We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Duper...”
Review of Paddy's Bar

Paddy's Bar
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Terryglass
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$24
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Paddys is the centre of all activity in the area. First opened in 1829, it has been offering the best of Irish hospitality including great drink, superb food using local produce and the best of accommodation. We also offer advice to visitors on where to go and what to do.
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Super Duper...”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Hi. My husband and I visited this lovely area today. We had a superb lunch in Paddy's Bar. The food was mouthwatering. The staff are so lovely and helpful also. We walked along the Quay later and the sun shone on us. We had a wonderful afternoon. Well worth a visit and meal...Highly recommended away from the madding crowd...Sarah & Peter

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blueeyesIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddys Bar T, Owner at Paddy's Bar, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thanks a mil for your comments. You painted a great picture of Terryglass and we believe that's what we are about. Thank you for telling our story and call again - its still a great place in the rain !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    34
    12
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blacklick, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointed - I believe they forgot we were there”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We decided to go to this lovely setting restaurant with a family of 6. We went on a Wednesday night. It looked to be pretty busy with a lot of local town patrons. Service was not good and we had to wave our hands to get attention. The food was not memorable at all. I ordered chicken wings and they came to me looking over done (somewhat burnt). We probably should have tried the restaurant next door.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good wholesome food”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Had lunch here on holiday. Huge portions of very tasty food. Wholesome and filling. Good wine. Staff very attentive but not too much in your face.
Nice area to go for a walk after lunch.
Wasn't too busy but could see some tables were regulars so always a good sign!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carrie1877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaireadatPaddys, Owner at Paddy's Bar, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thanks a mil for taking the time to comment and thank you for your comments. We actively encourage feedback and love when we get positive comments. The 'no so positive' comments are very good too because it highlights for us where we can improve and there is always room for improvement. Glad to see you were in Portumna at the forest park and yes we agree it is underutilised. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely late lunch”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Set in the village of Terryglass, we went Paddy's Bar for a late lunch after a visit to Portumna Castle. Although late in the afternoon, the food was freshly cooked and piping hot. There was a good choice of home cooked food, some locally sourced. The service was excellent and the ambiance of this lovely old pub was delightful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TobyJess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“The food was fabulous”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I was there Sunday and had lunch.I had Vol-au-vent and beef both were fabulous! Well done to everyone.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeccaM6042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paddy's Bar also viewed

Terryglass, County Tipperary
Portumna, County Galway
 
Nenagh, County Tipperary
Portumna, County Galway
 
Portumna, County Galway
 

Been to Paddy's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing