We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection in the Caribbean!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carlisle Bay Antigua
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Saint Mary's
Certificate of Excellence
Miami
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfection in the Caribbean!”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Truly genuine service with attention to detail. Check in was prompt and efficient. The grounds are well maintained and lush. Food delicious--Asian cuisine for dinner at East and daily breakfast at Indigo. Afternoon Tea on Suite terrace was memorable and very good. Highly recommend for couples getaway.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MiamiGlobeTrotter64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    688
    179
    47
    28
    20
See reviews for
372
388
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guilford, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I have stayed at many wonderful resorts over the years and this is the first resort that has inspired me to write a review. We had a wonderful family vacation at Carlisle Bay. The rooms were clean and tasteful and perfect for a family. The grounds are beautiful and the food was delicious!!
We have 2 young children who loved the beach and the pool and we look forward to future trips when they can sail, snorkel and play tennis. We also arranged to have private swimming lessons which were terrific. The staff was gracious, kind and excellent- highly responsive and professional.
We plan to return next year and will likely try to sneak in a long weekend here and there!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My boyfriend and I spent four days at Carlisle Bay in mid January and had a wonderful experience. We were extremely pleased with the service from our pre-arranged cab pick-up at the airport to the warm welcome at the resort by the property manager,to daily interactions with staff, who were friendly and available. We chose to stay on the resort property for the entirety of our trip and spent our time dining, relaxing on the beach, light workouts at the gym, and enjoying the complimentary watersports in the bay.

We enjoyed both restaurants - the ambiance at the main dining room in the evening is wonderful and though it's open air, bugs weren't a concern due to the torches. The asian-themed restaurant was also good, though the decor was a bit simple (hard to top a sunset beach view). Definitely check out the Italian restaurant for lunch by the pool - the antipasto, salads and pasta were great. We ordered room service for a quiet evening and found it prompt and pleasant ordering via phone. We also ordered lunch on the beach most days - the bento boxes are delicious and filling!

We stayed in an ocean villa on the ground floor and very much enjoyed the view of the beach, as well as the easy access if we wanted to pop in and shower or nap just a few steps from the beach. We appreciated that the couples are placed on the opposite side of the resort from families and mealtimes are also regulated to avoid overlap. Our area was mostly couples and we found the vibe relaxed and friendly all around. Highly recommend a stay at Carlisle Bay.

Room Tip: All rooms are close to the beach but ground floor ocean villas have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2014

My husband & I have just returned from eight spectacular days at the lovely Carlisle Bay Resort. We were visiting Antigua to attend our best friend's wedding commitment beach ceremony to a local Antiguan on March 3, 2014. We arrived five days ahead in order to share in the pleasure of the pre-ceremony excitement ... And that, indeed, we did!
We arrived at the airport which was only 35 to 45 minutes away from the Carlisle. At the resort, we were received by the very friendly, kind and trusting team of staff with those big smiles that we will never forget. As we were being escorted to our room, we were given a tour along the way through the large open air lobby, by the three restaurants and large pool and then down the lush tropical garden paths. Our suite was immaculately clean and large, with a comfortable bed, living area and a wonderful ocean & beach view. The large open air lanai had a sleeping bed and dining table with two chairs. Just perfect!!
The Carlisle beach & bay is beautiful all in itself. It would have been easy to stay on-sight the entire stay, however everyday we visited another amazingly breathtaking beach and enjoyed wonderful late lunches at the local restaurants ... either beachside or harbor side. Each day was better than the next ... More lovely and more memorable. Then every evening we would "come home" to our Carlisle Bay family.
This is the resort to call your Antigua holiday "home". It is peaceful, quiet and quite romantic, with service that is top notch. Although we did see families at our delicious breakfasts every morning, we never heard them or even saw them on the large curving beach.
The resort is incredible, really incredible. We have traveled world wide for years and this is one of our very favorites. One last note to share; the best "gem" of this fantastic resort is the STAFF! This team offers spectacular service ... understated yet full blown. Each one of the team staff members made my husband and I feel like the service they provided to us came from their heart. It could not have been better. Stay here .... You will create great memories.

Room Tip: The suites are large, clean and very comfortable. There are three floors and all three levels offer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyR90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We have travelled extensively through the Caribbean, and had a wonderful vacation at this resort. We have two small children (toddler under 3 and a baby under 1 year) and chose this resort particularly because it was billed as very child friendly, and wasn't a large theme resort (Beaches).

I cannot say enough about how wonderful the staff and service we received here was. They were just fabulous with our kids. Our son was sick the first week we were here, and they were so nice about changing sheets multiple times a day and bringing in pedialyte for him. Being sick at a hotel is never fun, but I really think this is the best place we could have been. The beachfront terrace rooms were fantastic in our opinion for giving us a break while the kids were napping - i.e. we could set up the baby monitor outside and enjoy ourselves on the beach without being stuck in the room. We also used the kids club in the mornings and the babysitting service in the evenings so we could enjoy some adult time. I felt absolutely comfortable with the level of care from both, the ladies we met were so lovely with our kids and truly seemed to enjoy them. What surprised me is how everyone at the resort was so friendly with our kids - from the restaurant staff to housekeeping they were just so welcoming.

We have very high standards for food, and kept commenting on how great everything was. I would truly recommend this resort for the food, we did not have a single bad meal. I have a serious food allergy and they were more than willing to accommodate me. The kids meals were way better than you usually see on a kids menu (all included a vegetable, not just fried food!) and we were able to order fresh purees at every meal for our baby which was amazing.

We had the unique experience of being here before the midterm break, and during it - I will say the resort was nicer when it was quieter (no issues with saving chairs etc.) however when it was busier, they were full swing for their kids programs etc. so it's a bit of a trade off.

Finally, my one critique of the resort is that the rooms are starting to look and feel a bit tired and dated. For example, we moved rooms halfway through our stay, and our second bed was pretty tired and really needed replacement, and there was not enough clothes storage in the main room. They are absolutely fine and clean, just not a "wow" experience. An refurbishment would change my rating from 4 stars to 5 stars as everything else we experienced at this hotel was of 5 star quality.

Overall, we plan on returning to this resort with our children for a very family friendly vacation with great food!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

From our first telephone contact it was clear that service and guest comfort was primary. We needed a room with some handicap aids and there was definitely a "can do' attitude which wasn't very evident in other Carribean properties.
For years we had been going to La Samanna in St. Martin however their prices and the island's overdevelopment steered us elsewhere.
We tried Galley Bay in Antigua. Great value and a nice property but the service was not uber luxury. Next came Curtain Bluff. This is a terrific place...lots of included stuff to do, gracious warm service. They do have a thing against TVs. We like the option -so a return was not inevitable. The beach was also small.
On to Carlisle Bay.
This resort has a beautiful location and a decent sized beach with protected swimming. It's contemporary decor was initially jarring but soon we embraced whitewashed woods and sparse but dramatic decor. We had a beach front suite second foor. The rooms were well appointed.and good sized. views wonderful. the beach a short hop.

Carlisle Bay now has an all inclusive plan for meals but we found out it was $450 extra for 2 a day. A very bad deal in our eyes. Unless you are big drinkers and eaters al la carte is best especially with a room rate that includes breakfast. Food is fairly reasonable. There is an open air dining area which is open for all meals and very pleasant, a small pizza place by the pool open for lunch and some dinners, and a high syled air conditioned Asian food restaurant open only for dinner. Food in all places was quite good as was the service. If you are on the al la carte plan, room service is avaialble without extra charges...its a nice way to enjoy the day and the views.

Water sports activities were included in the daily rates as was twice weekly snorkel trip. If you were interested in a special hike the resort will provide a quide to take you for gratis. Other services and yoga etc were extra and pricey. We went to the spa but were not impressed.

On to kids..tthis is a very kid friendly place. In fact the resort has half of the property for kid friendly rooms and a kiddie day program. While there was some separation if you are not fond of kids, do not come here

Our one big complaint about Carlisle Bay is the pool area. It is actually lovely and comfortable BUT it's kid friendly. To see babies in diapers in the pool made us turn around and leave. A resort of this caliber should have a separate kids pool as this arrangement is disgusting and unsanitary.

We stayed at the beach where there was drink and snack service, calm waters and plenty of shade if needed. would have liked the pooltho.
would we return? the gracious service was such a plus and the sense of welcome so pleasant that we probably would. but we sure would wish for a second pool!!

Room Tip: Ground floor gets a lot of pass by viewers. Second provides nice views. thirs floor is two flights o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank susu9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandeville, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We've traveled the Carribean extensively and Carlisle Bay was on par with most five star resorts in the islands. This was a great place to come if you want down time on the beach or by the pool. Some other reviewers complained about kids and noise but there seemed to be very few of them and all were below school age. It's a seasonal thing I guess. Others complained about guests claiming choice beach chairs early in the morning. We went out mid morning and had a choice of seating. There were no bad spots on the beach but this agiain may be a seasonal thing with large crowds. The staff was very responsive and friendly and non intrusive. Our dining experiences were all quite pleasant. If you're looking for a great week in Antigua, Carlisle Bay will provide the perfect setting.

Room Tip: They all seemed nice to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank khanks70471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Mary's
10.8 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,845 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
998 reviews
10.8 mi away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#1 of 15 in St. John's
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,319 reviews
4.9 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,283 reviews
0.7 mi away
Curtain Bluff Resort
Curtain Bluff Resort
#2 of 7 in Saint Mary's
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlisle Bay Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlisle Bay Antigua

Property: Carlisle Bay Antigua
Address: Old Rd, Saint Mary's 00000, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Saint Mary's
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Mary's
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Mary's
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Mary's
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Mary's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlisle Bay Antigua 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlisle Bay on Antigua is one of the leading luxury Caribbean resorts, its accommodation designed to allow for both families and couples to holiday in peace. Both kinds of traveler have a dedicated end of the resort, which allows for everyone the tranquility of the spectacular beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Destinology, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Expedia, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Carlisle Bay Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlisle Bay Antigua Hotel Saint Mary`s
Carlisle Bay Hotel Antigua
Carlisle Bay Resort Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing