We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fusion cooking of high quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of East Restaurant

East Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 20 Restaurants in Saint Mary's
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London
Level Contributor
261 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Fusion cooking of high quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Expensive but beautifully prepared east-west fusion cooking with elements of Japanese, Indonesian and vaguely Asian flavours. Service attentive. Room very calming, We ate there twice in two weeks and certainly worth trying as somewhere very different for a special occasion.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wabamik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    13
    7
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stamford UK
Level Contributor
232 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“excellent meal and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

The food and service were superb, on both nights that we ate at East.
We did find the atmosphere was a little flat - maybe as we ate relatively early.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I wasn't WOWED!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

I went to this restaurant based on all the great reviews it received. I felt compelled to write this review to warn other patrons. The service was ok, but food was less than that. Both the chicken and beef dishes were made with inferior meat and disguised with lots of spice. Our server, as with the rest of the staff at this hotel was efficient but not friendly. Bathrooms are located in the pool area, not what you would expect for an upscale restaurant. I would not recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank penny132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“East - Don't believe the hype”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

We were staying at Blue Waters but made the trek across the island to visit East based on various reviews I read. A top quality Asian restaurant in the Carribean sounded fantastic!

Unfortunately, I have to honestly say that we were underwhelmed by the experience. My wife kept asking if I was "sure" this is the restaurant I read about. Not a good sign!

The food was just "ok". Nothing special about it except that it was being served in the Carribean and maybe that's why everyone is/was so excited about it?

The sushi rolls were ok but nothing different than typical American supermarket sushi. The spring rolls and tempura were the highlights of our meal (not a good sign again!). The entrees were just ok and we decided to skip dessert.

The service was good, although they seemed a little understaffed. Our transportation from our hotel was running late getting us there (out of our control) and when we called to let the people at East know, the accommodated us but were kind of short with us on the phone (even though I was trying to be overly polite and not entitled about anything).

There were lots of young children there, easily a dozen. We asked the staff about this and they said that last night was adults only night, so tonight people were able to bring children. So note to anyone making a booking here - check when you make reservations if its kids night or not. We were expecting more of a quiet/fine dining experience and were surprised to encounter all the kids. Nothing wrong with kids, just wasn't what we expected so its something to be aware of.

My wife asked to use the bathroom and was directed outside to a restroom near a pool. There were bugs everywhere, including on the toilet. She declined to go. This is just nasty and East and Carlisle Bay in general should be ashamed of themselves. If you can't provide a clean bathroom for your guests to use... Is there really anything else to say? In fact, no one from Carlisle Bay even acknowledged or greeted us between being dropped off, walking through the lobby to the restaurant, and walking back out to our transportation.

If you are staying nearby and want Asian food, this is an ok choice. But there are much more interesting and inspired places on the island to dine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank xgentryx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Thai+Japanese+Malaysian - in Antigua!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

So rare to encounter an actually good Asian fusion restaurant as it is. In the Caribbean it's an even bigger plus. Fantastic food - all the right ingredients and well presented. Most higly recommended.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank martamM4312SH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed East Restaurant also viewed

Saint Mary's, Antigua
 
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
Saint Mary's, Antigua
 
Falmouth, Saint Paul Parish
Bolans, Saint Mary's
 

Been to East Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing