We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So Peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carlisle Bay Antigua
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Saint Mary's
Certificate of Excellence
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So Peaceful”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My Husband and I have just returned from a wonderful stay at this hotel. We had already spent a week in Anguilla so we were a bit surprised not to see pure white sand. It was normal sand colour and the see was not quite as clear blue. However had this been our first stop we would ha e been delighted which of course we were! All villas are beach front, large and well equipped. We understand that most are for couples but there are some for families. We were told by other guests that sometimes there are a lot of children there but not when we were. Our BA flight home was delayed by four hours - the hotel discovered that for us - they then amended our departure time accordingly and without asking printed off our boarding cards. This meant that we had no need to get back to the airport until 1.5 hours before departure which was great. Thank you so much for that!! All staff always addressed us by our names from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. We will be back!!!

Room Tip: All suites are beach front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heathersandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Carlisle Bay Antigua, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Heathersandra,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. It was absolutely a pleasure having you stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    178
    47
    28
    20
See reviews for
369
378
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed with kids 18 and 20 in a suite literally on the beach - lovely soft white sandy beach ,great complimentary water sports and 3 restaurants to choose from
We chose all inclusive option despite not being big drinkers as the restaurants are fairly expensive
Fantastic relaxing stay, good gym and well stocked library where you can borrow books for your stay.the team were all really helpful and friendly- not always the case in the Caribbean
Management are genuinely interested in you having a great stay and remarkably helpful
Sea turtles in the bay- take the hobie cat out or a stand up paddle board and you will see plenty of them
The room was extremely large as well

Room Tip: Best for small kids stay near the centre of resort but we stayed at end near the beach bar which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Carlisle Bay Antigua, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear RichardP,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was very relaxing and that you had a fantastic time! I will share your kind comments with the entire team who I know will be thrilled. It is the service which ultimately makes a stay special.

We thank you for choosing Carlisle Bay and we look forward to having you stay with us once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Had an unbelievable 5 days at Carlisle Bay. From the extremely comfortable room, to the excellent food and personal service, this holiday will be hard to beat. The service in particular stood out - each member of staff made every effort possible to ensure that we felt welcome and at home throughout our stay. From the General Manager (who welcomed us personally on our arrival) to the gardeners, the standard of service at Carlisle Bay is the best we have seen at any 5 star hotel. Great emphasis has been placed by the management on the importance of friendly and courteous communication with the guests and there seems to be a genuine desire on the part of the staff to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. The hotel is set in a stunning bay and fronts a beautiful, near perfect white beach. There is a small water centre which offers a good range of water activities including a complimentary snorkelling trip to the reef. You could equally just stay in the bay and we saw a wide range of fish on our own mini-adventure. We opted for the half board option which included an afternoon tea being brought to our sun loungers every afternoon. Drinking an English Breakfast tea, a rum cocktail or one of the local Whadadli beers underneath a palm tree was an absolute pleasure. The food in the three restaurants that we ate at in the hotel was simply excellent. From sandwiches and pizzas (all beautifully prepared) to wonderfully cooked fillet steak in the Indigo restaurant and thai red curry in the East restaurant, it is clear that the hotel hires first class chefs and great care is taken over the selection of ingredients and the preparation of the food. Alcohol is not included in the half board option and it is not cheap but no more than you would expect to pay in a hotel of this quality. We also noticed that the standard service charge that was added to our alcohol bills was a perfectly reasonable 10% rather than the 17-20% that is becoming the norm in the US. The standard room was very large with a wonderful sea-facing balcony that we took breakfast on for several days of our trip. Double sinks, a bath and separate walk-in shower, not to mention a king-size bed, made for a very comfortable stay. This is a special place and we would encourage you to experience it for yourselves.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms have brilliant views from the balcony - further down the beah (towards the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarishmaDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Carlisle Bay Antigua, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear KarishmaDR,

Thank you for such lovely comments. We are absolutely thrilled to hear of the magnificent time you had at Carlisle Bay! We are delighted to hear that you were able to experience our water sport activities and had a chance to sample our sumptuous array of gourmet cuisine. I agree with you, that there is no better place to have afternoon tea, than from your lounge on the beach!

We look forward to having you join us once again so that you can enjoy our fourth restaurant, the Jetty Grill and our newly refurbished suites.

Thank you for choosing Carlisle Bay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Had the most perfect and amazing week here in March with husband and toddler daughter. Amazing location, great food and wine, attentive and discrete service. Perfect hotel for a family holiday and cannot fault the place. Some of the décor is looking a little tired especially the sun loungers and towels which could do with an upgrade.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank alondonvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Carlisle Bay Antigua, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Alondonvisitor,

Thank you for sharing such lovely comments! It was our pleasure having you stay with us.

You may be interested to know that during our annual closure in the summer, there are plans of refurbishing the suites as well as other areas of the hotel. These exciting changes will further enhance the experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Perfect place to enjoy a drink at sunset if you are chartering around the island. Reasonable prices and plenty of room to anchor your yacht.

There is no reef close to the beach, but you can still enjoy snorkelling in the bay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mobergeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Carlisle Bay Antigua, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Mobergeron,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We do hope that you will have the opportunity to stay a night or two and experience the true exclusivity of Carlisle Bay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We visited the Carlisle Bay in November 13 - it was a super family choice. If you are travelling as a couple and are not keen on children then this possibly isn't for you as the whole place is geared up to young families.
The children's club is large and the staff here are so lovely with the children working hard give children a great experience.
We chose a beachfront suite - good choice. This is a 2 bedroom suite so my son had his own room. The bathroom was enormous and was stocked with REN - lovely............
The terrace was large and had steps down onto the beach so was ideal for families. My son loved been able to play on the beach but dip back into the room.
There is loads of entertainment for evenings and again the children are encourage to dance and have a great time.
Menu is fab with good choices for children.
The hotel organised diving for me which was good and well organised.
Only downside was the mosquitos - take your repellent.

Room Tip: Beachfront suite. These have direct access to the beach so fab views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hellie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Carlisle Bay Antigua, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Hellie2012,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are delighted that the entire family had a wonderful time. While Carlisle Bay is ideal for families we also tailor to adults in and around the property, more specifically in our Ocean Suite areas.

Being in the Caribbean the tropics and mosquitoes go hand and hand. As a team, we take great pride in our fogging and spraying programs to ensure our landscaped and beach areas are enjoyable.

We thank you for choosing Carlisle Bay and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Beautiful, peaceful beach. The food was very, very good (especially at East). The rooms and the grounds were kept extremely clean.

Left our 1 year old with my mom so we could get away and shut down our brains. Carlisle Bay was the right place at the right time. It was a quiet time of year for the resort, which was ideal for us. We just wanted quiet & romantic relaxation. So peaceful!

We did all inclusive just so we did not have to deal with bills after each meal. If you are not going to drink a lot, the all-inclusive might not be the best deal. Not sure what this spot is like when they are closer to full occupancy, but willing to give it a shot with our daughter next time.

Room Tip: Resort split: 1/2 reserved for families (w/ children)...1/2 adults only
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Carlisle Bay Antigua, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Arby P,

Thank you for sharing your comments. We are delighted to hear that you had a great time and were able to get in some good relaxation.

We look forward to your next visit as a family and can reassure you that no matter the time of year our property and beach layout provide for quiet and relaxation.

A big thank you again, from the Carlisle Bay Family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Mary's
10.8 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,810 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
5.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
10.8 mi away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#1 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Curtain Bluff Resort
Curtain Bluff Resort
#2 of 7 in Saint Mary's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
8.4 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,258 reviews
4.9 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlisle Bay Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlisle Bay Antigua

Property: Carlisle Bay Antigua
Address: Old Rd, Saint Mary's 00000, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Saint Mary's
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Mary's
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Mary's
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Mary's
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Mary's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlisle Bay Antigua 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlisle Bay on Antigua is one of the leading luxury Caribbean resorts, its accommodation designed to allow for both families and couples to holiday in peace. Both kinds of traveler have a dedicated end of the resort, which allows for everyone the tranquility of the spectacular beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelbag, Booking.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlisle Bay Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlisle Bay Antigua Hotel Saint Mary`s
Carlisle Bay Hotel Antigua
Carlisle Bay Resort Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing