We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, comfortable resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Curtain Bluff Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Curtain Bluff Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Saint Mary's
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great service, comfortable resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

My family stayed at Curtain Bluff for 10 days over spring break. We enjoyed ourselves very much. We have a 5 year old son, and he was very happy with the kids club - lots of fun activities for the children (fishing, crafts, making ice cream, etc) - and all of the other family oriented acitivities. We took him snorkeling, tubing, sailing, or just spent the afternoon playing in the pool or at the beach. Food was very good, always plenty of choices. One day, a group caught a large Mahi Mahi while deep sea fishing, and this is what appeared on the menu that night. Hard to beat that! I went scuba diving every single morning (the boat goes every morning from 9 AM to 10 AM). Diving was okay - in honesty, I saw more snorkeling (reef shark, eagle rays, turtles). There are no 2-tank dives, and if you are a hard core diver, this is not the place for you. They go to the same 5 or so dive sites everyday (roughly 5 - 10 minute boat ride from the resort).

I would recommend this resort to families or anyone just needing some R&R.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scout29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    46
    17
    11
    3
See reviews for
113
206
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We did not stay @ resort; this is review for restaurant The Tamarind Tree: Food was delish! Wish we had found it earlier in our stay; the staff was amazing to us; treated us like royalty; and the sunset view over dinner could not be more picturesque.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Once again another amazing stay at Curtain Bluff ! The food is top of the line and I have the added pounds to prove it. The Spa is tranquil and the therapists do everything to make you feel relaxed and tranquil.
Most of the staff has been working there for many years and will remember you with a handshake or a hug, welcoming you as an old friend. Truly priceless !

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank lmcneish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Overall my husband and I loved our stay at Curtain Bluff and will definitely return. We stayed in a ground floor Jr Suite in building three and the location was perfect - stunning views. The room was spacious and comfortable but our unit could have used some maintenance or refurbishment - small things (damaged desk door, peeling picture e.g.) but telling for a 5 star hotel. Staff was consistently helpful and polite which went a long way to making our stay memorable. The food was overall quite good but I agree with the other reviewers that some dishes were not up to par and the atmosphere of the main restaurant was a little old - I much preferred the beach restaurant. I agree also that more fresh fruit and salad should be on the menu or offered in a buffet style at breakfast and lunch. We loved the spa - location was stunning and the services quite good. Curtain Bluff is a little like stepping back in time but I mean that in a good way - very relaxed no bills to sign no keys no TV - pure relaxation.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charliemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

This all-inclusive report is quirky and different. Don't expect five star wall to wall luxury, rather a laid-back Caribbean vibe which when it is good is very good and when it is bad it is indifferent.
Very pro-active, young General Manager who dealt efficiently and successfully with an issue one of our group had.
However the MD appeared to be far more interested in name dropping and telling us who he was friends with - Eric Clapton and various other ageing rock stars in case you are interested.
A high proportion of the Curtain Bluff guests have been going there for decades and are getting on a bit, many of them are American and they kept themselves to themselves, unlike most Americans we know. Sometimes you get the feeling you are stuck in a time-warp.
Time, I think, to move into the 21st Century. Cue young GM and let him get on with sorting it out.

We went in a large group of three generations and overall it was a great holiday.
The water sports are the best: water skiing, scuba diving, snorkelling, hobi-cat sailing…....
Our fantastic instructor Derek has lived in Antigua all his life and worked at Curtain Bluff for 27 of them and was really caring and helpful, full marks to him.
Good beach with permanent sun shades which work much better than canvas. Good sun beds with towelling covers changed daily.
In fact the abundance of fresh towels was one of my favourite things about CB.
The drinks service on the beach was a bit sporadic but that was probably because we were at the far end to the bar.
The tennis courts were fantastic. You need proper tennis shoes for a decent grip. Can borrow racquets.
The indoor but outdoor squash court was a big success and we ran a family squash tournament.
Small but well equipped gym, a rowing machine would be a welcome addition
Adjacent sun deck for exercise classes. Excellent yoga, Pilates was offered but was replaced by a very strict aerobic class - we were on holiday and wanted to enjoy ourselves not have a sergeant major hectoring us!

Meals were an interesting combination of OK-ish breakfast the various elements of which appeared in no particular order, not sure if waiter service worked here and agree with other reviewers who said a buffet would be better.
One of of the waiters in particular was somewhat surly and we got used to being told that we would get things when he had time….
Lunch was generally the best meal of the day as it was a buffet at the beach restaurant which was relaxed and had a good choice of dishes. Friendly waiter service here too.
Dinner dishes in the main hotel restaurant varied from very good to Ok-ish. The air-conditioning fans were rather too efficient!
The all-inclusive wines were perfectly adequate, we didn't try the list wines - the prices of which were much more expensive than if we were buying them in the UK.
The beach restaurant opens in the evening as an Italian. Most of the dishes were rather dated but the ambiance was better than the main restaurant.

Beware biting insects! Everywhere in the evening. Take a room insect repellant and spray plus bite treatment. They mainly get your ankles and legs.

Rooms are lovely, comfortable beds and a decent bathroom, our room just had a shower, no bath, which was OK by us. However the shower was rather disappointing - the shower head was set so high up that there was practically no water pressure by the time it reached me.
The fridge in the room was welcome but it would have been helpful if the bottles of water were replenished automatically rather than having to ask.

The rooms overlook the wild beach and the sound of the surf on the beach is very noisy!

The on-site shop was handy and had some nice holiday clothes to buy.

There is a timetable of activities for each day - we did the garden tour and discovered all sorts of interesting things about the garden - like there are 67 varieties of palm tree.

Beautiful sunsets - best viewed from the Spa - I didn't have any of the Spa treatments as I thought they were rather expensive but others in our group did and thought they were good.

Would we go back - yes.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ashsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

This was our first trip to the Caribbean and we were not disappointed. An expensive holiday in late January certainly but much needed. We did lots of research before choosing Curtain Bluff and on the whole were very pleased with our choice. All the rooms, even the cheapest, have spectacular ocean views and are spotlessly clean and comfortable but not ultra-luxurious.Ours was a ground floor deluxe and opened straight onto a stunning beach which was rarely used as all the facilities and calmer waters were on the other beach.
The tennis, watersports and gym were all superb and part of the all inclusive package ( save for tennis lessons). We didn't venture to the spa but it looked lovely. The beach is gorgeous with plenty sunbeds and sunshades for everyone - the hotel was at full capacity but never felt like it on the beach.
The pool isn't great if you prefer swimming in a pool to the sea - unheated and rather tucked away in an area behind the beach. It saw little use when we were there. The food also was disappointing for a 5 star hotel. The beach lunches were great and by far our favourite meal. The breakfast( not buffet style) was uninspiring and dinner varied from the good to not very good - overcooked meat and fish.We also would have loved to have seen more use of fresh fruit. I think this area needs addressing as we heard several people commenting that the food was disappointing - mainly British visitors. The main dining room is uninspiring as is the bar area - both rather dark and dated. The beach restaurant has a much more contemporary feel.
The majority of the guests were American and a high proportion during our stay were elderly who had been going to the hotel for years which at times made it feel more country club than hotel. We would have felt quite strange if we had been young honeymooners.
The staff and service on the whole were first class. Very friendly and approachable and I liked the fact that such service was received in a no tipping environment. The hotel clearly looks after it's staff - many have been there for years.
We would consider going there again most certainly but would hope the standard of food had been addressed and perhaps some upgrading of the rooms. Whilst we primarily went to the Caribbean for some Winter sun, when paying approx £900 a night for the cheapest room there are things to be improved upon.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank aliBee331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Our family stayed at Curtain Bluff for spring break last year and had a fantastic trip. It was our first trip to Antigua and the first trip for the kids to the Caribbean. I was unsure of where to stay so we split our time between Curtain Bluff and Carlisle Bay, staying first at Curtain and after a few days we did try to cancel at Carlisle so we could stay at Curtain. The kids were having the best time ever, met friends they still keep in contact with and we were having a great time and also met lovely families, all of whom had been before. We may have been the only people who had never been to the resort before. The rooms were perfect with large open space and no tv's. The main living area has air conditioning as well as a balcony so there was always a good breeze and we only used the AC at night since we like to sleep in the cold and my son is a light sleeper. The bathroom could get a little warm but it does also have windows that are always open for ventilation. There are no door locks and although that was strange at first, we definitely felt very comfortable after a few days. There are so many things to do. We went snorkeling, played tennis, the kids went tubing (the resort staff take them out on a boat in the safe bay for a ride around then come back for other riders) and they played squash. We didn't know what to do with ourselves because our kids were so happy off playing with friends. Definitely the benefit of the all inclusive which we had never tried before. We also really enjoyed the way dinner was set up. The kids got dressed (our daughter wore a sundress and son wore khaki shorts and collared shirt) and went to dinner with their new friends (and all of the other kids) and we had dinner a bit later while they all hung out in the rec room that has computers, AC and a tv for watching sports or movies. The food was ok, but not terrific which is the only downfall and something they could really work on. If that improved this spot would be hard to beat. They have a separate Italian restaurant which was definitely better and needs to be booked in advance. The beach and water was spectacular and definitely better than the beach at Carlisle Bay. If comparing, the food is much better (and very expensive) at Carlisle and the resort is very different, but the atmosphere and people at Curtain Bluff are clearly why so many families are repeat visitors. One other thing I have to mention. We felt a definite uneasiness on the drive in from the airport to the resort. The surrounding area is very poor and run down, there were many stray and clearly starving animals on the very rough roads and people milling about. It's a long drive and I was very stressed by not knowing where we were going. Clearly it all turned out fine, and the resort has a program where they donate money to the surrounding neighborhood to pay for medical and education expenses. I know it's common in some of these areas, but after reading more about Antigua and talking to our driver on the way back to the airport (from Carlisle Bay) it does seem that the economy is declining and crime is an issue. There was one afternoon where there was a lot of noise outside the gate of the resort, sounds of cars backfiring constantly and loud music. I looked out to see a caravan of vehicles and motorcycles carrying around 20-30 people and it was disconcerting. I know other guests asked about it as well. They were told (and told us) that is was promotion for something going on at the race track. Not sure. We would love to go back but would look carefully at how things are going in general on this island before deciding.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sp83196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Mary's
10.8 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#3 of 16 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#2 of 7 in Saint Mary's
5.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
11.1 mi away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#1 of 16 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#2 of 16 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,188 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carlisle Bay Antigua
Carlisle Bay Antigua
#3 of 7 in Saint Mary's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Curtain Bluff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curtain Bluff Resort

Property: Curtain Bluff Resort
Address: Old Road, Saint Mary's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Mary's
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Mary's
#1 Family Hotel in Saint Mary's
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint Mary's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Curtain Bluff Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flanked by water on both sides, Curtain Bluff sits on a rocky promontory (bluff) that juts into the sea between two beautiful beaches. One is calm, ideal for swimming and watersports; the other beach is washed by ocean surf. 72 Rooms and suites, all with staggering seascape views, are spread out along the Surf Beach and up the bluff. There are two restaurants: the open-walled Tamarind Tree serving breakfasts and candle-lit dinners, and the Beach Cafe & Bar, where barefoot-casual lunches are enjoyed one step from the sand and a few feet from the water's edge.The resort's exceptional facilities include a championship tennis center, a fully equipped watersports center (scuba, Windsurfing, paddle-boarding, waterskiing, Hobie Cats and kayaks), a squash court and fitness center. When it's time to relax, there's our tranquil spa overlooking the sea, a beachside swimming pool, a beach bar, and hammocks swaying in the shade of coconut palms.With the exception of a few above-and-beyond luxuries (Cuban cigars, vintage wines, spa treatments), everything is included in the room rate, making it one of the best values in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Destinology and Hotels.com so you can book your Curtain Bluff Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Curtain Bluff Hotel Bolans
Curtain Bluff Antigua
Curtain Bluff Resort Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing