We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in the world”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Curtain Bluff Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Saint Mary's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed at curtain bluff as a family with 2 teens age 17 and 19 it was our first visit to the Caribbean
On arriving at curtain bluff we were completely blown away by the staffs genuine friendliness relaxed vibe beautiful rooms overlooking the surf beach and the gorgeous calm bay for the water sports the food was unbelievably good and the wine and service fabulous. We honestly have never stayed anywhere as beautiful and felt so relaxed the spa is world class the views from it take your breath away and the treatments wonderful. We took advantage of all the facilities the tennis gymn watersports yoga squash and had a thoroughly great holiday. We all want to return as soon as possible this was a brilliant experience. The staff at curtain bluff are first class and the hotel is wonderful. The vibe is relaxed this is truly barefoot luxury

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the surf beach so are wonderful we ell asleep every night listening to the waves...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank veryveryfussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2013

Returned home on the 18th December after spending a relaxing week here with our son who is 13yrs old, we chose this hotel because all watersports are included and he is particularly keen on fishing, we went out on the first day which was great and then for the next few days it was not going out because it was "to Rough" although the boat from Carlisle Bay was out! , we then finally booked for the last day and then they rang early morning to say too rough, I then had the questionnnaire which we completed early before we left and I mentioned lack of watersports! they then found us and said it was better and they would go out, I felt this was on the back of my feedback.
At the watersports desk you have to ask each day if things are going e.g. snorkelling, it would be better if a board was put up to say what was cancelled due to weather as you felt a pain keep asking if you could go on certain things,
Food was very good and staff are lovely, there is drinks service on the loungers and Leon was excellent, plenty of drinks served
All in all a great week just activities need refining, someone who is a manager checking they are working would be good!
Also the crickets and the birds make a great racket all night, take ear plugs

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank janet504230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

My husband and I just returned from a weeks stay at Curtain Bluff. After a very rocky start, inadequate air conditioning and a very uncomfortable mattress, I thought our trip was doomed. The management, having heard about our unhappiness, was absolutely determined to make sure that we had a wonderful vacation. They moved heaven and earth to get us into the most magnificent suite on the property, many thanks to Carol Lynn. The suite was beyond anything we could have imagined, overlooking the Atlantic ocean, with absolute privacy. There was a tremendous balcony which included an outdoor jacuzzi. With regard to food, I would rate it as very good. The problem is that there are only two restaurants that serve dinner, and one was closed for 4 of the days that we were there. That having been said, the other restaurant changed it's menu daily and extreme care was taken in the serving and in the presentation. There is a local band playing during dinner (different band every night), and for the exception of one night, they were all quite talented. The alcohol is all name brand and is served in abundance. There is an hour devoted each afternoon to "tea", with several finger foods available. The hotel is about 30 minutes from the airport, on most likely the most beautiful piece of property on the island. The water is all purified, so it is possible to drink the tap water, which is always nice, although bottled water was in ready supply. The resort is spotless clean, although the bathrooms at the beach could use some more regular maintenance. My husband had a massage at the spa, which he thoroughly enjoyed. Lunch at the beach was always delicious, a fantastic buffet as well as a full menu. Note to beach lovers...you have access to the Atlantic ocean, where there are lounge chairs, but there is no service on the beach at all. All guests use the Caribbean side of the resort for swimming, where the restaurant is located, although if you have a room on the beach, the views are breathtaking. There are padded lounge chairs, small chairs and shaded areas as well. The owner, Chelle, is very visible throughout the day greeting many guests like they were old friends. It seems like they are. Over 80% of Curtain Bluff's guests are return visitors! Also noteworthy is that this hotel is extremely philanthropic to the community in which it is located. I feel that one of the most outstanding features of this resort is the staff's sincere desire to make sure that you have the most wonderful time when you are in their care. All were extremely courteous and in general very friendly. Curtain Bluff, and especially Carol Lynn, thank you from the bottom of our hearts for a truly relaxing week and our phenomenal accommodations!!

Room Tip: Bluff rooms are up a steep incline
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RubyP_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We arrived back in the UK on 11 December after 10 splendid days at Curtain Bluff. We went on Virgin - do any other Virgins get ticked off being warned of the evils of drink and being refused a 50/50 Bloody Mary on the basis that it was too strong to serve - do any of you feel the beds should be less sepulchral? I do.
Curtain Bluff is an oldish hotel that is exemplary in every way. The finely raked beaches are beautiful. There are beds, chairs, wooden canopies for at least 30% more people than full capacity. There are more towels than there are in Bloomingdales. The rooms are cleaned to a depth unheard of or seen before - trust me I run the finger test. The quality of the beds is very good. Bathrooms are just fine - we stayed in a de luxe (I'm guessing lowest category) room and I wouldn't want to move.
Breakfast we ate at 7:30 beach by 8:30. Lunch on the beach at 1ish where there was always a roast, freshly grilled fish, burgers, salads and calorific puddings. Beach drink service started at about 10:30 (iced towels, chilled water, fruit, soft drinks hard drinks).
If you think the waistline will cope there's also afternoon tea. Cocktails at 6:30 and dinner at 7:30. The rest you can get from the web site.
What defines the hotel is the charm of the staff who all actually want to work there. Some are 3rd generation. It's certainly none of my business but I believe they are educated, mothered and trained and schooled in every way by the hotel management - what is my business is the quality it produces and this is manifestly evident in the total product.
I met one couple on their first visit - all the others were on their 3rd to their 33rd. Does that tell you something? Well it should - it means you get a lovely mix of guests.
I'm English and I don't "do" people but after a day or so you knew everyone and spoke to everyone (well perhaps a few English didn't but you know what we're like).
All your water-skiing - fishing - being sick in the thing they drag you round by speedboat is included. Spa, tennis coaching clearly isn't.
Do they charge you for wi-fi. No - you'll get an excellent signal everywhere including the beach.
The cocktail bar was my undoing. Steve would see us leave our room and there were 2 Negronis waiting. When you had an inch left there were another two.
Cooking was of a very high order and with quality ingredients.
Tipping is not encouraged so it was relaxing. Will I be returning. Yup.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank GeorgeDaymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Going to Caribbean we know where to go. This resort gives you what you look for. Outstanding service, very good chefs that prepares fantastic meals. The lunch at the beach restaurant is just something. We had a fantastic week and we are returning.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fridtjof L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We just returned from our first trip to Curtain Bluff, and WOW! My girlfriend and I had the best week of our lives. We had heard a lot about the resort from friends and read many reviews online and everybody had RAVED about it. Needless to say, our expectations were high. Curtain Bluff blew them out of the water. From the clean, comfortable bedrooms, to the spacious shower, and the location directly on the beach to the incredible food, impeccable service, and smiling faces everywhere you looked, it was clear from the first moment we drove through the gate that we were in paradise. While the resort isn't huge, never once did it feel crowded. Whether we got up at sunrise to go deep sea fishing, or had a relaxing morning and a late breakfast, you simply can do no wrong at Curtain Bluff. There were always open cabanas on the beach at any time of day, which is rarely the case at a beach resort. The amount of activities offered, and included in the rate, is second to none. You can relax on the beach all day, or pack your day with tennis, waterskiing, snorkel tours, shuffleboard, and bocce. The service is always present, never pushy, and the place simply breeds happiness, from the employees, other guests, and everyone on the property. We loved the power walk with the trainer, Jason, and the tennis staff was incredibly friendly as well. My only regret is that we had so much fun doing everything else that we never made it to the spa! I guess we will just have to go back! The only bad thing I can say about this wonderful place is that now, stepping out into the cold northeast air, is that leaving can be downright depressing!! I would recommend this place to everyone, and don't be deterred by the roommates, because the inclusions are unheard of and make it an outstanding value. After traveling all over the world, I can safely say that I have never been happier with a vacation than we were at Curtain Bluff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

From the moment we stepped foot on the property, our breath was taken away. The small, intimate property has fantastic views and beautiful beaches, making you feel that you truly are away from "normal" life. Our room stepped out to the beach, and the sound of the ocean soothed us to sleep. All the amenities (fitness room, tennis courts, watersports, etc) are topnotch! Jason, the head of fitness, took us on a fun power walk around the village. The tennis pros, Nigel, Rennie, and Gloucester, were great players and fun, personable people. And the food was fantastic, too! You won't be disappointed - we certainly weren't!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Mary's
10.8 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,884 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,021 reviews
11.1 mi away
Jumby Bay Island
Jumby Bay Island
#1 of 16 in St. John's
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Carlisle Bay Antigua
Carlisle Bay Antigua
#3 of 7 in Saint Mary's
974 reviews
8.1 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,338 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Curtain Bluff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curtain Bluff Resort

Address: Old Road, Saint Mary's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saint Mary's
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Mary's
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Mary's
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint Mary's
Price Range: £601 - £1,893 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Curtain Bluff Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flanked by water on both sides, Curtain Bluff sits on a rocky promontory (bluff) that juts into the sea between two beautiful beaches. One is calm, ideal for swimming and watersports; the other beach is washed by ocean surf. 72 Rooms and suites, all with staggering seascape views, are spread out along the Surf Beach and up the bluff. There are two restaurants: the open-walled Tamarind Tree serving breakfasts and candle-lit dinners, and the Beach Cafe & Bar, where barefoot-casual lunches are enjoyed one step from the sand and a few feet from the water's edge.The resort's exceptional facilities include a championship tennis center, a fully equipped watersports center (scuba, Windsurfing, paddle-boarding, waterskiing, Hobie Cats and kayaks), a squash court and fitness center. When it's time to relax, there's our tranquil spa overlooking the sea, a beachside swimming pool, a beach bar, and hammocks swaying in the shade of coconut palms.With the exception of a few above-and-beyond luxuries (Cuban cigars, vintage wines, spa treatments), everything is included in the room rate, making it one of the best values in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Curtain Bluff Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Curtain Bluff Hotel Bolans
Curtain Bluff Antigua
Curtain Bluff Resort Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing