We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the Hill”
Review of Landal Sonnenberg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Landal Sonnenberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We have just returned from a week at Leiwen and found it to be very enjoyable.

The bungalow slept 6 although there was just the two of us which gave us plenty of room. The park is constantly refurbishing bungalows and ours was a 'pre-refurb' which was reflected in the price. It had all mod cons - good kitchen, lounge, bathroom facilities and even a parking space and patio (with furniture). Our only issue was that our bungalow was in a hollow surrounded by trees...no direct sunlight after 3pm each day.

The park itself is at the top of a hill and and is always kept clean and tidy. The shop provided fresh milk, bread and rolls each day. I would say that the prices were 1 euro per item more expensive than the same item in a supermarket...and the nearest supermarket is in Leiwen town, around 2 miles down the hill.

The restaurant provides a good selection of food, wine and beer and the swimming pool, bowling and mini golf were very busy too.

The view from the park viewpoint is excellent and the shop provides food for the deer.

Room Tip: Do not follow your sat-nav to and from the Park as you may find yourself on forest tracks
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wanzebra2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
There are newer reviews for Landal Sonnenberg
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013

We had a lovely week at Landal Sonnenberg, we have never tried one of these parks or a European driving holiday before so this holiday turned out to be a great gamble!

Basically it is perfect for families with small children and every single member of the staff there were friendly and helpful despite us speaking no German at all.

We stayed as an RCI exchange and you pay an additional fee on arrival for towels and cleaning etc. We knew about this before we arrived though. The office was open fairly late and the check in process was easy.

The resort is a bit like a mini centre parcs which meant that it was suited perfectly for our 6 and 4 year old boys and very easy to get around. The park shop shut early most days but there is fresh bread and pastries each day.

The children loved the play area and we loved begin able to enjoy a wine or beer (in a glass!) while they played happily for at least an hour at a time. You can even eat in the restaurant or bowl in the bowling alley while the little ones roam freely between you and the play area. With a four year old who won't sit still, this made our holiday much more enjoyable. The pool again, is perfect for this age group but might get a bit boring for older kids.

We travelled around the area, it is close to Luxembourg and nearby town Trier and although these are not touristy areas there are some good historical areas to visit. We found a huge supermarket just as you drive into Trier where we could stock up on german beers!

We had a nice bungalow, plenty of space for 4 adults and 2 children although they are a little basic.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank katharineet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We went here for a family weekend. After a 3.5 hr drive from the Netherlands we arrived, got given some information and where asked to come back at 15.00 to pick up our keys. We where able to park our car next to our (8p) house, and unlike what is mentioned on the website there is room for 2 cars which is great.

We all liked our house. There where 4 bedrooms, each with 2 beds, and 2 bedrooms had a sink. Furthermore there was a bathroom with a shower, toilet and 2 sinks, and a separate toilet. The kitchen was fully equipped with microwave, oven, hob and dishwasher. Chairs at the dinnertable where comfy, the tv was flatscreen and we could see over the hills from the windows.

At the end of the park there is a dear meadow with a gorgeous view, you can pick up a box of dear food at the reception for 50 eurocent. The park also had a large indoor play area and a pool, which wasnt huge but big enough for us(and included an upside down sign on the wall :) ). It also had a small slide, fountains and a tiny rapid(not everything is on at once).

There is also midget golf, a football court, basketball court, miniclub and plenty of activities. My mother and I joined the sunday walk at 10.00 to go to a viewpoint, which was gorgeous. And the onsite supermarket provided fresh croissants/buns etc in the morning. We didn't eat at the restaurant but the drinks where good.

Also it was very quiet in the park, though we heard that most houses where filled it didn't really feel that way. That said it was rather cold so might feel busier in the summer with more people sitting outside.

The only negative thing was that you are on the top of a hill, and the place below isn't that big, so if you really want to visit anything outside the park you do need a car.

Language wise we got on fine using dutch and german, don't know about other languages.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IngeK73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

My family stayed here as a 7 day package. We were unaware that all that was provided was a place to stay. We were told if we needed more towels they cost extra, upon check-in there was a fee to pay for internet and cleaning, although no one cleans your bungalow until you check- out, additionally you are expected to sweep, take out trash and strip the bedding when you check out. The pool is relatively small and if you only plan to sleep here and travel around to the different cities to site see then this place is perfect, if not you may want to see what other hotels are available, however the views are beautiful and it is perfectly situated on the Mosel River.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tiggerifictoyota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend whilst doing a bit of travelling. We booked a mobile home. It was great - good living space and comfortable beds. The kitchen was fully equipped to self-cater. It is set in beautiful surroundings and there are lovely walks to be had and photographs to be taken. You need a car to get around. Make sure you bring towels! Don't pay for the wifi-it rarely works and when it does, it disconnects after a few minutes. On checking out, I informed the staff of the poor wifi and they gave a full refund. This place is ideal for families-lots for kids to do around the park and also a safe environment. Places to go - Trier, Bernkastel, Luxembourg and surrounding villages like Neumagen (lovely cafe called Dorfcafe on one of the corners) and Trittenheim.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Zimbabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

This place is in a beautiful mountain top over looking wine country at is best, close to Trier one of Germany’s oldest Roman city and very close to Luxemburg. On site you have a indoor swimming pool and a small convenience store with fresh bread (and beer) everyday except on Sundays. The staff specks very good English and are always willing to help. The bungalows are equip with 2 or 3 bedrooms and everything the kitchen has to offer. A must at a very good price.

Room Tip: bungalows will be your best bet for two or more
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank papo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Brenda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leiwen
2.0 mi away
Eurostrand Leiwen
Eurostrand Leiwen
#1 of 1 in Leiwen
42 reviews
10.7 mi away
Vital & Wellnesshotel zum Kurfuersten
Vital & Wellnesshotel zum Kurfue...
#1 of 24 in Bernkastel-Kues
881 reviews
10.8 mi away
Burgblick Hotel
Burgblick Hotel
#2 of 24 in Bernkastel-Kues
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Hugel
Hotel Villa Hugel
#1 of 49 in Trier
525 reviews
11.8 mi away
ibis Styles Trier
ibis Styles Trier
#2 of 49 in Trier
545 reviews
14.3 mi away
Moselschloesschen
Moselschloesschen
#1 of 11 in Traben-Trarbach
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landal Sonnenberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landal Sonnenberg

Address: 54340 Leiwen, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Leiwen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Leiwen
Price Range: £48 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Landal Sonnenberg 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Landal Sonnenberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing