We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks like on the pictures”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Curtain Bluff Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Saint Mary's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed in a villa , next to the hotel and we walked on the beach every day. The hotel looks beautiful on both sides. The south side is more windy and has waves at all times. But it still looks beautiful. There were not too many people on the beach . The nicest thing about this beach is that the looks and the color of the sand changes everyday because of the waves.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kleme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
There are newer reviews for Curtain Bluff Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

We have visited Curtain Bluff regularly over the last 12 years or so. Visited with children (and then as young adults!), with friends and as a couple.
It is always welcoming and friendly. Beach area is well maintained. Beach bar excellently staffed.

Suites are comfortable Tennis coaching is always enjoyable. Not used new spa area but views are to die for. Gym could do with an update

Restaurant area can feel large and busy but smaller beach restaurant is lovely.

Overall the high level of service makes staying here a real treat!

Room Tip: Junior suites on the hill overlooking the wild beach
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Best carribean vacation ever. Food? Fantastic, nice variety and quality. Beautiful room? Floor to ceiling doorwall walks out to your own private beach. All food, drinks, activities ( including diving, sport fishing, etc.) are included. Couldn't have been more pleased with the large variety of quality wines to choose from. Friendly and attentive staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Needed a break and booked two nights. All the time we had spare. Within an hour of arriving I had booked a third night as we were made to feel so welcome and the property is so beautifully manicured that we didn't want to leave. Still don't but...
Lots of activities to help us exhaust ourselves, great food and the roar of the ocean to sleep by.
The owners are charming and miss no opportunity to ask how your stay is going.
Really hands on.
I am in the hospitality business myself and understand the nuances of running a business in the caribbean.
When you are here you are at home and not every hotel can get that balance right. Curtain Bluff does.
Finally, the way the property is maintained and staffed ( it must cost a fortune to run ) I'd say our stay here was a bargain.
Thank you all. L&S&T

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lance L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Curtain Bluff for 5 nights. First I will discuss the pros of this resort: The beach is beautiful, and the ocean was mainly placid and clear blue. Water skiing and snorkeling trips were included, which we very much enjoyed. Snorkeling right off of our beach was fun too as we saw squid, starfish and stingrays just feet away from our beach chairs. The food at either the main dining room or the beach side restaurant was consistently good, and there was a nice variety to choose from. We also requested and stayed in a first floor room which faced the ocean and was beautiful to hear and see everyday. The tennis facilities were great as was the always available tennis pro. Now the cons: first when we arrived, we were surprised to see the resort was somewhat more rundown than we expected. The owner welcomed us, however my party all agreed he looked more like a disheveled guest than the owner. The rooms could use some updating and the air conditioning was weak from the start. No televisions in the room but there are a few large television rooms at the resort. The service was very inconsistent. My party and I felt our waiter every morning at breakfast was short with us to the point of bring rude and made us all feel uncomfortable. The food rarely came out timely and frequently our orders were presented incorrectly. The bartenders made nice drinks but rarely smiled (or acknowledged us) unless we got their attention in the practically empty bar area, and many of the waitstaff on the beach did not seem happy to be there. Our air conditioner broke the day before our last and we had to move rooms. We had to ask about the status of our air conditioner after five hours of no update, call or note. The staff was actually busy with a broken water pump which caused there to be no running water for a few hours. The spa is very nice however it is unusual to have outside workmen walking in and around the spa when guests are changing or in robes trying to get dressed after a treatment.
Overall I would recommend this resort if you are looking for a quiet, all inclusive with these amenities without having to wait in lines for meals or other services during this time of year. However, the resort could DEFINITELY use an upgrade/training in service for the staff to make travelers feel consistently welcomed and happy. Not sure if we will return.



  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rhbres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We travelled in late June, and when we arrived the hotel was only about 20% full, although it filled up during the 10 days and was probably nearer to 40% at weekends. Despite being quiet all facilities were fully operational, including nightly entertainment. There are around 75 rooms at the hotel
At this time of year there were some excellent deals, including free nights and room upgrades, available.
The hotel is built on a bluff and has 2 beaches, the wilder east side where the rooms are situated and the quieter west side when it is much calmer, great for swimming, and where most people spend their time.
The hotel guests were predominantly American (90%)with a few British, and some locals at the weekends. There was a wide age range from young children to grandparents. The resort offers a wide range of watersport facilities, including Kayaks, pedalos, paddle boards, hobi cats, water skiing, twice daily snorkelling trips to nearby Cades Reef and deep sea fishing, all at no extra cost.
We had a first floor Junior Suite which was large and airy, with a large bathroom. No rooms have TV's, but free Wi-Fi is available throughout the resort. As mentioned above where the rooms are located, the sea is quite noisy, which can make it difficult to sleep until you get used to it.
Breakfast and dinner are waiter served with a varied choice. Personally, I prefer buffet breakfasts as it makes it easier to see all the choices, rather than having to ask all the time. Lunch is an excellent buffet style, with a varied and wide variety, served at the beach restaurant (which converts to an Italian restaurant 3-4 evenings/week).
There is a high staff/guest ratio which was good, but not sure what it would be like if the hotel was full.

There is a good spa, with several therapists, and a wide variety of treatments available (massages, facials, nails, etc), at reasonable prices.

A couple of minor criticisms, firstly it took 3 attempts to get the Air-conditioning mended, and the choice of drinks at the bar could be improved. The "champagne" was actually sparkling wine, and the choice of premium spirits appeared limited, with lesser known brands being served unless you asked specifically. Also the quality of house wines served at meals could be improved, they are keen to sell you their non-house wines, which start at c$40+/bottle, which is disappointing for a quality all-inclusive resort.
The weather in late June / early July was good with only 1 cloudy day in 10, with minimal rain.

Overall a very enjoyable hotel, with something to do for most tastes with an emphasis on customer service. Improving the drinks offering would make it even better.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tonytourguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

All hotels have sea, sunshine, sports, spas but Curtain Bluff has all this in spades plus one extra special ingredient that makes it stand out as the best holiday we have ever had.
What is the special ingredient? The family!

The family is made up of the owner, the managers, the staff and the guests.

Guests have been coming here continuously for upwards of 30 years - the staff have been working at Curtain Bluff for so many years it is amazing.

Also while you are at Curtain Bluff you know that money is being invested in the local community and not going into shareholder coffers.

Some people do not get it - but most enjoy the friendly genuine warmth you feel as you wander through this shangri la.

Nothing is too much trouble and any niggles are handled quickly and professionally.

One thing that really annoys me is when waiters lean across to give you your food or drinks. The staff at Curtain Bluff never do.

Chelle (the owner) is an inspiration - meeting and greeting her guests all day long, checking all is going well and keeping a watchful eye over every aspect of her business. This is topped by a Cocktail evening she holds once a week where all guests can go and meet each over - learn more about the Bluff - and have a great cocktail.

Room Tip: Suites are located higher up the Bluff and you will need to climb some steps to get to them. We were...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trip33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Mary's
10.8 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,879 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,020 reviews
11.1 mi away
Jumby Bay Island
Jumby Bay Island
#1 of 16 in St. John's
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Carlisle Bay Antigua
Carlisle Bay Antigua
#3 of 7 in Saint Mary's
971 reviews
8.1 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,336 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Curtain Bluff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curtain Bluff Resort

Address: Old Road, Saint Mary's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saint Mary's
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Mary's
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Mary's
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint Mary's
Price Range: £587 - £1,810 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Curtain Bluff Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flanked by water on both sides, Curtain Bluff sits on a rocky promontory (bluff) that juts into the sea between two beautiful beaches. One is calm, ideal for swimming and watersports; the other beach is washed by ocean surf. 72 Rooms and suites, all with staggering seascape views, are spread out along the Surf Beach and up the bluff. There are two restaurants: the open-walled Tamarind Tree serving breakfasts and candle-lit dinners, and the Beach Cafe & Bar, where barefoot-casual lunches are enjoyed one step from the sand and a few feet from the water's edge.The resort's exceptional facilities include a championship tennis center, a fully equipped watersports center (scuba, Windsurfing, paddle-boarding, waterskiing, Hobie Cats and kayaks), a squash court and fitness center. When it's time to relax, there's our tranquil spa overlooking the sea, a beachside swimming pool, a beach bar, and hammocks swaying in the shade of coconut palms.With the exception of a few above-and-beyond luxuries (Cuban cigars, vintage wines, spa treatments), everything is included in the room rate, making it one of the best values in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Holiday Gems, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Curtain Bluff Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Curtain Bluff Hotel Bolans
Curtain Bluff Antigua
Curtain Bluff Resort Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing