We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Knightstown Coffee Shop and Bistro
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Spotted this cafe on an impromptu adventure around Valencia island one afternoon and was drawn to the enchanted garden, owners are obviously very creative there are loads of interesting trinkets and I actually thought the bathroom was particularly cute! I would have liked to explore the cafe/bookshop area more and maybe I will some time if I'm in the area again, food and deserts were lovely I had a substantial and tasty soup and boyfriend fish and chips which he enjoyed and looked fresh and non oily.

Helpful?
Thank Aoife O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    12
    7
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great coffee, good food, best bookshop in Ireland”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

I've been coming here for a few years now. Great coffee. Changing menu - Thai, pizza etc... Great Irish desserts - what can I say?...Irish baking and dairy is just always the best...

But the bookshop is something else. Amazing selection, great prices, simply too many to stack neatly, so take your time...

Helpful?
1 Thank Briancloughisgod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
465 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 515 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This was a return visit as we remembered it from several years ago. It was very quiet on a Tuesday evening and they had a limited menu as it was chef's night out. Having said that the food was excellent - especially the lasagne. The staff and other guests were all very friendly and we felt as though we were part of the community. The background music was jazz and gave a great vibe and the toilets were sparkly clean. They have outside seating and wi-if but it doesn't work in all areas of the restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The lovely bookshop”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We didn't dine in the Coffee Shop and Bistro but loved the 'Enchanted Garden' (someone has real green fingers, simply enchanting and beautiful) and discovered by chance the bookshop which has a lovely lady proprietor who is chatty , laid back and helpful. Books crowd all the space inside and one could easily spend days browsing. Not all are new, maybe indeed none are, so the prices are as enchanting as the garden and bargains are there to be had. No doubt if the day is cold and rainy (quite the opposite when we visited) then this is the haunt for you. Make sure it's on your list of places to visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Independent66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
1 review
“Excellant Latte and perfect cafe”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We enjoyed our stop at the Knightstown Coffee shop and bookstore. The latte was excellent and the desert was delicious too, especially the whipped cream. The garden is beautiful, the flowers really made the cafe more quaint.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Inspectormonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Knightstown Coffee Shop and Bistro also viewed

Knightstown, Valentia Island
Valentia Island, County Kerry
 
Knightstown, Valentia Island
 
Valentia Island, County Kerry
 

Been to Knightstown Coffee Shop and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing