We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the Verandah!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Verandah Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Verandah Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Philip
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Love the Verandah!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Love, love, love the Verandah! My husband I were very fortunate enough to visit this amazing resort last year, we enjoyed it so much that we returned this year with our 2 boys aged 9 & 4. When we arrived we were offered bubbly and a cold towel, which was very refreshing after long journey. After the formalities were completed we were whisked off to our room. Our room was opposite the main pool and close to the bar and restaurants (246). The room was bright and airy even with the sofa bed made up, we also had a lovely view of the bay which our boys loved. So having visited before, not much had really changed (which is good), the bar still served amazing cocktails and drinks, not watered down at all, quite potent in some cases! The main Seabreeze restaurant still serving amazing buffet food for breakfast, lunch and dinner, we ate here most meal times as it was easier with the 2 boys and enjoyed the different themed evening meals. The food is plentiful and varied you could never go hungry! For children there is a separate menu if they do not want to eat from the buffet. Must mention the desserts, about 6 different desserts on offer every lunch and evening all very naughty but oh so nice! You can request ice cream as well. We also ate a couple of times at the beach bar and grill, excellent food at lunch and dinner, accompanied by excellent staff! Being return guests we received a complimentary meal at Nicoles, the meal we had here was lovely and again the staff fantastic. There is also Buccaneers restaurant, we didn't eat here but it was always full when it was open ( this opens on alternate nights with Nicoles and both need booking, as does the beach bar and grill for evening meals). Enough about the food! The pool was good our boys spent most of their time jumping in and out of it! There was no fighting for loungers, we were always able to find a spot to relax in. The beaches are just wow! The watersports beach has now been made larger by extending it out, always easy to find loungers,and there were more shady spots than last year which makes it good for families. Boys really like the floating pods which are now anchored so that you don't float away and these pods can also be found at the more quiet Rasta beach. The Rasta beach or quiet beach proved quite popular with adults, we found it to be much more busier than last year, and with the addition of a new BBQ shack being built, there will be no reason to move! Rasta beach also has it's own bar, usually manned by the very lovely Vera. We saw 5 weddings taking place on this beach. We played mini golf a couple of times, once in the evening with no lights on! The evening entertainment was varied from bands, to 'name that tune' to 'karaoke with Mr Wonderful'! Definitely more varied than last year. Our Boys enjoyed the kids club, the ladies who run it are very lovely and love the company of the kids, even though we went during May half term, not many kids were about, but our boys soon made friends and enjoyed going to the club and taking part in the various activities. We did a few excursions whilst here all of which I have reviewed separately, these include, Antigua VIP tours with Sean ( amazing would highly recommend), stingray city, donkey sanctuary and Caribbean helicopters. I must give a mention to all the staff at the Verandah because every single one of them were so friendly and always had a smile and a hello for you, my husband suffered from a bad back whilst here and the staff were asking if he was ok if he needed anything etc, the lady in guest services even suggested something he could take for his back pain and it worked! They were also really fond of our boys and loved talking to them and making an effort with them. If you choose the Verandah you will not be disappointed, it's ideal for couples young and old, single travellers and families, there is something for everyone, go on enjoy!

Room Tip: If travelling with a young family, request a room near to amenities as resort quite spread out and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank loonylou78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,989
    1,131
    318
    122
    46
See reviews for
1,216
1,821
38
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,336)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

This resort is like paradise, food is excellent, staff are excellent, accommodation excellent and view from villa's are breath taking. You will not be disappointed if you stay at the Verandah.
I have never been so relaxed in all my life.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent but if you can afford it choose a waterfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed with my partner & 11yr old daughter for two weeks, returned yesterday. So very sad to leave!
This resort has everything you could want, the loveliest staff who work very hard and really care! Huge comfortable rooms, great air con, massive comfy beds and fantastic views! The food is exceptional all credit to the very dedicated kitchen staff! Always a good sign when every time time you step up to the buffet it's like you are the first there. Always lots of choice and very fresh.
We used the water sports beach every day, this is clean, not crowded beautiful warm water and the guys on the watersports so kind, friendly and helpful.
We did two trips, one we took a taxi & toured the island which was very informative and good way to learn the history of the island. Also we did the Eco tour with Adventure Antigua, had an amazing day on the sea, learned about conservation and the team on board could not have been more helpful and kind.
We met a great variety of people of various nationalities here & all were so nice. It isn't a party place but a great Caribbean chilled environment that's safe and friendly with no shortage of food & drinks ( how I miss the rum!)
A huge thank you to Barbara, Iran and all the staff for making our Caribbean dream holiday come true!
If you are considering this resort then I would recommend you book now, start getting excited and I think you will have the best holiday ever!

Room Tip: All great we had a waterfront which we could not fault
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Saldavemaddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

This was our 3rd visit to Verandah. We love Antigua and spend two weeks (june is our favorite time) each year. Verandah has really kicked it up this past year adding a new beach grill. We never use to come down to the first beach but on our last year's visit, they had built a 18 hole mini golf and we would come down at dawn to play (it is the only miniature golf course we have played on that has you laughing at each hole!) Now with the grill and beach volleyball, we rotate beaches each day. The grounds are amazing; I have never seen such beautiful and lush gardens. The air conditioned restaurants are also another huge plus this year. Thanks to the terrific staff; no need or request is ever a problem.
See you next year!
PS LOVED our couples massage in the new open air treatment room. I am not sure how you can keep on improving, but can't wait to see what next year brings!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SANTA_BARBARA_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Verandah resort for 2 weeks in early May and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Things got off to a bad start when our room wasn't ready on arrival. After a few hours waiting in reception or by the Rasta beach we were told there was a problem with our room that couldn't be fixed. As an apology we were upgraded to a waterside suite and were given a fruit platter and a free meal in Nicole's. Things do go wrong at times and the sign of a good hotel is how the put it right, which they did here.

Rooms are very large and comfortable with a good sized balcony. The bathroom was well appointed and the water always hot. The view from our room was spectacular and we spent lots of time watching the pelicans and other birds.

The best thing at the hotel were the staff - always smiling and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. They seemed great with the kids on the resort too, always stopping to say hello.

The breakfasts were excellent and the food of a high quality. Similarly lunches were good with variety at the buffet and friendly service at the beach bar. The evening buffet could occasionally be a bit limited if you're a slightly fussy eater, which is our only criticism. We ate in Nicole's a few times and it's definitely worth the extra cost. The surf and turf in particular was incredible! Bucaneers was also great, with a spicy prawn dish being the highlight. We usually booked the same day and found availability wasn't a problem.

The pools were clean and generally quiet. It could sometimes be hard to get a sun lounger with shade after 10am but on those occasions we just went to the beach. The beaches were beautiful and the sand pure white. We loved the Rasta beach in particular which was never busy and a great place to relax.

This is a quiet resort although the evening entertainment was good. If you want a party holiday this is not the place for you.

Overall we had a wonderful time and the relaxing holiday we were hoping for. We would definitely return in the future.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beith
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We have just returned from a nine night holiday at the Verandah and can only describe our holiday as superb. Customer service was of an exceedingly high standard throughout the resort from the glass of champagne on arrival until our cases were loaded for departure. We found all staff to be friendly and ever willing to help with a smile on their face. The resort was exceptionally clean and very well maintained. We had a waterfront suite and really enjoyed waking up to watch the pelicans dive for fish. Although the resort was spaced out there always seemed to be plenty of shuttles to take people around. Food in all three restuarants was of a high standard although Buccaneer was our favourite. We went for a relaxing holiday and got exactly that. I know we all have different standards but I honestly don't know how anyone could fault this resort. We had a fantastic holiday and would most certainly recommend this resort to others. Would we go back - most certainly.

Room Tip: Waterfront suites provided excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank michaelkennedy596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torreguadiaro
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Beautiful quiet resort, exactly like the pictures. I spent a wonderful 10 days in a Waterside suite. The view from the suite was amazing, lovely to watch the Pelicans fish first thing on a morning. Staff were all friendly and helpful.

Food was good, bar was fully stocked with wines and spirits. The Rum Punch lived up to it's name and packed one! It's not a party place so don't go there expecting a wild night life.

I would recommend to anyone wanting to get away from it all and switch off...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Philip
11.0 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
6.3 mi away
St. James's Club & Villas
0.3 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
13.7 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,189 reviews
14.0 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Verandah Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Verandah Resort & Spa

Property: The Verandah Resort & Spa
Address: Indian Town Rd, Saint Philip, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Phillip Parish > Saint Philip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Philip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Verandah Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Verandah Resort & Spa is a world-class all-inclusive resort overlooking the crystal blue Caribbean waters of Antigua. Perfect for couples, friends, families, honeymoons, and weddings. Guests love the resort's friendly, romantic atmosphere, with lots of activities for adults, teens, and children--not to mention our Two White Sand Beaches!The Verandah's four restaurants, four bars, four swimming, including the largest freeform freshwater swimming pool in Antigua. Activities include hobie cat sailing, kayaking, swimming, snorkeling, pedal boats, supervised Kids Club, 18-hole miniature golf course, and much more.Indulge at our Spa Tranquility, featuring a wide array of massage and beauty treatments, or enjoy a workout in our air-conditioned fitness center.We look forward to having you as our guest, and thank for your choosing The Verandah Resort & Spa, Antigua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Travelbag, HotelsClick, Agoda, Hotel.de, Ebookers, HRS and Destinology so you can book your The Verandah Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verandah Resort And Spa
Verandah Hotel Saint Philip
Verandah Hotel St Johns
Verandah Resort All Inclusive
The Verandah Resort & Spa Antigua, Antigua And Barbuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing