ten rums according to Forbes). Bought a few at the Epiceurian for $39.25ECD at 2.63 exchange thats $14.92 USD. They sold at the duty free in St Johns and the airport for $15USD. Bubble wrapped, bagged and in the checked baggage. If you are looking for this in Canada I found it in 3 private stores in AB and BC for around $35CAD
In conclusion go to the JBRS for the amazing staff and service you wont be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Rick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JollyManager, General Manager at Jolly Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Rick,

I can only imagine how stressful it would be to go through the process of selling your house while you were away on vacation, but I’m thrilled to hear that you felt our staff went above and beyond in helping you with this process…and I hope you found the relaxing environment at Jolly Beach helpful in alleviating part of your stress, too :)

It makes me really happy to hear that you felt we excelled in our level of service, and I also love to hear that you enjoyed the food and the Thursday night beach BBQ - that’s a particular favourite for many guests.

Hopefully everything worked out with the selling of your house, and we hope to see you and your wife return to JBR someday soon.

General Manager
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolans
8.2 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,650 reviews
10.7 mi away
St. James's Club & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
7.3 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
0.4 mi away
Sugar Ridge
Sugar Ridge
#2 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolly Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolly Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Bolans Village, Bolans, Saint Mary's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Jolly Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua's best all-inclusive value, the 464-room Jolly Beach Resort & Spa is an exciting Caribbean experience. The resort offers great year-round value for destination weddings, honeymooners and families. Rates include accommodations, government taxes and service charges, all meals, snacks and afternoon tea, house brand beverages, non-motorized water-sports, activities, Jolly Kidz and Teenz Clubs, use of the gym and entertainment. All rooms are air-conditioned and face the ocean; each has a patio or balcony, direct-dial phone, TV and hair-dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jolly Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly Beach Hotel Bolans
Jolly Beach Resort And Spa
Jolly Beach Resort Antigua
Jolly Beach Resort All Inclusive
Jolly Beach Antigua
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa Antigua, Antigua And Barbuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing