We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous find!”
other travellers have booked this property
Peace and tranquility, yet only a minute from the beach, restauarants & shops
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Peace and tranquility, yet only a minute from the beach, restauarants & shops
Largest infinity pool in the area Extensive pool deck,  no lack of space, plus that stunning 270' ocean view.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Peace and tranquility, yet only a minute from the beach, restauarants & shops
Largest infinity pool in the area
Extensive pool deck,  no lack of space, plus that stunning 270' ocean view.
No need to reserve a lounger !
Cactus is situated in lush woodland yet beaches are just only on the other side of the road
Cactus has three gardens, naturally with sea views. This is the middle one
Large manicured lawns ideal to relax on
Cactus's garden terraces, as seen from the sea. Jolly beach in foreground
Almost guaranteed  28'c  ( 82'f) temperatures every day
More views from the Estate
Large lounge opens onto both decks plus to upper garden
High cool vaulted ceilings
Fantastic Caribbean vista as seen from all decks
So many cool covered areas to relax
BBQ deck - even more great views
Specatular Caribbean view - even from the parking lot
Sunset over Montserrat - as seen from the upper deck
Definitely true at Cactus
Typical view from the pool at dusk
Programme your own pool light show each night
Large kitchen with plenty of granite work surface and storage  space
All bedrooms are palatial, cool and open to great views
Both master bedrooms open directly to the poolside
deck
Second Master bedroom with triple aspect views over the Caribbean
One twin bedroom is themed for children
Children's  en suite bathroom
Unusually capacious bathrooms - all bedrooms are en suite
Light and airy bathrooms
Plenty of loungers for everybody
Tranquil Jolly Harbour
Jolly Harbour moorings if you arrive by yacht
Valley Church Beach - 10 minute walk from Cactus or just a minute or two by car
The 'Nest'  beach bar / restaurant at Valley Church
Ffryes Beach  - 15 minute walk away to the east or 3 in a car
Dine with with views across Jolly Harbour at the Acropolis restaurant
Jolly Beach - only 15 minute walk away to the west
Castaways Beach Bar on Jolly Beach
Have a beach almost totally for yourselves
Bird island - a short boat ride away
Half Moon Bay  -  Conde Naste rates as one of the top ten beaches in the world
Long Bay - perfect for snorkeling
Darkwood Beach - a 5 minute drive
Try your hand at sailing from Jolly Harbour - 10 minute walk
Try scuba off Jolly Beach
Daytime  view from Shirley Heights
Sunset at Shirley Heights
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Saint Mary's, Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
h0neybea
London
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous find!”
Reviewed 13 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Cactus Villa was the perfect holiday villa for our family. After a week sailing in the BVI's it was wonderful to arrive in Antigua and be taken to the villa by Lava, and met by Hazel.
Our first impressions was how spacious, cool and beautiful it was. The four en-suite rooms with ac and fans had plenty of storage, good showers and very comfortable beds. The living space and kitchen had a lovely breeze due to the various double doors which opened on to the patio areas. The kitchen had everything we needed for our stay and the gas BBQ was a bonus. The covered patio with large dining table and comfortable seating offered welcome shade. The pool area was great with of course those fabulous views.
We stocked up on provisions at the beginning of the week, courtesy of Lava. After that a 10 minute stroll took us to the supermarket as and when required.
We decided not to hire a car after our hectic first week, but still walked to Jolly Beach, Valley Church Beach, Ffyres Beach and Darkwood Beach (35 mins).
The nearest beach, Valley Church (10 mins) turned out to be our favourite, away from the road, very quiet and with a lovely beach bar.
We loved the fact that it was up on the hillside which gave us a lovely breeze and the views. The walks to the supermarket and the beaches gave us the gentle exercise we needed.
We mainly self catered, but did enjoy a couple of meals at Miracles and an excursion, with Lava, to Nelson's Dockyard and Shirley Heights (good BBQ food and cocktails).
Roger, the owner was very helpful during the booking process and the detailed information pack was very useful.
All in all, a great holiday!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
Reviewed 27 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

The house was amazing. Clean, spacious, private and fully stocked with all the essentials. We had two families...8 people total & there was more than enough room for all of us. The pool was one of the highlights of the week.....it was an 11 on a scale of 1-10. We recommend renting a car....unless you are a hiker. The walk to & back to the store/beach/restaurants was exhausting for some of the group. Valley Church beach was our favorite beach (& the closest). We will definitely book Cactus for a return trip.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Property, excellent views, comfortable.”
Reviewed 11 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We recently had an excellent time staying at Cactus House. There were seven of us from the UK ranging in age from 11 to 68. (Me, wife, two daughters, one son-in-law, two grandchildren).

The photographs and description give you the details of the property so I won't repeat them here. What they don't really do is highlight the attention to detail that makes this property stand out. This is both in the property itself and in the contacts. From being picked up at the airport to being delivered back nothing was too much trouble for the people that support you during your stay.

On our arrival at Cactus and we found it be spotless and well equipped. There are lots of different spaces (upstairs/outside/inside/pool/...) so you could congregate and share time together or find somewhere to sit quietly.

The grand children (and adults) really enjoyed the pool which was large enough to be able swim more than a few strokes; something that's sometimes difficult to judge from the photographs. Also the in-pool lights enhanced any nighttime dip in the pool - which the kids found "cool".

For our stay we managed quite happily without a hire car. This was partly because the US side of our family (10 people) rented a Villa down on the beach and so a fair amount of the time was spent locally cementing UK/US relations! Early on we did a large shop and had a taxi back to Cactus but thereafter managed to carry stuff back when required. The only downside with that was carrying back the occasional 5L bottle of water - I assume due to the recent hurricane affecting the mains supply which meant that the mains water was fine for cleaning teeth but not for drinking.

At this time of year (February) we had no real problem with mozzies. We (the older generation) managed quite happily with just the fan in our bedroom and didn't bother with the a/c.

My grandaughter enjoyed the odd "Death in Paradise" style chat with the small lizards that appeared from time-to-time.

Another example of the attention to detail was the provision of a local pay-as-you-go mobile phone which was preprogrammed with various numbers you might need such as Hazel (Manager) and Lava (Taxi). To me a great plus was the local information provided by Roger, especially things like the taxi (Lava) where you knew you'd get excellent service at a reasonable price. (I've paid exorbitant prices in a previous visit to Antigua).

It was less than 15 minutes to get to Valley Church Beach and maybe 25 minutes down to the beach near Castaways. Obviously a little longer to get back due to the final bit of "uphill" to get back to Cactus House - but you have to pay a small penalty for the wonderful views. I guess those with mobility problems might have to think carefully about this. (One optimistic taxi driver attempted to get his fully loaded taxi right up to the front door but had to abandon his efforts due to the very steep drive).

I found Roger (the owner) both helpful and responsive to queries over details of the rental before the event. If our future plans ever take us back to Antigua, renting Cactus House again would be at the top of our list.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Squib47
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Ideal accommodation for 2 to 8 people in Jolly Harbour”
Reviewed 11 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Located only 15 leisurely minutes from the beaches bars and restaurants of Jolly Harbour. This sizeable villa sleeps 8 with perfect comfort , the bedrooms are large and all have ensuite's , the kitchen and lounge are very large and well equipped. The infinity pool with coloured lighting is fantastic. Roger the owner and his staff are
Very accommodating.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily L
United States
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Jaw-dropping views, luxury amentities, and incredible service!”
Reviewed 5 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I cannot say enough wonderful things about Cactus! If you are on the fence about renting this home, stop worrying and book, you will not be disappointed!

I rented Cactus house for 1 week in November. We had 8 total guests whose ages ranged from 30-45. This house was perfect for this type of group. When you see Cactus house for the first time from the road it knocks you off your feet. Cactus sits majestically on a hill overlooking Jolly Harbor and the Caribbean. The views from the house will never stop surprising you. Every morning at Cactus we would wake up, sit out on the terrace with a cup of coffee wondering how we got to be so lucky in finding this house.

The house has 4 bedrooms, two with queen beds and the other two with twin beds that can be pushed together to make 1 larger bed. All the bedrooms are on the first level of the house (same floor as the pool). Each bedroom has it's own air conditioning unit and private bathroom. This made for a great experience for sleeping arrangements that included some privacy. The top level of the house includes a large living room and indoor dining area, a very modern kitchen, and a large wrap around terrace. The terrace had a large dining table, couches and chairs, a smaller table, and a BBQ grill. We spent most of our time enjoying the upstairs terrace. The breeze is incredible and the views never stop surprising you. Long nights drinking English Harbour, playing board games, and listening to music with friends at Cactus house made my 30th birthday celebration unforgettable.

Beyond all of the houses' amenities I would like to mention that the service at Cactus was above and beyond. I am a very detailed planner and I had many questions for Roger before and during our stay at Cactus. Roger was incredibly patient with me, detailed, and followed up to make sure I had exactly what I needed. Hazel was professional, courteous, and so kind! Roger and Hazel helped me plan my birthday celebration after a Catamaran cruise canceled last minute on me! They made calls and referrals and I cannot thank them enough for this!

There are a few tips I would like to give other travelers.
1. Bring tennis shoes! The hike up to Cactus from the road is tough, if you have hips, knees, or ankle issues make sure you wear appropriate footwear so you don't get hurt.
2. Bring or buy bug spray. The mosquitoes are not bad at Cactus but during the evening you will need bug spray.
3. Stop by the store in Jolly Harbor and pick up toilet paper, paper towels, dish soap and laundry detergent. There will be a little when you arrive at Cactus but you will run out quickly.
4. Take LOTS of pictures and videos. Your time at Cactus will go by very quickly and you will want to remember this slice of heaven!

Thank you again to Roger for a spectacular vacation!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elainet31...
Chelmsford
2 reviews
“Awesome Property, Amazing Holiday”
Reviewed 8 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We've just returned from a 12 night stay at Cactus House and Wow! A beautiful property, Cactus House lives up to it's description, photographs and many positive reviews. As a party of seven (myself, husband, our two grown up daughters and their partners and our 15 year old son) the accommodation was perfect, four bedrooms all with en-suite, well spaced out across the ground floor of the property, upstairs a huge open area with lounge, dining area and kitchen and a very large verandah to the side and front of the property overlooking the pool and the view ... oh the view!!! There was plenty of space for everyone to spread around but we found ourselves always migrating to the verandah just gazing across the picture perfect landscape, taking in the beautiful bay and the watching the sun set right in front of us. The infinity pool was something else, a perfect size, silky water, a light show at night and the same views as from the verandah - so hard to get out of! The location was also perfect for us, we could walk to various local restaurants (Miracles is superb for local food), the supermarket, harbour and 4 different beaches (our favourite was Valley Church). The driver who collected us from the airport was a lovely guy and a proud Antiguan (Big Lava). We hired him to take us on a few trips across the island during our stay, he was a superb guide and knew everyone! Hazel, who looks after the house, was equally lovely and even bought a birthday cake for our daughter who celebrated her 30th birthday while we were there (the purpose of our trip!), so thoughtful. We found Antigua to be a wonderful island, the landscape, the people, the climate, the food ...... we all rated this trip as our best ever holiday ..... the only negative thing, having to leave !!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Superb house.”
Reviewed 1 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Once again a lovely stay in our favourite island. The house is spectacular with commanding views over Jolly Harbour.

You need to be fit to walk from the supermarket with shopping as the hill and steps are significant. More than worth the effort though to stay in such a lovely villa. Roger has thought of almost everything.

Everything except a lavatory on the top floor that is! [Could put one on the barbeque deck Roger even if it meant using a "Saniflow" which could pump down to connect with the pool loo waste by running along the edge of the deck. Did the architect on holiday get bored....?]

After a while though one's legs get used to the hike!

The pool is beautiful with fantastic views from the water.
The bedrooms are really palatial and well equipped.
The local taxi guys are great and would make sure we had a cab whenever the temperature and humidity was too much for us to hike up and down to and from the harbour. Cheap as chips too. Excellent.

Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2017
Hi Peter

Thanks for your really positive review of Cactus. Judging from the feedback over the last couple of years since being built, Cactus continues to be regarded as one of the best properties available for rental on Antigua.
We did consider a separate toilet exclusively for the BBQ deck, but with the pool deck shower room just 10 yards away, we thought that with an additional lavatory, the choice of seven at the house might be a bit excessive ! But 'never say never' so next trip I will investigate feasibility.
Regards and my thanks

Roger
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing