We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally chilled !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Totally chilled !”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Have recently returned from the JBR. Me and hubby stayed 2nd - 16th August, and we both had a lovely relaxing holiday. When we arrived at our Superior room the first thing we did was to check it out to make sure that it was all that the brochure had advertised. The only thing that was missing was the fridge, and upon taking the issue up with Blondelle on the concierge, it was sorted in a flash. Room was nice and spacious, and kept clean daily. We are glad we did not book a ' standard ' room, as upon peeking through someone else's window, they looked very cramped. The grounds were kept very well. Lovely gardens. Our room was right next door to the Italian restaurant, which was on the outskirts of the resort and was very peaceful, except for the very noisy tree frogs who excelled their chorus from dusk till dawn!! (Lol). The Italian restaurant, and Lydia's seafood restaurant were both lovely al a carts. We did not try Utsav (the Indian). On Thursday evenings Lydia's is also used to host the beach BBQ, which was great. The main buffet restaurant is Hemispheres, which offered a great choice of quality food for every meal, and good service too. The weather was mostly good, however, there were some heavy downpours. There was one day which was a complete washout! We wouldn't normally go on holiday in August, but had no choice as we were celebrating my 50th Birthday, so we kind of overlooked the fact that it was going to be Antigua's rainy season when we booked. Everyone raves about the beach, and yes, whilst it WAS lovely, we have seen better elsewhere! We found all the staff we met to be very friendly, polite, and helpful, but we would particularly like to commend Neil, Patrick, Rowan, Alvin, Sherry, and Ives, for their outstanding service they gave, especially those around the bar area, making us up all sorts of amazing cocktails. The resort has 2 pools. We found the quieter pool to be the better. We thought it was the cleaner of the two as well. We did a couple of trips. We went on the helicopter over to Montserrat, which was amazing, we did the Island jeep tour, which was very informative, and we swam with the stingrays, which was breathtaking. Oh, and we must mention Shell's fish and chip restaurant which is situated on a big red London bus just outside the resort. The fish and chips there were to die for!! We would easily recommend the JBR to anybody, and we would go back there if it wasn't for the fact that we like to see as many other countries as we can. Thanks JBR for a lovely holiday we will not forget.

Room Tip: We were in room 125 on the Hispanola block. It was a ground floor Superior. Nice and spacious, and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank walshmanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JollyManager, General Manager at Jolly Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
I’m so happy you had a lovely relaxing holiday at Jolly Beach - especially since you were celebrating your 50th birthday!

It’s great to hear that you really enjoyed your room and the grounds, as well as our a la carte restaurants and the quieter pool. It sounds like you also enjoyed a few sightseeing excursions in Antigua and beyond, which is always great to hear, as well.

Blondel, Neil, and the others you mentioned will be delighted to hear that they helped make your stay extra special, and I’ll be sure to pass your comments along.

You mentioned that you like to see as many countries as you can, but if you ever feel like returning to JBR, we would happily welcome you back with open arms.

All the best (and belated birthday wishes),

General Manager
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    769
    1,745
    1,014
    481
    384
See reviews for
889
2,059
159
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,077)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Me and my husband have Just returned home after spending 3 weeks at the jolly beach resort for our ruby anniversary what a fab holiday all staff fantastic thanks to Wendy reservations manager for the special touches also Neil Alwin Evelyn and front of house staff ,this was our second visit and won't be our last .room cleaned every day with fresh towels.grounds emaculate. Italian Indian and Lydia's dinning was fab .beach and pool area fantastic .what more can you ask for
Once again thank you to JBR

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3008 on third floor and had a fantastic sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank janey1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JollyManager, General Manager at Jolly Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Janey,

Congratulations on your 40th anniversary! I’m delighted to hear that you had a fantastic holiday and celebration at Jolly Beach Resort.

I personally love to hear when our staff have gone above and beyond, and I know Wendy, Neil, Alwin, Evelyn, and the front desk staff will also be very happy to hear that they helped make your stay extra special.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We can’t wait to see you for visit #3 :)

General Manager
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed there for two days and it was horrible...Torn bedspread and ac that doesn't work...Food and Drinks were alright also the entertainment staff were wonderful....Get that revamping and renovation going!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MGGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JollyManager, General Manager at Jolly Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your stay with us, although I’m very happy to hear that you enjoyed the food and drinks, as well as the entertainment staff. They really do a wonderful job, don’t they?

On the other hand, I do apologize for some of the issues you experienced in your room. Did you let our staff know while you were here? We always appreciate the opportunity to help guests with any issues and concerns they might have.

All the best in your future travels,

General Manager
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bolans hotels

Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We have just returned from a lovely 2 weeks holiday.
The waiting staff were all very friendly and couldn't do enough to help. The bar staff were the same and very entertaining, and the entertainment was good, except for the karaoke which no one was interested in.
The rooms were well cleaned every day and in general it was clean everywhere.
The complex was a little bit tired and could do with some money spent on it.
The facilities were great, 2 swimming pools, lovely sandy beach, watersports, bars and plenty of food.
The weather was as to be expected in August, some heavy rain at times. This of course brought out the bugs, so be prepared for that if you visit during the rainy season.
Excellent value for money!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Just returned from our second 14 night stay at Jolly Beach, last time four years ago. We generally knew what to expect but found that overall the resort had deteriorated since our last visit.

Check in was fairly speedy but we just managed to avoid the afternoon rush, however the actual process was too slow and could be greatly improved. The service of moving the luggage to our room was frustrating and slow.

Once at the room it was better than the last time. However very small, very basic and dated. The bed was enormous and very comfortable, with plenty of pillows. The balcony provided a great view of the gardens and beach. The bed linen / towels were on the whole changed frequently / daily, however on two occasions we had to wait for over two hours after at least three reminders for towels - had to seriously complain on one occasion. No fridge available. Aircon, ceiling fan, iron and hairdryer good. The room was on the whole clean but you could see the last few visitors' hand and fingerprints on the windows our whole stay! Resort corridors, stairs and access to rooms were dirty and unkempt.

Hemispheres Restaurant (the buffet) was an interesting experience which ranged from appalling service, rude staff and staff arguing in front of guests to some staff who were excellent and very helpful. Breakfast was a good range and tasty but with limited variation over the 14 nights - maybe the cream of wheat or oatmeal porridge. We didn't have the lunch there but it seemed good on view. Dinner on two occasions was very good with plenty of choice and very tasty. Any table service for drinks was inefficient and disorganised and asking for more drinks seemed like we were committing the worst sin. Aircon was very limited.

Lydia's Seafood Restaurant - Excellent. Thanks to all the great staff there. Service excellent too. Great beach BBQ organised there too. The same can be said for the Italian and Indian restaurants. The beach grill was also fine. Bars fine and a good range of drinks. Annoying that one can only get a proper glass in the restaurants though.

The beach is public and clearly lacks any really maintenance so now quite dirty compared to our last visit. Too many beach peddlers...despite their politeness. The large pool is tired and could do with a complete refurbish. Small pool very nice. Sunbeds are old and scruffy. Despite that the beach is lovely, especially if one ventures further along either way.

Grounds and gardens lovely.

The Concierge was incredibly helpful on all occasions and there was a lot of useful knowledge.

On the whole staff are very friendly and accommodating and this really made the holiday.

Our overall view of Jolly Beach is that we wouldn't go back unless there was a refurbishment and investment in the resort.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RG1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JollyManager, General Manager at Jolly Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
While it’s great to hear you liked Jolly Beach enough to visit a second time, I’m sorry to hear that this latest visit didn’t quite live up to the first.

With that being said, it sounds like there were still many things you enjoyed during this visit, such as your comfortable bed , the view of the gardens and beach from your balcony, the a la carte restaurants onsite, beach BBQ, resort grounds, etc.

I do apologize for the mixed level of service you received in our main restaurant. Our goal is to make sure everyone has the best possible time while staying with us, and it’s helpful to hear this feedback so we can continue to improve our level of service. On the other hand, I love to hear that, on the whole, our staff was friendly and accommodating and really made your holiday :)

As you mention, there’s no fridge in the smaller rooms, however there are mini fridges in the Queen/King Superior Rooms, Junior Suites, as well as in the Cottages, so if you do make it here for a third visit, perhaps you would find one of these rooms more suitable.

Thanks for sharing your experience and for your constructive feedback. I do hope you give us another try in the future.

All the best,

General Manager
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Thee was a party of 9 of us, so you can imagine there was a lot of people to please!

We arrived in the pouring rain, and we were delayed, so by the time we got to the hotel we were ready for a drink and some food......we had to wait quite a while to get checked in but once checked in we were wizzed to our rooms. We had asked before hand if we could all be close by to each other as one of the party was on her own, however, they split us all up, after we asked to change they said we had to come back each day to check if there were any rooms free.....we left it!

Our room was not a full sea view but on the edge, the room was spacious and had everything we needed, nothing special.

The AI in terms of food and drink was excellent, the a la cartes are worth a visit, the Sea Food being our favourite! All the Cocktail based drinks could be made both with alcohol and without so the little toddlers that were in our party loved the fact they could have the same drinks as us, but without the source!

Most of the staff were friendly and made the stay, it was quiet when we went so there were plenty of beds and the pool was quiet!

The last day was the let down, once we checked out, at 11.00am they advised us that our AI entitlement was to be taken away, we weren't leaving until 6pm......this was not acceptable as we had the whole day to wait around with no food or drinks, also the children were the main priority, when we complained they said that to make the jolly Beach so economical they have to do this......... ( luckily one of the party didn't have their band taken from them so was able to get drinks etc, but be warned )

All in all the beach, which is literally yards away is stunning, with some of the best sunsets I have ever seen and you are on a Caribbean Island so that made it, but there are just a few things that let this hotel down, but it didn't spoil my trip!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JollyManager, General Manager at Jolly Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Paula,

After a wet arrival, it’s great to hear that your group had a wonderful stay at Jolly Beach. I’m glad you enjoyed the partial sea view from your room and that you loved the food and drink options we offered.

It also makes me very happy to hear that the staff were so friendly.

Our beach is stunning isn’t it? Combine the white sand with turquoise water and those incredible sunsets you mentioned, and it’s hard to beat! We certainly never tire of it :)

As you also pointed out, all inclusive bands are removed at checkout (12:00pm), but a later stay can be arranged with the Front Desk or Concierge at a small cost.

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you again!

General Manager
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Great service, waiters couldn't do enough for us. Entertainment team was fun, grounds and hotel were lovely although could do with a lick of paint and updating, food choices were great. Overall a great stay at jolly beach!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yellowbear213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolans
8.2 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,864 reviews
13.2 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
7.3 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
St. James's Club & Villas
13.5 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philips
3,754 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolly Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolly Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Bolans Village, Bolans, Saint Mary's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Jolly Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua's best all-inclusive value, the 464-room Jolly Beach Resort & Spa is an exciting Caribbean experience. The resort offers great year-round value for destination weddings, honeymooners and families. Rates include accommodations, government taxes and service charges, all meals, snacks and afternoon tea, house brand beverages, non-motorized water-sports, activities, Jolly Kidz and Teenz Clubs, use of the gym and entertainment. All rooms are air-conditioned and face the ocean; each has a patio or balcony, direct-dial phone, TV and hair-dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelbag, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Jolly Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly Beach Hotel Bolans
Jolly Beach Resort And Spa
Jolly Beach Resort Antigua
Jolly Beach Resort All Inclusive
Jolly Beach Antigua
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa Antigua, Antigua And Barbuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing