We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“great location and luxurious accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property
Peace and tranquility, yet only a minute from the beach, restauarants & shops
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Peace and tranquility, yet only a minute from the beach, restauarants & shops
Largest infinity pool in the area Extensive pool deck,  no lack of space, plus that stunning 270' ocean view.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Peace and tranquility, yet only a minute from the beach, restauarants & shops
Largest infinity pool in the area
Extensive pool deck,  no lack of space, plus that stunning 270' ocean view.
No need to reserve a lounger !
Cactus is situated in lush woodland yet beaches are just only on the other side of the road
Cactus has three gardens, naturally with sea views. This is the middle one
Large manicured lawns ideal to relax on
Cactus's garden terraces, as seen from the sea. Jolly beach in foreground
Almost guaranteed  28'c  ( 82'f) temperatures every day
More views from the Estate
Large lounge opens onto both decks plus to upper garden
High cool vaulted ceilings
Fantastic Caribbean vista as seen from all decks
So many cool covered areas to relax
BBQ deck - even more great views
Specatular Caribbean view - even from the parking lot
Sunset over Montserrat - as seen from the upper deck
Definitely true at Cactus
Typical view from the pool at dusk
Programme your own pool light show each night
Large kitchen with plenty of granite work surface and storage  space
All bedrooms are palatial, cool and open to great views
Both master bedrooms open directly to the poolside
deck
Second Master bedroom with triple aspect views over the Caribbean
One twin bedroom is themed for children
Children's  en suite bathroom
Unusually capacious bathrooms - all bedrooms are en suite
Light and airy bathrooms
Plenty of loungers for everybody
Tranquil Jolly Harbour
Jolly Harbour moorings if you arrive by yacht
Valley Church Beach - 10 minute walk from Cactus or just a minute or two by car
The 'Nest'  beach bar / restaurant at Valley Church
Ffryes Beach  - 15 minute walk away to the east or 3 in a car
Dine with with views across Jolly Harbour at the Acropolis restaurant
Jolly Beach - only 15 minute walk away to the west
Castaways Beach Bar on Jolly Beach
Have a beach almost totally for yourselves
Bird island - a short boat ride away
Half Moon Bay  -  Conde Naste rates as one of the top ten beaches in the world
Long Bay - perfect for snorkeling
Darkwood Beach - a 5 minute drive
Try your hand at sailing from Jolly Harbour - 10 minute walk
Try scuba off Jolly Beach
Daytime  view from Shirley Heights
Sunset at Shirley Heights
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Saint Mary's, Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MaliaLond...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great location and luxurious accommodation”
Reviewed 24 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The house itself is amazing with great space and high class and comfortable décor and furnishings. The view is stunning and the pool is such a big bonus - being large, accessible and easy on the eye. The extra's such as the ipod dock, spectacularly equipped kitchen and easy to use BBQ really add to the value. We found the drive too steep for our hire car but did get used to the steps by the end of the stay! The location is so good too with the local beaches beings so beautiful and the plentiful supply of walkable restaurants for the evening. Would recommend this villa unreservedly, especially with the added bonus of the maintenance man, Don, who is a source of invaluable advice, assistance and a dab hand at making excellent rum punch!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the upstairs veranda withits views and coolness
Liked least: the steep driveway
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2015
Many thanks for your kind comments.
The house was designed to maximise 'al fresco' living , yet to give plenty of cover for when the sun gets too strong. The pool and deck are large enough to satisfy the largest of parties and the infinity edge just enhances the ocean views. My aim is to always give guests the highest quality and the best possible holiday experience - it seems that have succeeded !
As as you say the location is just so perfect it is just about impossible to beat, plus I am glad to say the house has never disappointed . But even large quantities of Don's rum punch don't improve the views out over the Caribbean !. Surely this vista is the 'icing on the cake'

Again my thanks, Roger
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louloumck
g
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa in idyllic setting”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful villa in an idyllic location
★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Had a fantastic stay in Cactus house. The villa was very well equipped, spacious and in a lovely location with fabulous views. Thank you to Don who was always on hand to help or to give friendly advice. Antigua is a beautiful destination and the house had incredible beaches almost on the doorstep. I would recommend the hiring of a car although the supermarket was only 10-15 minute walk it was a long walk back when carrying shopping, especially the last stretch up hill ! It was also nice to tour the island seeing all the sights and different beaches although we felt that the closest beach to the villa, Valley Church beach, was by far the nicest and also the most secluded. Jolly Harbour beach was nice if you wanted a little more life. All in all a wonderfully relaxing holiday in a lovely house.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie...
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience -To be Treasured”
Reviewed 21 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This house has a huge WOW factor. So beautiful , wonderful views , great weather
fantastic pool which has its own light show ! As it is our first trip to Antigua nothing disappointed - all arrangements were perfection from transfer from Airport to House to be met by charming people - Yasmine & Don are great. The local Taxi service from Castaways very helpful nothing to much trouble. Local people so friendly and welcoming. A unique property
and a real credit to owners. We will return !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blacksp0t
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Idyllic villa in paradise”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Cactus house more than lived up to our expectations, photos can't convey the spaciousness of the property or the breathtaking views.

From our first contact with Roger, he couldn't have been more helpful. His communication has been excellent and he has personally ensured that all went smoothly for us. Yasmine, the house manager, was friendly and attentive, as were all the staff, especially the taxi driver.

The brand-new house is in an ideal location for beaches, shops, restaurants and trips around the island. Although the local amenities are only 10-15 minutes walk away we preferred to take the car due to the tropical temperatures. Our most visited beaches being Big and Little Ffryes, which are either side of our favourite place to eat - Denis's. The pizzas and fish 'n chips across the road are also very tasty and convenient.

All of the rooms are of generous proportions, most have vaulted ceilings and wonderful views, although most of the day is spent outside. The whole house with its vast outdoor areas is superbly equipped, with thoughtful touches - everything is provided for your needs and comfort.

Many hours were spent on the top deck taking in the breezes and panoramic views, or in the infinity pool with its large, shallow area for toddlers to play. At night we all loved to sit and watch the vivid pool lights changing.

We hope the access to the villa, via steps or steep drive can be improved as we found it difficult with 2 young children and shopping, although the reward at the top is more than worth the effort.

Cactus House was a very special place to stay and was greatly admired by our visitors after our daughter's wedding at Sandals. It was perfect for our stay with our family, and we hope to return soon. We also plan to see the beautiful island of Antigua again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the high standards.
Liked least: The steep steps
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jac s
guildford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sophisticated & stunning house with spectacular views”
Reviewed 15 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Our family of 3 adults and 3 young children stayed almost three weeks at Cactus in March - what a place !
So much space - photos do not convey the true size and excellence of the property, no do justice to the breath-taking views or the unbelievable sea colours. Cactus was immaculately clean, well presented and whole place reeks of quality
The closest beach (Valley Church) was a short walk and surely has to be one of the best in the Caribbean. Soft sand, gentle waves, swaying palms plus 'the Nest' a great bar/ restaurant. Be careful though, the beaches in Antigua get very busy if a cruise ship in in.
The local supermarket is of good size as it caters for all the yachts in Jolly harbour and has its own bakery . Again it is only a short walk, so we always had fresh bread and hot crumpets with breakfast.
We spent much of our time at the house just chilling on the upper deck, keeping an eye on the kids in the pool on the lower one. One feature that kept us entertained was the pool which had programmable underwater illumination that could be set to give an entertaining light show at night - during the day the water was crystal clear and amazing views over the infinity edge.
We enjoyed the Spa and Gym at Sugar Ridge hotel next door and had some good meals there too. Alternatively there are plenty of good restaurants close by, however the kitchen at Cactus was so well equipped that we often stayed in, having BBQ'S while watching the sunset over Montserrat .
Kids were happy with a fast WiFi and almost spent 24/7 in the pool !
Another tip - the house is on the hillside (hence the views) so driveway is a bit steep in places. I am a pensioner and coped fine with the steps, but for anyone infirmed or with walking difficulties, I would suggest a taxi or a hire car.
We loved every moment of our stay and this house is definitely the place to book if you want peace and tranquillity in a luxury setting, but with all tourist amenities close by.
A VERY recommended 5* property
Jackie

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spectacular views
Liked least: Having to leave after 3 weeks of perfection
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing