We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Retreat”
Review of Agave Landings

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Mary's
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Agave Landings
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Lovely escape from the winter. My husband and I and 2 friends spent 10 days at the end of February 2014. Agave Landings is just what we were looking for: beautiful sandy beach, comfortable accommodation and great location just a little off the beaten track. Hummingbirds, egrets and finches abound. A perfect, laid-back alternative to resorts. We opted to stop at the grocery store on the way in from the airport - it's very well stocked. Loved being able to cook in when we felt like and wander up the beach to Dennis' Restaurant when we didn't. We rented a car twice for two days each time - great way to see the island - but take the bus or a taxi if you're a nervous driver! Consider picking up a beach umbrella when you arrive. Looking forward to another visit soon.

Room Tip: Second floor offers lovely view of sunset.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for Agave Landings
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

Hello,
My girlfriend and I stayed for 4 nights at the Agave Landings and had a great time.
We had the beach to ourselves on most days, and all we needed to be comfortable in the units.

We really enjoyed our stay !

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

we stay in Agave Landings from 15 to 22 of January.
Excellent the position, we have found kindness and people ready to help us for any needs for a very good holiday.
We hope to come back HOLIDAY, WE HOPE TO COME BACK SOON IN AGAVE LANDINGS IN ANTIGUA,HAS BEEN A VERY WONDERFUL HOLIDAY

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GIULIA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Our stay in Agave Landings gave us pleasant and nice memories. We were met at the airport. On the way to Agave Landings we did grocery shopping for the first few days in the good Supermarket in Jolly Harbour. Upon arrival we were received and briefed, and we got a local cell phone that could be used if anything was wanted. “AL” is located with a view from the terraces to the Ffreyers beach, within a short walking distance. Ffreyers beach, where we were almost every day, is very nice, with clean white sand, calm conditions and with a nice restaurant for lunch and dinner at the end of this beautiful long beach.
The apartments in Agave Landings are clean, convenient and fully equipped with everything, including wi-fi. The sunsets seen from the terraces to the west, is amazing.
We used the local buses for sightseeing and trip to St. John.
We will definitely stay in an apartment in Agave Landings next time we vacation in Antigua.
Liv and Kris, Norway"

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank livkris673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We arrived to Antigua in the evening and were met by a friendly taxi driver, he drove us into Jolly Harbor for some groceries and then onto the condo. We were met by a very nice representative (Margo) and she showed us the condo which was clean and well organized. We were surprised however by the lack of a few basic essentials in the unit, such as one roll of toilet paper, paper towel, no sugar, no salt and pepper. Cutlery was also lacking, four of everything, plates, bowls and silverware. The furniture was sparse but adequate. The balcony could have used some nicer furniture, just two wooden straight back chairs with thin cushions that were not comfortable. The wi-fi did not work for the first 24 hours until the power went off and the router reset. After that the wi-fi was sporadic at best, working maybe half the time we were there.

The walk to the beautiful beach is short, 300 meters or so and at times we were the only ones on the beach. On days that the cruise ships came in 30 or so people would show up for a few hours and then leave. There was a small roofed area nearby that locals would sell their wares and offer food and drink as well as lounge chairs for five dollars US each. Otherwise we brought down the beach chairs from the condo. The only restaurant nearby (walking distance) was Dennis's which was terrific, great food and very hospitable.

We took the bus into St. John's a couple of times, about a 20 minute trip from the main road, a five minutes walk from the condo. Very cheap way of travel and frequent buses come along the road. You could also take a taxi at a greater cost, many traveled up and down the main road. Jolly Harbor was also close by, five minutes or less by bus, which also has a few restaurants to offer but we did not venture in. St. John's is a nice little town with some good duty free shopping near where the cruise ships dock. We also ventured to English Harbor to see Nelson's Dockyard, this was also a nice outing.

Overall the accommodations were adequate being there for a week, not for folks who are used to a higher end resort or want to be pampered. We did not expect that however we still felt it was just basic accommodation. If you are there for a week or two and don't mind cooking a few meals yourself it is a fine, reasonably priced place to stay. A rental car would be a good idea if you choose to eat out more frequently or choose to venture out for more excursion type activity. Remember it's a left hand side drive.

Room Tip: Unit number four has a nice second floor view of the ocean.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lorie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

After a hectic Christmas season which included a four day power outage due to an ice storm on December 21, we were looking forward to a relaxing and peaceful time away and we found it at Agave Landings. We had a one bedroom suite on the lower level which was easy to access. The suite was very clean and well stocked with the essentials. When we arrived our taxi driver from the airport (JR) waited for us and took us back into Jolly Harbour to pick up groceries. We spent most of our time at Ffreyes Beach ("Best beach on the island") which was as short walk away. We did make the trip to Nelson's Dockyards and Shirley Heights on Sunday where there was food and a live band playing with a fabulous view of English Harbour and the sunset over Montserrat. Thanks to Margot for looking after everything. It was great holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kram53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This was our first time staying in a "non-hotel" and it was definitely unique. Not a lot of people around even on Freyes Beach which was really pretty and a short walk away. Many nice beaches on the island including Half Moon Bay - a trek but worth it.
We stayed in the cottage which had a patio with a great view to enjoy over a cup of coffee each morning. Nearby was Jolly Harbor with restaurants, a supermarket and other activities. We went with Indigo Divers for a fantastic day of diving. Other trips included Stingray City and an island circumnavigation tour on the Wadadli Cats Catamaran.
Make sure you know what is provided - we brought beach towels but plenty were provided.
Bugs seemed to be worse on Antigua than other islands so have some insect repellant on hand.
Excellent nearby restaurants included Jacqui O's and Dennis's (walking distance). Many are only open for lunch so call ahead.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hwinsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Mary's
1.3 mi away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
471 reviews
9.3 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,879 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
832 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agave Landings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agave Landings

Address: Ffreyes Beach, Saint Mary's W1215, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Saint Mary's
Price Range: £88 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Tranquil Place to Relax and Enjoy the Best of Antigua.....Self-catering apartments and cottage nestled in the shadow of an old sugar mill less than 500 feet from Ffreyes Beach on Antigua's Southwest coast. Nearby restaurants, shopping, marina, golf, biking, horseback riding and many other activities make this an ideal location to enjoy your Caribbean vacation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agave Landings Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing