We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little slice of heaven....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stoneyhill Studio Apartments
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Wow, what an amazing find! We had the most wonderful stay with Karol and Merv over Christmas and New Year 2012. They are just the most delightful hosts who really go the extra mile to make sure that you have an amazing holiday, nothing is too much trouble for them. What they have created here is so clever...perfectly located little cottages nestled into the hilllside with spectacular views, everything you could need to cater in and be comfortable, wrap around balconies where you just sit and admire the view and just pinch yourself that this is all real as the sun goes down! A pool and little bar just a few steps away, wonderful beaches right on your doorstep...no need to tour the island for spectacular beaches, the three best are just 5 minutes away! It's a magical place, I would never stay anywhere else in Antigua and although I have only just come back, I am already trying to find a window to return...!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank jaxmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed in March 2012 and we cannot recommend this enough. We had a great time and the apartment was perfect for our needs and in a great place to see the island. Carol and Merv are the best hosts you could wish for.

We recommend getting out and trying the local restaurants, particularly O Jays, the fish restaurant right on the water front.

We went all over the island and lovely the beaches which were never busy. We did spend a lot of time just down the road on Darkwood beach. We also loved Horseshoe Bay and Galleon Beach up near English Harbour.

Would we go back - yes definitely and would want to stay again at Stoney Hill Apartments.

Thanks Carol and Merv x

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Enaj61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We spent 4 weeks in Antigua in these gorgeous apartments and were truly sad to leave. The houses are gorgeous and are set against a stunning backdrop of rainforest. The hosts, Carol & Merve, have a wealth of contacts on the island thereby ensuring that you are never at a loss for things to do. They are always on hand to answer any questions (and provide juicy mangoes) and help direct you to the nearest shops and restaurants. They helped organise car hire and airport pickups which was REALLY useful and were able to get us discounted tickets for a catamaran tour around the island. A car is necessary for the island as the apartments are a bit off the main road... but this does mean the evenings are quiet and peaceful and also means that you can get out and explore all that Antigua has to offer.

The apartments themselves were clean and well equipped. The beds were comfy and linen/towels changed weekly. The kitchen was adequate for all our needs and there was a gorgeous veranda to eat out on in the evenings. The air-conditioning worked well to ensure that the rooms were always comfortable to be in. There is a lovely pool two seconds walk away which looks out over the sea.

If possible, try and BBQ with your friendly hosts. Merve cooks some mean BBQ chicken which goes down lovely with some rum and pineapple juice! All in all, a beautiful base to explore the island from. We were truly sad to leave!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scotland321456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

What a truly amazing find. Sat on the side of a hill overlooking the bay and with Montserats smoking volcano in the distance you could not find a more perfect place to sit and relax. The apartments are superb, tastefully furnished, spotlessly clean and private. The welcome and friendship shown by owners Karol and Merve has to be experienced. Always to hand and never intrusive, it's like staying with old friends. Merv's 'bar' next to the pool is a great place to chill. The pool and pool area are perfect. There a loads of places to eat, perfect beaches within minutes and loads to do around the Island. Although you will find yourself seduced by the relaxation of the apartments most of the time!!

The seclusion and view come at a price, it's on the side of a hill with a road that would deter a goat! So rent a a 4x4 which Karol will organise for you at a much better price than the airport rentals.

I could not find a single thing to fault our stay and look forward to staying with Karol and Merve again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve-DO28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stoneyhill is the most perfect spot on Antigua. Really. I hesitate to share this information as they will be inundated with reservations and we may not be able to stay during our selected times. Karol and Merv are the consummate hosts - available, but not intrusive. The property is divine, as are the views.

Stoneyhill is for those of you who want to relax and enjoy the island. If you are looking for "all-inclusive", this is not for you. Each day you open the French doors and say "Oh, man...this is so beautiful". You take your coffee, or tea, onto the porch and just marvel at the beauty of the view. After awhile, you pick up your book and relax and read. It just doesn't get any better than this.

Okay..........getting down to basics. You can leave the windows open at night and be comfortable with the ceiling fan. Or, you can turn on the AC. Unfortunately, it shuts off during the night and you may get warm. Leave the windows open.........just my recommendation.

The water pressure in the showers is great. All of the water is recycled rainwater.......lovely! Great pressure in toilets, too.

Suggestions?: Provide basics such as paper towels, toilet paper, ice, glass cleaner, coffee filters, etc.

All in all............the most perfect place to stay on Antigua. But don't tell anyone. We're going back.

Room Tip: They all have slightly different views, but each is perfect and unique!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheBeebes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We had the opportunity to stay at Stoneyhill Apts for a week ... and wish we could have stayed for a month. The apartments are beautiful, comfortable and have gorgeous views of the ocean. Merv and Karol Stewart are fantastic hosts and make you feel extremely welcome. The location is great, their pool/bar area is fantastic and the verandas are perfect for relaxing. We're planning to go back again next year ... and there's only one place to stay. And for you adventurous types, the drive from the highway to the apartments is fun!! We could not have selected a more beautiful spot.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Beautiful property and stunning views. Karol and Merv were great hosts too, very lovely and helpful. The beaches nearby are excellent and the views from the pool amazing. Highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank honeymoon09London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Mary's
10.4 mi away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
625 reviews
3.9 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,900 reviews
9.0 mi away
Antigua Yacht Club Marina Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,035 reviews
5.2 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,332 reviews
4.7 mi away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoneyhill Studio Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoneyhill Studio Apartments

Address: Ffryes Estate | Antigua, Saint Mary's 00000, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Saint Mary's
Price Range: £98 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stoneyhill Studio Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stoneyhill Studio Apartments are situated on the SW side of the island, nestled in the hills, overlooking the turquoise seas of the Caribbean, where you can capture the most amazing sunsets from your very own balcony. The fully furnished studio apartments are equipped with all the necessaries you would need for a perfect getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Stoneyhill Studio Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoneyhill Studio Apartments Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing