We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carlisle Bay Antigua
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Saint Mary's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Ive just returned from a 5 night stay at Carlisle Bay. From arrival to departure, the service was the best I've ever experienced, with genuine assistance and help whenever I needed it. The food was absolutely gorgeous and afternoon tea on the beach was a highlight! So many activities on offer to suit everyone, and snorkelling on the reef and horseriding as well as the onsite Spa were so enjoyable and made my trip memorable. Cannot recommend enough!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,000)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 1,000 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

The most beautiful place I have ever stayed in . If you love relaxation, fabulous food, attentive staff, white sandy beaches, warm sea then this is perfect. It's everything the pictures show & more. I would recommend and return in a heart beat. A holiday destination you will love. The staff are amazing, nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janinearobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I have just returned from a four night stay at the Carlisle Bay. OMG it was simply stunning. The quality was absolutely amazing. From the design, the food and the staff who simply could not do enough to please.
I was truly blown away. The suites were so spacious, and opening the sliding the doors and lying in bed watching the waves lapping on the shore forced the relaxation further.
Even when the weather was expected to be rain, they put on lots of different activities to suit everyone.
I recommend the pilates and yoga. The instructor was fantastic!
Everyone needs a bit of Carlisle Bay in their lives.... bliss

Room Tip: Ground floor suites walk straight onto the beach... perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Just arrived home from this amazing resort and can't recommend it enough. From check in to departure the attention to detail was excellent. The staff were amongst the best I have ever experienced. The food was outstanding and the views from the beach priceless.

You made us all feel welcome Carlisle Bay and I would love to return again one day!! Thank you very much for an amazing relaxing time. 5 star is what you expect and 5 star is what you get!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Adnats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Went for a weeks relaxation. the Hotel was perfect for that, quiet and a great standard of service and food. We took an all-inclusive deal, which was great, the only things not included were spa treatments and excursions. The pool seemed to be mainly populated with small children, so we only swan in the sea, which was totally fine. The guests with kids were placed in rooms near the pool and restaurant so that guests without could be left alone at the other end near the watersports centre. A good arrangement that worked well. From reports on here, we asked for, and were given a top floor Ocean Suite, which was quiet and was well equipped and clean. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Top floor ocean suite near to the watersports end of the beach if you want to be quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huggybug2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Carlisle Bay was a wonderful hotel and felt truly spoiled by the staff. On arrival I was treated like a princess by guest services, they are so welcoming! I was staying in the ocean view rooms which are just stunning with beautiful views through the palm trees of the beach which is a 2 second walk from your room. The rooms are very modern and stylish and the balcony looked straight out to the sea with our own outdoor lounge area and table and chairs.

The staff are absolutely outstanding – better than any hotel I’ve ever stayed at wonderful and very attentive. They tend to remember you and always ask if you need anything, nothing is too much trouble and always with a smile.

Its first come first served with the sun loungers to be honest, you can’t always get one directly outside your room. The beach service for drinks and lunch was great, and the food on the beach is fantastic – try the bentos boxes!

The spa is amazing, the staff again very friendly, knowledgeable and the massages are fantastic I can really recommend them. Although the waiting/relaxation area is not as nice as some resorts I've been too, I can still highly recommend the treatments themselves.

I would have preferred a breakfast buffet to be honest rather than you sitting down and ordering your cooked breakfast (there’s a few cereals/fruit choices you can help yourself too before ordering your main breakfast, but there's not that much choice compared to other 5 star hotels I've stayed in). This is probably a personal choice, as I like to get in/out of Breakfast relatively quickly so I can hit the beach, which maybe a problem when the hotel is at full capacity as you do have to wait for your food to be cooked to order, which is worth it when it arrives. I’m just more of a fan of a huge buffet choice (there’s nothing like Sandy Lane’s breakfast buffet in Barbados!)

The beach is fabulous – there are plenty of sun loungers available and the water is calm and warm and the entire area is very well kept. The property itself is lovely, I must admit the restaurant areas are a little more cosy than expected but breakfast and dinner at ‘Indigo on the Beach’ is a must – beautiful sea views while having breakfast is wonderful. The gardens/plans between all the areas of the property are very well kept. East restaurant serves the most amazing thai/japenese/Chinese food and you just have to try the lobster ravioli or local mahi mahi fish from Indigo restaurant– each course is worth the few pounds you put on as the food is so good! Again – personal preference is that the cocktails are really strong, but there’s plenty to chose from including the bar managers house specials

The only downside is that I felt there wasn’t enough complimentary snorkelling/hiking trips each week and the other activities (like yoga) seem pretty expensive at 50USD for 1 hour. I asked the beach team about paying for a snorkelling trip and they said you have to ‘pay by boat not by person’ So I felt 250USD was quite pricy just to go out snorkelling for an afternoon and they were not very obliging at times. To be honest, the boat house staff are the only people who can be a little moody and seemed like they couldn’t be bothered when you are hiring snorkelling/sailing stuff. It’s a shame really as they are the only ones who let this resort down slightly. Some of them are wonderful and helpful then you get other staff that just don’t want to be bothered. A number of guests commented on this as well. Only the boat house staff though! Not the superb hotel staff

I have stayed at 5 star resorts before that have a lot more daily excursions to offer that are free. The main gift shop was very expensive too, but bring some cash as there is a lady who has a nice stall of local items you can purchase down by the beach hut.

WIFI in the room is excellent and very fast. The guest services are a fantastic help with booking any trips you need in Antigua and the library area is a nice touch.

Another FYI – check your hotel bill carefully when you check out. I noticed that there were a few errors on my bill and I heard other people complaining of the same thing so just be careful on that one.

You just cannot fault the staff here – they make this place warm, welcoming and fantastic. I also loved the beautiful beach, huge modern rooms and fantastic food.

To summerize a relaxing and beautiful resort that I would definitely recommend. However, I would try Jumby Bay Rosewood resort next time if I travel again to Antigua just to see how that compares.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UkPrincess13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This was our second visit to Carlisle Bay, and we had the children with us this time.  We were a bit concerned that at Easter the hotel would be overrun with children, but despite being 100% occupancy it didn't feel crowded and everyone was well behaved.

We had a 2 bedroom beach balcony suite. Right on the water. Perfect for families. The only complaint is that the a/c units in both bedrooms were noisy, and needed replacing, and at these prices you expect decent a/c. The management were v good about sorting it out.

The hotel is still at the top of our list of favourite beach hotels.  Great shallow beach.   Good watersports, reasonable snorkelling and fantastic tennis facilities.  Good spa.

The hotel only has 80 rooms and has a wonderful atmosphere. The service was in general excellent.  I have seen some poor TA reviews regarding service, but apart from the very occasional lapse, the standard was excellent.  Whether it was at breakfast (Althea) or on the beach (Barymore), or Ken and Gloucester on the tennis courts, or Kerry Ann at the concierge desk, or the watersports team, everyone was smiling, helpful and well trained.  The management in particular were outstanding.  Jonathan Reynolds is a great general manager, and his team (particularly Deonne and Michael) looked after us brilliantly and pulled out all the stops when we had a family crisis to deal with.  

Food was very good.  Breakfast was excellent, and Indigo has a good and varied menu and everything was well executed.   Complementary afternoon tea served wherever you want is still a treat.

It is a small and quiet hotel.  Whilst there is eg live music several nights a week, there only seemed ever to be a few tables of people watching, even when the hotel is full.  That is not a problem but if you want a lively nightlife, this is not the place for you.

Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Voyager212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Mary's
10.8 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,927 reviews
9.6 mi away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
643 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 8 in Saint Mary's
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,366 reviews
0.7 mi away
Curtain Bluff Resort
Curtain Bluff Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Mary's
466 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philips
3,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlisle Bay Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlisle Bay Antigua

Address: Old Rd, Saint Mary's 00000, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Saint Mary's
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint Mary's
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Mary's
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Mary's
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Mary's
Price Range: £356 - £1,088 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlisle Bay Antigua 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlisle Bay on Antigua is one of the leading luxury Caribbean resorts, its accommodation designed to allow for both families and couples to holiday in peace. Both kinds of traveler have a dedicated end of the resort, which allows for everyone the tranquility of the spectacular beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Carlisle Bay Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlisle Bay Antigua Hotel Saint Mary`s
Carlisle Bay Hotel Antigua
Carlisle Bay Resort Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing