We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just sort out the little things and you're perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gierer Hotel-Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Wasserburg
Backnang, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Just sort out the little things and you're perfect!”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We went to the Hotel Gierer on the recommendation of close relations, choosing to spend our first holiday with our 5 month-old son there.
First impressions were excellent. The hotel is clean, smart and tidy. The welcome was good.
We went over to the Weinstube next door for lunch - the cheese board was not inspired (too much prepacked sliced cheese), but we were sufficiently satisfied.
The half-board we had booked was sufficient to convince us that half-board was not our thing. The food was not particularly exciting (although well presented) and, though tasteful, the room in which we sat had more of an atmosphere of "feeding time" than a quality dinner. It should be noted that our babyphone did not work in that room, and so we switched to just bed & breakfast and ate in the Weinstube. I can only recommend this, as the Weinstube food was VERY good (even if the cheese problem persisted!). The beer is home-brewed and there is an excellent choice of wines.
What must be said is that the service was EXCELLENT. Changing our stay was no problem, staff remembered us and treated us more than politely. Even the ladies that made the beds were very friendly.
The spa area was also very well-appointed. There is a pool and also a sauna area. All of them were modern, clean and very tasteful. This was more than that which was to be expected from "just another hotel".
We had a family room, which did seem to have had its fair share of knocks. There were two holes in the bathroom door, and there were a few small things which needed attending to. But otherwise, the room was fine.
The location is about 15 minutes' walk from the centre of Wasserburg, a pretty village by Lake Constance. By car, you can be in Lindau in about 10 minutes. The hotel is more or less in the country, so open-air activities are very easily managed.
To sum up, this hotel is definitely worth a visit. There are a few things which need to be sorted out, but otherwise, this is great for couples or families.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djw2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    37
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
12
45
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kenilworth, Warks
Level Contributor
191 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed for two nights on business. Has its own pool and wellness centre which is nice. Hotel rooms are clean and fairly basic but traditional and in keeping with the area. Staff were very friendly and the restaurant attached serves very good food . You can sit outside and eat but watch for mosquito season as they drove me nuts ! This is not one for tourists but Germans and Swiss which is fine but prepared to practice your German. Would stay again

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AALowndes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
118 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

This hotel was booked for us by our bicycle touring company. It was more removed from the center of town than we'd hoped and since it was up a pretty decent hill, we opted to remain on premises for our one night. Our triple room was huge and very comfortable. There were nice easy chairs in addition to the usual beds, desk, table, etc. We found the staff to be more impersonal than in any of the other places where we stayed, but they were certainly not unhelpful. We were rather rushed in the restaurant, as we got there near closing time. Our group was split between two different buildings and the security was so good, it was less than convenient to go back and forth to each other's rooms. We had to stick together in pairs or threes as we were not issued extra keys and there were multiple security doors to get to the rooms. The breakfast buffet was all right, but unexciting.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mannheim, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2009

My husband and I decided to stay at Hotel Gierer in Hege (just outside of Wasserburg) on the Bodensee (Lake Constance) for a few days to get away and relax. We chose this hotel because it had an indoor swimming pool for a little bit of exercise since it was so cold out. The hotel also has a sauna, whirlpool, a small pool for children and a spa in the hotel. We originally requested a king sized bed, but when we arrived, there were none available, so we were upgraded to a suite. The room was a great size and we had a balcony and very large bathroom with a bathtub with jets. The toilet was in a separate smaller room. The only downside to the bathroom was that one could not really take a shower because of the slanted ceiling.

Our room was spotless and the staff were more than friendly and helpful. When we arrived, a staff member picked us up from the train station (1 km from hotel) and dropped us off at the end of our stay. This was offered through the booking agent (deutschbahn) and we assume that this service is not regularly utilized as staff members drove us in their own car. It was a little awkward, but since it was so cold, it really helped with our bags.

Breakfast was included in the rate and it was the highlight of our stay. An assortment of deli meats, cheeses, rolls, fruit, yogurt and cereals were offered. There was also an "egg" station where someone prepared scrambled and fried eggs to order. In this area one could enjoy white sausages and bacon (American style).

There is a restaurant that is connect to the hotel that ranges from $15-$30 for a dish. The atmosphere is very nice - traditional German and the food is good - not spectacular, but good. We sampled wines from the Bodensee which was fun. I would recommend making a reservation. We simply showed up and were told that we could eat as long as we were finished after 1.5 hours - this was plenty of time, but we felt rushed because it took no time for our food to come out. They had us out of there in an hour.

The only downside to our entire stay was the mattresses. First, a double bed consists of two twin-sized beds pushed together, so they are constantly moving and there is a gap in the middle. Second, the mattresses were HARD AS A ROCK! It bothered me much more than my husband, but I simply could not get one good nights rest.

All in all, our stay was just what we needed.

Tips - (1)The average age of guests is 50+. There were some families with small children. (2) Without a car, this location would probably be best for a summer visit so that one can hike and bike ride. (3) There are not many restaurants, shops in Wasserburg, but the halbinsel is a nice place to walk around - even in winter. (4) Bring a bathrobe and pool shoes with you, or the hotel has some that you can use for a small fee. (5) Hotel rooms come with a CD/radio player and DVD player. The hotel has a selection of DVDs, but I do not know if they charge a fee to use these - it didn't seem like it. There is also an assortment of magazines, books and newspapers that guest may read.

  • Liked — The overall atmosphere and staff
  • Disliked — Beds
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank italytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wasserburg
0.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Zum Torkel
Hotel Restaurant Zum Torkel
#3 of 4 in Nonnenhorn
66 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Seewirt
Hotel Seewirt
#1 of 4 in Nonnenhorn
64 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Bad Schachen
Hotel Bad Schachen
#7 of 36 in Lindau
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lipprandt
Hotel Lipprandt
#1 of 4 in Wasserburg
44 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bodensee-Hotel Sonnenhof
Bodensee-Hotel Sonnenhof
#1 of 7 in Kressbronn
219 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant VILLINO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gierer Hotel-Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gierer Hotel-Restaurant

Property: Gierer Hotel-Restaurant
Address: Hege 9, 88142 Wasserburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Wasserburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Wasserburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gierer Hotel-Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Priceline, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your Gierer Hotel-Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing