We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Boxer Shack

Boxer Shack
Ranked #7 of 20 Restaurants in Saint Mary's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$40
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The Boxer Shack is set above the swaying palms overlooking the azure blue Caribbean sea with steps leading down to the beach where there are sunbeds available to restaurant guests free of charge. The restaurant serves only the freshest snapper, tuna, lobster, prime angus steaks, tantalizing curries and much more. On a Sunday as well as the regular menu we also serve a traditional Sunday roast We have a fully stocked bar, chilled wines and Champagne, draught beer and a selection of English ales. We also have a selection of fine rums. We are open Wednesday to Saturday for lunch and dinner and Sunday lunch only. We are closed Monday and Tuesday. Reservations are required for dinner and recommended for Sunday lunch.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

The Boxer 'Shack' is a misnomer. This was/is a restaurant to remember. perched on a bluff overlooking a long deserted beach. We were fortunate to be staying in the adjacent villa just before Tony had to go back to the UK and were able to enjoy their excellent food.
Tony uses the best available ingredients and enhances them to produce seared tuna to die for, lobster par excellence and world class steaks, oh, and a Sunday lunch with all the trimmings for homesick Brits. All served with flair by Gill.
They made our stay and so out holiday in Antigua, memorable. We hope that they will be able to return soon, to build up their business.
When they do, if you are around, eat at the Boxer Shack, You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John_22014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    12
    7
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Tony and Jill built up a magnificent reputation in Antigua and then retired to Devon. Their return up the coast to Boxer Shack is great news. We were in Antigua for one week, and came here twice. We had some amazing steaks and Tony - a real foodie - even took time after lunch to tell us his cooking secrets. Heard an American boating couple say that they had never had such a friendly welcome. Can't wait to get back for Gill's welcome and some more master cooking lessons.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JD7889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great restaurant lives up to its rating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Visited for lunch. Beautiful location . Food excellent and great value with super front of house welcome. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WilliamAOliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Lovely beach bar/restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

/Lovely beach bar restaurant overlooking the beach and not far from the hotel Curtain Bluff. Food is excellent but the service rather slow. Jill & Tony make you most welcome. Access to the toilets not easy if you are slightly handicapped. Well worth a visit!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
127 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A place away from the Cruise ship crowd”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Let me premise this review in saying I was on the Carnival cruise ship Freedom with my wife for 8 days, four ports and many taxi rides and tours. All the taxies take you to the same places trying to give their friends the business and to get free lunches and such for bringing you. My chance we had our driver stop for a picture and noticed an open sign at the Boxer Shack. We went in had a drink and rest room break only to leave and be taken by our driver to his wonderful local beach restaurant. It was packed with at least 30 taxis, the restaurant was crowded and hot. We left and had our driver take us back to the Boxer Shack. The location is gorgeous, the breeze was blowing through for the perfect temperature. The food was unbelievable. We had the fish soup, made from red snapper and split an order of spring rolls. The owners are a British couple, the husband the chef and there is some resentment from the locals and the drivers won't stop there unless forced. The complete experience was so refreshing after being herded from place to place on the cruise. We paid in US dollars but the bill came in the local currency format thus $127.50 equaled $46 us with tip. Don't miss this place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WILLIAM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boxer Shack also viewed

Saint Mary's, Antigua
 
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
 

Been to Boxer Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing