We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good wholesome food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Paddy's Bar

Paddy's Bar
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Terryglass
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$22
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, Gastropub, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, After-hours, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Paddys is the centre of all activity in the area. First opened in 1829, it has been offering the best of Irish hospitality including great drink, superb food using local produce and the best of accommodation. We also offer advice to visitors on where to go and what to do.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good wholesome food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Had lunch here on holiday. Huge portions of very tasty food. Wholesome and filling. Good wine. Staff very attentive but not too much in your face.
Nice area to go for a walk after lunch.
Wasn't too busy but could see some tables were regulars so always a good sign!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carrie1877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaireadatPaddys, Owner at Paddy's Bar, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thanks a mil for taking the time to comment and thank you for your comments. We actively encourage feedback and love when we get positive comments. The 'no so positive' comments are very good too because it highlights for us where we can improve and there is always room for improvement. Glad to see you were in Portumna at the forest park and yes we agree it is underutilised. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    31
    12
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely late lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Set in the village of Terryglass, we went Paddy's Bar for a late lunch after a visit to Portumna Castle. Although late in the afternoon, the food was freshly cooked and piping hot. There was a good choice of home cooked food, some locally sourced. The service was excellent and the ambiance of this lovely old pub was delightful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TobyJess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“The food was fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I was there Sunday and had lunch.I had Vol-au-vent and beef both were fabulous! Well done to everyone.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeccaM6042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“atmospheric and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Great bar for a drink very friendly and helpful, for food however it is very much overshadowed by the pub next door.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank rustilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Arrived in Terryglass on the Tuesday after the Irish Bank Holiday, Bar not to busy, four of us vegetarian, the others meat eaters, We found the food average, I asked for half portions for three of the children who were eating the vegetarian pasta from the main menu, it was okay, when i asked for the bill, they had taken 2.25euro off each pasta dish. (not half price portions). Staff lovely, village lovely, prices very high.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paddy's Bar also viewed

Terryglass, County Tipperary
Portumna, County Galway
 
Nenagh, County Tipperary
Portumna, County Galway
 

Been to Paddy's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing