We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Sweet Stop in Wicklow”

The Chocolate Garden of Ireland
Ranked #3 of 9 things to do in Tullow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Handmade chocolate shop and ice-cream parlour. Visit, and make your own chocolate figure or book a workshop in advance, or just pop in for a tasty coffee with cake or one of our delicious ice-cream sundaes.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Iowa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A Sweet Stop in Wicklow”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stopped here during our drive from Dublin to Kilkenny. With a bit of advance planning, we were able to take part in a Chocolate Workshop where my girls learned about the history and different types of chocolate. While the chocolate tasting was fun, they really enjoyed the chance to make their own chocolate bears!

The shop has a cozy cafe where you can enjoy tea, coffee or hot chocolate, as well as chocolates, ice cream or biscuits (which are also made on the premises).

A large playground outside is great for the kids if they have been riding for a long time- or if they just need to run off the sweets before getting back in the car.

Definitely a fun stop for the entire family!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Irishgrl_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    20
    5
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Decadent chocolate and friendly”
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

Popped in for a quick coffee and spent nearly two hours coffee was great but cakes and chocolate to die for. Spoke to the owner about how the place came to be and who he supplied. Just great to see chocolate is do many great shapes Easter bunnies rugby balls handbags purses to name but a few. It was just pleasant lots of kids in the playground outside but a lovely place to be. Great for a break outside the norm.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jerhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“not great!!”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We visited there recently whilst staying in Tullow. We were in Rathwood and called in here as there situated next door to each other pretty much. We found it to be very expensive and not very interesting. Wouldn't recommend it!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank danny b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wicklow
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun fun fun”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Myself and my son who is 8 years old went here last saturday. I didnt know what to expect but i need not have worried, it was great, firstly when you enter the cafe the delicious smell of chocolate and coffee hits you along with the warmth of the room, the staff are very pleasant and efficient. We took part in the workshop and got to make a little chocolate bear and take it home :) the workshop was very good, it consisted of a short video explaining how chocolate is made etc and then Louise showed us the various types of chocolates and eggs they make and we got to sample a few chocolates too. it was a great day, well worth it and my son really enjoyed it too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank madmol7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We went for a chocolate workshop with the children over Easter. This was very good value for money and the children even learnt a bit about how chocolate is made. I have recommended this to friends and we will be going back again. All of the staff are very friendly and helpful. A lovely way to spend an afternoon with the family.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MelissaDonohoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Touristonthetrail, Owner at The Chocolate Garden of Ireland, responded to this review, 28 February 2016
Hi MelissaDonohoe, thank you for your great review. We appreciate that you took the time to complete a review and we are delighted that you enjoyed visiting us. We have recently installed a play tower so the children can have even more fun when they visit. Best wishes
Jim Healy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chocolate Garden of Ireland also viewed

Tullow, County Carlow
Tullow, County Carlow
 

Been to The Chocolate Garden of Ireland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing