We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room should be cleaner, 2* are ok for this Hotel”
Review of Hotel Friheden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Friheden
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Allinge
Monchengladbach, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Room should be cleaner, 2* are ok for this Hotel”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The Hotel is very simple, I think two stars would be a good judgement.
The indoor pool doesn't look inviting, the beach is across the street.
Shower has only plastic curtains (I really hate that) instead of glass doors and the bath room smelled bad (typical waste water smell).
Food is ok if you stay 2-3 days, after that it gets boring.
Wifi was ok and working.
The bead and mattress were young..some years ago.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeWeb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    25
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
18
36
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The rooms were ok but not that clean. And the daily cleaning didn't really exist. The food was ok but not great. The wellness spa was the worst I have ever been too, they had no idea at all how to give a massage and do any of the services. I ending up walking out of the services it was so bad, they had no experience and were not able to speak Danish or English barely at all which didn't help the situation.

Room Tip: The family rooms are very large with a nice deck but you are only allowed a certain amount of hot wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashley f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brokind
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We used this hotel as the base for a long weekend vacation on Bornholm. Very nice, helpful and knowledgeable staff that helped us with our questions on where to hike, bicycle or whatever. We did not choose a room with sea view but the balcony was still nice even if it was a bit cold to sit outside early in May when we were there. There are not that many restaurants close by so it could be a good idea to follow our example and book one of their packages with dinner included or to just use their restaurant anyway. The price difference is very small. The restaurant was very good and we did not regret having our evening meals there.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thoiry, France
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Very nice hotel. We had a nice large room, with bathroom, and partial view of the sea. Very friendly staff. Nice pool and sauna (...for a 3* hotel). Access to the sea is across a road. The hotel is still quiet. WiFi included.

Dinner was very good, wine list limited, but sufficient to survive a few days.

Ideas for improvement are related to the breakfast, which was otherwise ok: orange juice out of a machine, to be avoided. Scrambled eggs terrible.

In general we would go back to the hotel without hesitation, bring our own orange juice and eating the cooked eggs.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rudifrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

We stayed for one week at Friheden having found a 7 nights for 6 deal including breakfast. Before travel we had done exhaustive research and very nearly chose another hotel but for one negative review. Having travelled all over the island and seen some of the places we had considered we were so glad we chose this one. The room was very comfortable and the views from the balcony excellent. We could see Christianso and lots of ships including the Danish royal yacht. The breakfast buffet was excellent and the evening meal very good indeed although menu choice was a bit limited. All the staff we had contact with were charming and helpful. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Saloio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2008

Had chosen this hotel beacause of the seaview and spa facilities. Both were excellent. The hotel is by no means large, but has a cozy and intimate atmosphere. The room was large with wooden floors ans leather sofas. The breakfast buffet is second to none, and in fair weather you can take it outside at the terrase overlooking the Baltic sea. We hired bicycles at the hotel and went sightseeing in the hills behind the hotel. The forest Almindingen and the fortress of Hammershus are a must see !!
A last tip : Walk along the coast at the small pathway to the city of Allinge. All in all - a wonderful weekend

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank pwiuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allinge
8.9 mi away
Hotel Skovly
Hotel Skovly
#1 of 8 in Roenne
82 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Klippen
Hotel Klippen
#2 of 3 in Gudhjem
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Abildgaard
Hotel Abildgaard
#4 of 16 in Allinge
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Hotel Balka Sobad
Hotel Balka Sobad
#2 of 3 in Nexoe
33 reviews
12.5 mi away
Hotel GSH, Green Solution House
2.7 mi away
Pension Sandbogaard
Pension Sandbogaard
#2 of 16 in Allinge
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Friheden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Friheden

Property: Hotel Friheden
Address: Tejnvej 80, Allinge, Bornholm 3770, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Bornholm > Allinge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Allinge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Friheden 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Friheden is located in Bornholm, close to the sea, forest and activities. At Hotel Friheden we will do our utmost to make your holiday a memorable one. We will arrange everything according to your wishes: your travel, your stay and any events or excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Friheden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Friheden Allinge, Bornholm, Denmark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing