We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family retreat an hour from Dublin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wolseley Holiday Homes at Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tullow
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic family retreat an hour from Dublin”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My family and I spent 8 nights here in July and we all really enjoyed what Mount Wolseley had to offer for a young family. The house was a good sized 4 bedroom house with a full open plan downstairs that the kids loved. Outside the homes was very private and secure for the kids to play there.We've 3 kids with us under 6 years of age and they loved the outdoors playground and swimming pool in the leisure club. The swimming pool was a good size and the attached gym was the best equipped gym I've seen attached to a hotel complex.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, wifi was only available in the lobby of the hotel so that could be a good or bad thing for you depending which way you look at it.
I didn't get to play the golf course but it looked like a decent course, well maintained. The hotel too looked very nice and we ate there a couple of times.The food was nice, though nothing spectacular and reasonably priced in the bar at the hotel. The house had all the cooking and kitchen facilities we needed and with 3 young kids that was where we ate mainly.
We made a couple of day trips from the hotel to the beach and Glendalough but for the most part there was plenty on offer in the hotel grounds to keep the kids entertained. There was a kids club there also but our children preferred not to give us a break :-)
All in all, we found it to be a lovely relaxing place with great facilities especially for the price and would definitely return.
The only con was the wedding parties on the weekends could be a little loud at night at the rear of the house but with the windows closed you could block out most of the noise.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iona31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    20
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
33
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The setting is beautiful, the hotel looks fabulous. Unfortunately my stay was too short to experience the hotel facilities but I was impressed with what was available. The house was wonderful and had all the expected facilities. More than enough room for 5 of us. There were some cobwebs and the wifi was not available as advertised. Another minor issue was that not all the advertised TV channels were available but this was not a problem. The houses are a fair distance from Tullow but lovely and peaceful. Plenty of bathrooms too.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laganas2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Anyone who has any sort of negative comments about a family holiday in Mount Wolseley needs their heads examined big time!!! We just returned today after a week, staying in a family lodge, and other members of our family and friends from the UK had booked midweek into the hotel to join us. We arrived on Saturday to the most helpful receptionist (really sorry I didn't catch her name) but fantastic and couldn't be more helpful!!
On arriving at our lodge i was so delighted with EVERYTHING!!, as with some previous comments I was a bit apprehensive as to what it would be like.... It was sooooo spotlessly clean from top to bottom, and soooo well equipped. The grounds were so well maintained, and our gardens were even cut whilst we were there. We had 5 kids, two dogs and there was so much space for everyone. We live in quite a large house and this was the one thing I was worried about was space....well not anymore...these lodges are fantastic!!! Aarons bar was a delight, the menu and food was totally delicious and so very reasonable, and to finish off, we have to mention the kind staff in the bar, they made us feel like it was home from home from day one, the nicest kindest staff ever, only regret we have- is that we didn't make it down to say goodbye on the last night(Due to one of our wee solders feeling so unwell) :-( So to J.J and Mark, ye are more then barmen to us, ye are The best hosts Hotels can have, thank you Mount Woseley. xx

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janeen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had a family wedding here on Saturday 5th July. From the moment we all arrived at the hotel it was a fantastic experience. The check in was fast and very efficient . We sat down to dinner at 6pm approx ,150 people, and were greeted by very polite staff who could not do enough to make our day one to remember. After orders were taken ,starters were served promptly . The main course serving was one to remember . As I was at the top table with ten other people there was a procession of eleven staff members who served us all at exactly the same time ,quite impressive. The food , all of it starters,mains and dessert ,was of the highest standard . The service was also excellent especially Niamh who served us was very pleasant and professional.
A lot of the wedding party stayed on for a surprise party the next day and again the food was excellent.
The rooms are very comfortable and breakfast very substantial .
All in all a weekend to remember.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor looking over the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munster
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Went for 3 day break with 2 friends. After travelling from co cork and 4 hours shopping we arrived exhausted. Greeted by Tony who was excellent in dealing with cranky females, locking ourselves from our rooms and changing rooms he was the best! !, Thanks Tony. The food was fab, staff fab hotel comfortable+++ would love to return and high recommend to everyone well done to all a hidden jewel in co carlow.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seanchailleach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eire
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

As you drive up to the hotel it is an attractive modern take on georgian. The initial impression is very positive. The grounds are extensive, the conference rooms and banqueting area are large and quite opulent. However we ventured into the bar area for a coffee and it was clear that the room required a complete update, the furniture was worn and torn and in need of a clean in some cases, the area looked tired and in need of a face lift. We didn't see the bedrooms as we were there for a business meeting. There is a definite discepancy between this bar area and the standard that the hotel aspires to.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank CSTEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Houses are very spacious & clean and great for a weekend away with friends. We had 2 twin rooms, double room with en suite and a single room. There are 3 bathrooms including ensuite and a very spacious open plan kitchen/living room area.

You have the freedom to do your own thing and the hotel is only in short walking distance If you want to use the leisure & spa facilities or get a meal.
Hotel staff friendly!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tullow
0.4 mi away
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
9.6 mi away
Talbot Hotel Carlow
10.2 mi away
The Millrace Hotel
The Millrace Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bunclody
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
1,006 reviews
9.3 mi away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
8.9 mi away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolseley Holiday Homes at Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolseley Holiday Homes at Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club

Property: Wolseley Holiday Homes at Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club
Address: Ardattin Road, Tullow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Tullow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tullow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Wolseley Holiday Homes at Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolseley Holiday Homes At Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club Tullow, Ireland - County Carlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing