We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Verandah Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Philip
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Little Ferry, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Vacation in paradise”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This was our first time in Antigua.We have been to many Caribbean all inclusive resorts and this one is our favorite. The whole complex is beautiful, the grounds are nicely kept, the palm trees are covering the paths connecting the villas.The villas are spacious with beautiful views . The staff is polite,ready to help.The food was delicious and not overwhelming.We booked Xtreme /speed boat excursion which was pricey but wort every penny of it.This is the only way to see the beautiful beaches of Antigua,to swim with sting rays,snorkel around Hercules pillars,eat on a secluded beach,see the wild goats running on the cliffs all in one day. Relaxing ,peaceful vacation. We went to Shirley Heights and the overlook was breath taking but there were so many people in a small space and felt cramp.We are looking to go back to Verandah soon.

Room Tip: We were in rooms 115/116 and they were overlooking the Rasta beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,029
    1,157
    325
    124
    46
See reviews for
1,238
1,858
38
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,371)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed at the Verandah in Late Nov 13 and had a brilliant time. Yes the flight is 8 hrs (we went with Brit Airways) but the trip to the resort is easy enough and your welcomed with a drink and cold towel. Converted golf buggy's take you and your bags to your villa and are then used by the guests to get around various parts of the resort though the resort itself can easily be walked. We stayed in room 186 the villa that overlooks the sports beach though all the waterfront villas have outstanding views. The weather is unpredictable but the rain doesn't last long and the sun is comfortable to lay in all day. Sun rises early but sets around 5.30. If you like busy beaches with lots to do then try the sports beach, the pool is great but we preferred the Rasta beach which is quiet. If your lucky you can watch the pelicans diving for fish! The food is good but not great though we always found something we liked (we were spoilt in the Maldives last year). The amenities are great - 4 restaurants (try the Buccaneer) to choose from, good entertainment, beautiful beaches great helpful staff. It is so easy to find fault but none was found here. Beach towels are provided. The watersports are plenty from kayaks to small sailing dinghys. There is another beach just outside the resort called Long Bay which is worth a visit. They have a great 18 hole putting complex along with tennis. Outside the resort a visit to English Harbour and Nelsons dockyard is a must and if you want a good night out then Sunday as Shirley Heights has it all. Finally a short mornings visit to St Johns as $25 each is worth a few hours out and about. WiFi is in the main bar and at reception. All in all a great holiday and well worth the money - we booked with tropical Sky. We will back !!

Room Tip: Take the gym gear - we used the gym a few times when we had a late dinner reservation booked at one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 971Deck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

The resort is beautiful and very well maintained. Our room had the best view we've ever had at any resort. We overlooked the bay. The water sports were great. We sailed a 16 ft Hobie craft in the bay. We sea-kayaked and paddle boarded. There was also windsurfing and pedal boats. All of this was included at no extra charge at the main beach. The food was really good. The mini putt was really fun. This is a nice quiet resort. There are bands or performers at the main bar every evening. If you are looking for a lively disco or night life, this is not the resort for you. It is just a wonderful relaxing environment with pleasant staff and clean facilities.
I think we've found our new favourite getaway.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Cyn_and_Stu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We spent a week here in November 2013 and it was the best all-inclusive we have ever been to. The resort was near capacity but did not feel half full. Food was excellent (meat cooked properly, fresh veggies and fruit, in-house baked goods), especially the a la carte restaurants. My mother has a very sensitive stomach and always has some sort of GI upset in the caribbean, but not at Verandah. The grounds were gorgeous, rooms simple but clean and functional. Great watersports at the beach, enclosed bay made boating and swimming safe. Staff was extremely friendly and more than once a manager would come by and check up on us at the restaurant or on the grounds. We had small children so did not leave resort but others told us of a short walk to devils bridge and Long Beach, when we come back we will have to explore more!

Room Tip: Recommend 300 level bungalows for young families that don't need the 2 bedroom cottages - they a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAndreaMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2013

From arrival to departure zero complaints!! My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary and arrived to a welcoming reception with fast check in. Our room was a waterview and was fantastic, very private and tropical, we could see the bay.

Rooms: King bed is hard but comfortable, room is exceptionally clean and well air conditioned. Kitchenette is a nice feature. Rooms are cleaned quickly and quietly to a tee!

Dining: Delish! Ate at Nicole's twice, would highly recommend this restaurant the menu was creative and bursting with flavour! The steak was tender and the lobster was to perfection!! Ask for the Spanish red better then housewine.
Buffet and other A La Cartes were great as well, large selection of fruits and dishes to suit picky eaters and more adventurous appetiites!!
The buffet did not repeat for dinners once and the selection of soups during lunch and dinner was stunning!

Pool, refreshing and large, close to main bar and never full!!

Beaches were fantastic on and just off resort. This resort is the perfect location on the island.Great water sport staff so attentive and willing to help those new to water sports!

Did a few day trips, stingray City was the most fun!!

Staff was the best at any resort I have been too, genuine and accomadating, appropriately social and very pleasant. Barbara the manager, Quacy, O'Neil, Shane, Tarick, Pat and many more staff make this resort a five star for us!!
Overall we will be going back when we book antigua again!!

Room Tip: Rooms near beach are very private but close enough to all restaurants etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeidiBisutti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Our family of 4 just returned from a 7 night stay at Verandah Resort. We LOVED this resort. We have traveled the Caribbean annually for over 15 years and Antigua is our new all time favorite island. Low crime, gorgeous landscape and beaches, lots of "off resort" family friendly activities, friendly folks, and normal American food (no mystery meat!)

Verandah is a stunning property. The facilities, restaurants, pools, beaches, food, staff, views, and general overall feel are top notch. All the public baths around the resort are super clean too. (unlike Mexico and others). Antiguans are clean people!

I will say the rooms are "average at best." They are modestly furnished and need a little updating. But they are clean. We were never in the room anyway with all the activities and beautiful facilities.

Our kids had a fantastic time. Not only did they make new friends, they loved the Kids Club! It is most excellent with very nice facilities/playground/baby pool for toddlers. It is underused and I highly recommend it for all ages. My kids were checking themselves in to the Kids Club!!!

The one negative is that they do not offer room service. You must eat at the restaurants. So if you can, go to the grocery store in St Johns the next day and grab some good wine, cheese, dips and snacks to have around.

I would go back tomorrow if someone offered me a trip back. Go and enjoy! You won't be disappointed. We met people from all over the US, Canada and of course, England.

The Moore Family
Atlanta, GA

Room Tip: Get a two bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Just got back from 5 days and I must say the staff at Verandah is very friendly!

Good points:
Great staff
Nice location as it's next to long bay beach and devils bridge.
Rooms are big and have mini kitchens
All the rooms seem to be the same. We had a water view and it was decent.
They are willing to work with dietary restrictions ie vegan, etc.
Kids club hours are long and included.
They have golf carts to transport guests.

Areas for improvement:
Resort overall needs updating
Need better tasting house red wine
They did not use the local rum at the bar
Did not have a drink menu
Would like more healthier and fruit options at the buffet.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank VacaMamaNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Philip
11.1 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
6.5 mi away
St. James's Club & Villas
0.3 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
13.7 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,257 reviews
14.0 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Verandah Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Verandah Resort & Spa

Property: The Verandah Resort & Spa
Address: Indian Town Rd, Saint Philip, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Phillip Parish > Saint Philip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Philip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Verandah Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Verandah Resort & Spa is a world-class all-inclusive resort overlooking the crystal blue Caribbean waters of Antigua. Perfect for couples, friends, families, honeymoons, and weddings. Guests love the resort's friendly, romantic atmosphere, with lots of activities for adults, teens, and children--not to mention our Two White Sand Beaches!The Verandah's four restaurants, four bars, four swimming, including the largest freeform freshwater swimming pool in Antigua. Activities include hobie cat sailing, kayaking, swimming, snorkeling, pedal boats, supervised Kids Club, 18-hole miniature golf course, and much more.Indulge at our Spa Tranquility, featuring a wide array of massage and beauty treatments, or enjoy a workout in our air-conditioned fitness center.We look forward to having you as our guest, and thank for your choosing The Verandah Resort & Spa, Antigua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Verandah Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verandah Hotel Saint Philip
Verandah Resort And Spa
Verandah Hotel St Johns
Verandah Resort All Inclusive
The Verandah Resort & Spa Antigua, Antigua And Barbuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing