We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheer Rocks - A wonderful experience”
Review of Sheer Rocks

Sheer Rocks
Reserve with OpenTable
Sheer Rocks is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Saint Mary's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$56
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Sheer Rocks philosophy is simple. fresh ingredients, local produce. casual dining with discrete yet super friendly service. quality wines, inventive cocktails. sultry lounge beats & crashing waves. day beds for lounging & a plunge pool for chilling. a unique tapas menu & a romantically cool & stylish retreat for dinner. a british chef with tons of passion & probably the best bartender in the caribbean. sheer rocks is an experience ... enjoy it responsibly...
London
2 reviews
“Sheer Rocks - A wonderful experience”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We visited this restaurant twice during our time in Antigua. The food was exquisite and the setting was beautiful. Whilst the dinner was lovely (and a very romantic setting), I thoroughly recommend visiting Sheer Rocks for lunch where you are spoilt for choice with a wonderful and varied tapas menu. Our visit was towards the end of the season so it was relatively quiet and we were able to reserve the two day beds for the whole afternoon and had the plunge pool all to ourselves. We felt four very lucky ladies! Alex, the owner, was very friendly and took time to chat to us and Charles made a mean cocktail. It should be said that all the staff we met were friendly and efficient.
Whilst not the cheapest place you will visit in Antigua, it was definitely worth every penny, a fabulous experience and I will definitely return one day.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lollyhblt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,000
    175
    67
    24
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Great ambience and great service! Food was delicious! The restaurant is located within an all-inclusive resort, so was a bit confusing. When you arrive you are escorted through the hotel's bar/restaurant to Sheer Rocks. Not a big deal, just unusual.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank tallgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing view and food”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Such a romantic and beautiful spot high above the Caribbean waters! Enjoyed a lovely dinner here on our first night on the island. Feels like you are in a tree house!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RhodyRoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Food-Fantastic, Views-Breathtaking”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was a great break from the food at Cocobay. The food and drinks are worth trying at least once during your stay. The views were just spectacular, try to get there for sunset, you will NOT forget the experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ryman982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Heaven on a cliff in ANTIGUA”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

While not so easy to find, WOW is it worth it when you do!! Located at the Cocobay Resort, on a cliff overlooking THE most gorgeous pale blue water I have ever had the pleasure of seeing, Sheer Rocks is an exquisite experience from the moment you walk in. Tucked behind the resort’s infinity pool, facing Ffryes Bay, the ambiance was romantic PLUS, even at lunch! Tucked into open-air tables within almost Balinese-style pavillions, with sheer white draping surrounding you, yet not affecting the stunning view, this could not have been a more beautiful setting. And then came the food…

Wonderful tapas-style lunch menu—pricey, but worth every single penny!! We started with a “jug” (READ: large pitcher!) of their Cava Sangria — delicious and very refreshing, with large amounts of fresh apples, pears, grapefruit and oranges floating within. For food, we ordered the spicy eggplant with feta and pecans with warm pita wedges (WOW!), an inventively served (in a baby mason jar!) truffled mac and cheese (YUM), pumpkin flower tempura (Eh, kind of bland. But still well done.) and a calamari Provencale (think tiny baby calamari pieces + ratatouille-- Delicious). There were only 2 tables dining at lunch, after their season had “officially” ended. But rather than alone, we felt like we were in heaven. Alex, the owner and chef, stopped by to have a warm and friendly conversation with us, totally charming and gregarious. (Wife says looks an awful lot like David Beckham!)

This place is just something that has to be seen to be believed. I can’t even imagine how gorgeous it is at sunset — though I have seen photos. But this is a place that words do not seem to do justice to, so be certain that it will defy the beauty of photographs as well!
A DEFINITE MUST if you are anywhere on the island of Antigua!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GWHconnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sheer Rocks also viewed

English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
 
Falmouth, Saint Paul Parish
Saint George, Saint George Parish
 

Been to Sheer Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing