We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful & Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Verandah Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Philip
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful & Relaxing”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed The Verandah from 2/11/13 - 12/11/13. We had a fantastic time here, the staff are so friendly, food was great in all of the restaurants. Although I was a little disappointed in Nicoles, it was good but expected it to be better as it was a fine dining restaurant. We stayed in a waterfront suite with a fantastic view. The grounds were well looked after & rooms were kept clean, & well equipped. There is entertainment each night at pool bar not great but ok. There are 2 small beaches, 2 pools a shop & a cinema. If you like shopping St Johns is the place to go. We also took a trip to Shirley Heights where there is a steelband & later on abandoned it was like being at a concert, they have a barbeque there if you feel hungry. There is a beautiful view from there. We would recommend The Verandah & hope to return again in the future

Room Tip: They all looked much the same from outside I think they just have different views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,044
    1,165
    325
    125
    46
See reviews for
1,247
1,870
39
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
aberdeen
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I have to say, I was a little sceptical after having read some of the reviews prior to my holiday. I can safely say , the resort was everything I was hoping for and more. The food was delicious in all restaurants, and catered for all taste's. My partner especially enjoyed the beach bar and grill, spare ribs I think were top of his list. I have a slightly more sophisticated pallet, and I especially enjoyed the lobster in Nicole's. Plenty of variation with menu's etc. The villa's are basic, very clean and the maid was in to clear up daily. Not luxurious but perfectly fine. View from balcony was so beautiful, waking to that every morning was amazing. Fortunate enough to have a water front room. Alcohol for me wasn't quite such a hit, I'm a wine drinker, mostly drank bucks fizz or red wine, Spanish red better than Chilean but had to ask for it. Lot's of premium brand spirit though. Staff all very friendly, and helpful. One down fall is there's no grocery shop near by and as there's a microwave and fridge in room felt it a bit pointless. fridge maybe not.....
Shops are pretty scarce in Antigua in general l so wouldn't recommend for keen shoppers. Beaches are beautiful, we hired a car so we seen many beaches outwith resort. Driving was easy as they drive on the same side of the road as us I the UK. Found some great secluded beach restaurants out on our travels.

Room Tip: Between sports beach and hide away is what I requested for best location, near restaurants bars etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank knockdhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Listowel, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We had an unbelievable stay at the Verandah, Antigua- From start to finish we had a fabulous trip. The staff, accommodations and food were all wonderful. We did read some reviews prior to our trip (we stayed Oct 5th to the 12th) that were negative and I am shaking my head wondering how they could say anything negative about this little piece of heaven. We travelled with another couple, met some wonderful people and will definitely be returning !!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Verandah Resort for 7 days, from Nov. 3 to 10, 2013. This was at the end of hurricane season, and we lucked out with amazing weather: sunny and 28c all week! Highly recommended for the nice people who work & live on this tiny island!

The residences are little white stucco houses, with white tiling on the interior. The landscaping is quite lush throughout, with various palms and banana trees, similar to the flora found in the southern regions of India. However, it's the staff who really made our stay memorable. They are by and large very attentive, hardworking, and sincerely friendly! Many of them remembered us and the details of our conversations. I hope that they are paid a fair wage for their hard work!

If you are not interested in being close to the bar and pool, ask specifically for a unit away from the main/central area; sound filters into the rooms very easily, especially when the evening entertainment starts up...! Don't be wary of being farther from the main area, there are shortcuts, and porters are always offering a ride as they go to and fro in elongated golf carts! It's worth the walk for tranquility and seclusion.

Go to the beach at Long Bay, which is much grander, softer, and a 2-minute walk outside of The Verandah, next to the neighboring Pineapple Resort.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kammmmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

From the moment we got off the plane to the present moment (we are enjoying an evening of steel band music!) we are having the most fantastic holiday!
The room, the food, the entertainment (if you so require) the 'all inclusive' package are SECOND TO NONE.....absolutely brilliant, we couldnt fault it!
The staff are SO polite as I must say, are ALL the Antiguan folk!
Nothing is too much trouble.
Need a buggy ride to the main reception...call for one...and there it is!
In the restaurant...dont worry about needing a drink...the staff are there immediately to take your order and fill your glass!
The main bar: The jolly 'gopher' goes about his job of cleaning the tables and collecting the glasses among his other tasks, with great enthusiasm and friendliness!
Tyrone in the wonderful Buccaneer restaurant, is THE best waiter we have come across!
And the sweet, heavily pregnant waitress in the restaurants, we so admire for being efficient, friendly and keeping up the pace with all the non-pregnant staff!
ALL the bar staff are out to make a special drink, cocktail or just plain juice a fun and cooling moment in your tiring day a magic moment!
A day on the beach...you dont have to just 'lay in the sun'; try out one of the Verandahs many 'water toys'....sailing, pedal-o, canoe (single or double) or their floating rings; a large contraption for a number of people and safe 'floater' for children accompanied by an adult.
We hired a car for a couple of days and had a most fun time exploring the island and and soaking up the culture and history.
If you want an enjoyable, fun and good value holiday...come to the Verandah Resort and Spa!

Jackie and Annie - Room 169

Room Tip: Waterfront room preferably 165 to 169
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajax
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

First the positives:
Our welcome at airport, check in and attention to our specific room selection was faultless.
Our room was clean and well appointed, the added touch of the cold water jug in the refrigerator was thoughtful and appreciated
The food at the buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner was excellent and varied
The beach staff were happy to help, patient and knowledgeable
The entertainers in the evening were very talented
The mini-putt was fun and in great shape
The ‘off the grid’ operation of the resort is wonderful and encourages a good feeling
The gardeners do a magnificent job of creating and up-keeping a lush tropical paradise
The afternoon tea was an appreciated nice touch
Fantastic and plentiful beach/pool towel service
Clean washrooms
Excellent Gym facilities and equipment
Guest services office was wonderful with great hours

Some negatives:
The bar staff would rank the worst we have ever experienced at any resort, including 3 star hotels in much less expensive settings. They all were borderline rude, unhappy and left all of us with an unpleasant memory.
The service at the Buccaneer restaurant was so slow we decided not to return again and not to even bother with Nicole's. Your main pool area bar offered the choice of Pinot Grigio, our favourite wine but this was not available in the buffet or Buccaneer restaurants. We had to go ourselves to get this wine if we wanted it, a little strange to say the least.

All in all our vacation was both restful and enjoyable. We hope to return to Antigua some day and would consider returning to this resort.

Room Tip: If the price is right try to book rooms in block 21 or 22.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank whos-alice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We usually go to Cancun or Riviera Maya, but this year our family expended so we were looking for less noisy and more kids friendly resort.
Verandah suited very well, we felt welcomed by the resort personnel and felt like we belong to this resort.
At the time of our visit(end of October 2013), approximately 50% of the visitors were with kids, 40% of visitors were retired people, and only 10% were young couples.
There was no lineups to book a restaurant, no problem to find beach chair in shade in the middle of the day. Contrary to all the other resorts we visited, there was no laud entertainment, no drunk people outside/in the pool/by the bar or on the beach.
The buffet was also different than in all other places we visited. There was no huge selection of food. The was no 15 types of salads, no 10 choices of meat, no spectacular decorations made of water melons and pineapples and so on. But everything was tasty! Every dish was fresh, eatable and cooked like home.

Excellent, quite place to rest and have fun with little kids.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoJenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Philip
11.1 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,829 reviews
1.9 mi away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
554 reviews
6.5 mi away
St. James's Club & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
13.5 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
13.7 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Verandah Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Verandah Resort & Spa

Property: The Verandah Resort & Spa
Address: Indian Town Rd, Saint Philip, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Phillip Parish > Saint Philip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Philip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Verandah Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Verandah Resort & Spa is a world-class all-inclusive resort overlooking the crystal blue Caribbean waters of Antigua. Perfect for couples, friends, families, honeymoons, and weddings. Guests love the resort's friendly, romantic atmosphere, with lots of activities for adults, teens, and children--not to mention our Two White Sand Beaches!The Verandah's four restaurants, four bars, four swimming, including the largest freeform freshwater swimming pool in Antigua. Activities include hobie cat sailing, kayaking, swimming, snorkeling, pedal boats, supervised Kids Club, 18-hole miniature golf course, and much more.Indulge at our Spa Tranquility, featuring a wide array of massage and beauty treatments, or enjoy a workout in our air-conditioned fitness center.We look forward to having you as our guest, and thank for your choosing The Verandah Resort & Spa, Antigua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travelbag, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Verandah Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verandah Hotel Saint Philip
Verandah Resort And Spa
Verandah Hotel St Johns
Verandah Resort All Inclusive
The Verandah Resort & Spa Antigua, Antigua And Barbuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing