We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic 10 Days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Verandah Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Philip
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic 10 Days”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed 04/11-14/11, beautiful resort. Transfer from the airport is 30mins. We had a waterview suite so had a good view of the bay and were able to watch the pelicans feeding everyday.The first week was very relaxing as it was not peak season and the pool and beach areas were quiet. Entertainment was ok in the evening with some good singers on but mostly eveyone was too tired to stop out late as it was 30 degrees everyday! Rooms were clean and large with fantastic views. Food in the buffet restaurant was good, omelettes at breakfast were very tasty, the humous and pitta bread at the beach bar and grill was delicious and I had this for lunch most days. Remember you do need to book the beach bar for dinner the day before as with the bucaneer which is also good. There is no cocktail menu so the staff may need a bit of help with your requests ! Ice-cream - only available at meal times and you have to request it is not on show. Water is ok to drink at this resort. Shuttles are available but you can walk round I did not use them at all as it was good to get some additional exercise. FItness side of the resort is excellent, aqua aerobics very good with Shannon and Sam, tennis coach is good and there are also more classes on as they are going into peak season now. Check the notice boards by guest services and the gym for what's on that day. You can walk to Devils bridge which is a beautiful area and there is a larger beach 2 minutes from the resort. Very small island so would recommend Elmo's historical tour which covers everything - Nelsons Dockyard and Shirley Heights are a must. Overall fantastic break, staff are excellent, resort is beautiful, can't wait to return.

Room Tip: You need a view of the water !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMC1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,026
    1,154
    325
    124
    46
See reviews for
1,238
1,852
38
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed at this resort for a week on business in November. We found it to be very pleasant, but not a 4 star resort.
Rooms: The rooms are spacious and clean. The villas are on various hills and roads around the resort and if you cannot walk the steep hills you must call for a golf cart. We had a unit near the main pool so walking was not an issue. Beds are hard, but a topper was installed at our request, and it was acceptable but did not cover the entire bed. Blankets on the bed were well worn and had holes. Room water is safe to drink.
Website: The website has a an "Express Check-in feature" which we utilized, but was not used by the staff, so requests we had made were not honoured. The 50 dollar a week WiFi is only available in limited rooms which is not explained on the website. As this was a business trip, I needed access and had to journey to the public areas to conduct my business. I saved $50 however.
Staff: All staff were friendly and sevice was excellent.
Dining: Choices are limited. The two a la carte restaurants are open a few days a week, and Nicole's, at $30 per person extra is good but not great for the money charged. A half lobster tail is not worth the premium, but having said that, we did eat here twice. The main buffet restaurant was great for breakfast and lunch but choices are not extensive.
Bars: The bars serve top shelf drinks and there are no issues. Wine is Spanish and average quality, and is served in all the restaurants as well. There is no in-room mini-bar but there is a fridge.
Activities: Very limited and quiet pool and beach areas. This appears to be a family oriented resort as the Kidz Club is large. There were quite a few families with toddlers in all the restaurants, so an intimate dinner is not in the cards. During high season it is probably worse.
Travel: The resort is isolated, so trips to St. John's to shop for anything is $28USD each way. Tours and external activities are the usual jeep tours, catamaran trips, stingray petting etc.
Comparison to other islands: For the price charged by Air Canada Vacations for this resort, premium 5 star resorts in Dominican, Mexico or Cuba would give better value for the money.

Room Tip: Pick a room close to the main pool and restaurants. We were in 300 block and walk was short and flat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScoutW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed The Verandah from 2/11/13 - 12/11/13. We had a fantastic time here, the staff are so friendly, food was great in all of the restaurants. Although I was a little disappointed in Nicoles, it was good but expected it to be better as it was a fine dining restaurant. We stayed in a waterfront suite with a fantastic view. The grounds were well looked after & rooms were kept clean, & well equipped. There is entertainment each night at pool bar not great but ok. There are 2 small beaches, 2 pools a shop & a cinema. If you like shopping St Johns is the place to go. We also took a trip to Shirley Heights where there is a steelband & later on abandoned it was like being at a concert, they have a barbeque there if you feel hungry. There is a beautiful view from there. We would recommend The Verandah & hope to return again in the future

Room Tip: They all looked much the same from outside I think they just have different views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I have to say, I was a little sceptical after having read some of the reviews prior to my holiday. I can safely say , the resort was everything I was hoping for and more. The food was delicious in all restaurants, and catered for all taste's. My partner especially enjoyed the beach bar and grill, spare ribs I think were top of his list. I have a slightly more sophisticated pallet, and I especially enjoyed the lobster in Nicole's. Plenty of variation with menu's etc. The villa's are basic, very clean and the maid was in to clear up daily. Not luxurious but perfectly fine. View from balcony was so beautiful, waking to that every morning was amazing. Fortunate enough to have a water front room. Alcohol for me wasn't quite such a hit, I'm a wine drinker, mostly drank bucks fizz or red wine, Spanish red better than Chilean but had to ask for it. Lot's of premium brand spirit though. Staff all very friendly, and helpful. One down fall is there's no grocery shop near by and as there's a microwave and fridge in room felt it a bit pointless. fridge maybe not.....
Shops are pretty scarce in Antigua in general l so wouldn't recommend for keen shoppers. Beaches are beautiful, we hired a car so we seen many beaches outwith resort. Driving was easy as they drive on the same side of the road as us I the UK. Found some great secluded beach restaurants out on our travels.

Room Tip: Between sports beach and hide away is what I requested for best location, near restaurants bars etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank knockdhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Listowel, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We had an unbelievable stay at the Verandah, Antigua- From start to finish we had a fabulous trip. The staff, accommodations and food were all wonderful. We did read some reviews prior to our trip (we stayed Oct 5th to the 12th) that were negative and I am shaking my head wondering how they could say anything negative about this little piece of heaven. We travelled with another couple, met some wonderful people and will definitely be returning !!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Verandah Resort for 7 days, from Nov. 3 to 10, 2013. This was at the end of hurricane season, and we lucked out with amazing weather: sunny and 28c all week! Highly recommended for the nice people who work & live on this tiny island!

The residences are little white stucco houses, with white tiling on the interior. The landscaping is quite lush throughout, with various palms and banana trees, similar to the flora found in the southern regions of India. However, it's the staff who really made our stay memorable. They are by and large very attentive, hardworking, and sincerely friendly! Many of them remembered us and the details of our conversations. I hope that they are paid a fair wage for their hard work!

If you are not interested in being close to the bar and pool, ask specifically for a unit away from the main/central area; sound filters into the rooms very easily, especially when the evening entertainment starts up...! Don't be wary of being farther from the main area, there are shortcuts, and porters are always offering a ride as they go to and fro in elongated golf carts! It's worth the walk for tranquility and seclusion.

Go to the beach at Long Bay, which is much grander, softer, and a 2-minute walk outside of The Verandah, next to the neighboring Pineapple Resort.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kammmmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

From the moment we got off the plane to the present moment (we are enjoying an evening of steel band music!) we are having the most fantastic holiday!
The room, the food, the entertainment (if you so require) the 'all inclusive' package are SECOND TO NONE.....absolutely brilliant, we couldnt fault it!
The staff are SO polite as I must say, are ALL the Antiguan folk!
Nothing is too much trouble.
Need a buggy ride to the main reception...call for one...and there it is!
In the restaurant...dont worry about needing a drink...the staff are there immediately to take your order and fill your glass!
The main bar: The jolly 'gopher' goes about his job of cleaning the tables and collecting the glasses among his other tasks, with great enthusiasm and friendliness!
Tyrone in the wonderful Buccaneer restaurant, is THE best waiter we have come across!
And the sweet, heavily pregnant waitress in the restaurants, we so admire for being efficient, friendly and keeping up the pace with all the non-pregnant staff!
ALL the bar staff are out to make a special drink, cocktail or just plain juice a fun and cooling moment in your tiring day a magic moment!
A day on the beach...you dont have to just 'lay in the sun'; try out one of the Verandahs many 'water toys'....sailing, pedal-o, canoe (single or double) or their floating rings; a large contraption for a number of people and safe 'floater' for children accompanied by an adult.
We hired a car for a couple of days and had a most fun time exploring the island and and soaking up the culture and history.
If you want an enjoyable, fun and good value holiday...come to the Verandah Resort and Spa!

Jackie and Annie - Room 169

Room Tip: Waterfront room preferably 165 to 169
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Philip
11.1 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,807 reviews
6.5 mi away
St. James's Club & Villas
0.3 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
13.7 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,253 reviews
14.0 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Verandah Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Verandah Resort & Spa

Property: The Verandah Resort & Spa
Address: Indian Town Rd, Saint Philip, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Phillip Parish > Saint Philip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Philip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Verandah Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Verandah Resort & Spa is a world-class all-inclusive resort overlooking the crystal blue Caribbean waters of Antigua. Perfect for couples, friends, families, honeymoons, and weddings. Guests love the resort's friendly, romantic atmosphere, with lots of activities for adults, teens, and children--not to mention our Two White Sand Beaches!The Verandah's four restaurants, four bars, four swimming, including the largest freeform freshwater swimming pool in Antigua. Activities include hobie cat sailing, kayaking, swimming, snorkeling, pedal boats, supervised Kids Club, 18-hole miniature golf course, and much more.Indulge at our Spa Tranquility, featuring a wide array of massage and beauty treatments, or enjoy a workout in our air-conditioned fitness center.We look forward to having you as our guest, and thank for your choosing The Verandah Resort & Spa, Antigua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Verandah Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verandah Hotel Saint Philip
Verandah Resort And Spa
Verandah Hotel St Johns
Verandah Resort All Inclusive
The Verandah Resort & Spa Antigua, Antigua And Barbuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing