We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Resort Tonicello
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Capo Vaticano
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We have already spent five great holidays at Tonicello and now are in the process of booking another one!!! Every element there perfectly supports relax, earlier with small children becoming now teenagers. Our kids can't imagine holidays without Tonicello. Rooms are super clean and completly equiped including aircondition. The staff is always very friendly, flexible and helpful. The hotel improves and develops its facilities every year but one thing does not change at all - the endless sunny weather. The nearby sandy beach is briliant with absolutelly clear and warm water. Among many other attractions the venue also offers a mini zoo and a large swimming pool with an amazing view on the see and the Stromboli volcano. And of course unbeatable Italian food and amazing atmosphere. Absolutelly must.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pawel12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

We have been to Tonicello Village from 28th July to 11th Aug 2012. I have been there with my wife and our two daughters (3 and 6 years old).

LOCATION: The location is amazing. The sea was really clean and the water 100% transparent and blue. The beach was well organised. Beach umbrella and dech chairs available for each family (but it's not possible to reserve them). The sand was thin near the umbrellas, and very little stones close to the sea. Near to the Tonicello's beach there is a Diving where is possible to rent boat (Gommoni and Pedalo') and organise dives as well. The beach is 100 meters from the village and there is a service of "glof car" that can be used to go to/from the beach. To go from the beach to the village and viceversa it take less than 2 minutes (checked with my crono).

FOOD: we opted for "mezza pensione" (half board). The quality of food is really good. Every evening there was a good choice of tipical "local" cousine and some standard food (good for kids). There is a good buffet where you can choose among many product coming from their farm. I really enjoyed the quality of the food and the attention to details that the chef used for every single food.

ROOMS: We had a standard apartment. It was clearly renewed recently. Lot of space (big rooms). Furniture quite basics but perfectly stored. Everything needed was available and in case of additional needs it was enough to ask to reception.

SWIMMING POOL: In the village there is a big swimming pool. The water is really hot. It is cleaned every morning. From the pool you can see one of the best sunset I have ever seen, with the sun diappearing behind the Stromboli vulcan.

BAR and MINI MARKET; Bar is ok. Only exception is that taste of the caffe espresso (but this is really my personal taste, other people find it lovely). Inside the MiniMarket (really Mini) you can find most of the needed staff for organising lunch or dinner. two or three times a week you can buy directy on the beach fruit, vegetables and fishes. Quite close to the Village (2 km) there are plenty of shops and markets

ANIMATION: It is good for kids. They don't insisit too much. In the afternoon (starting from 15.00) it's possible to leave your kids (from 4 years onwards) to the mini club and they organise different activities (including the amazing visit to the farm). In the evening from 21.30 to 22.00 all the kids enjoy the mini dance.

PEOPLE: I rarely met people like the owners of Tonicello. They have been always available for any kind of requests we asked. Every time they have done their best to make us happy and to satisfy our needs. One of the reasons of my 5 stars vote is coming from the passion and the attitude of the people working in Tonicello.

Final judgment: Calabria is one of the less touristic region in Italy, but they have amazing places. Tropea is really nice city. A visit to Stromboli is really easy. Renting a boat and visiting small beaches it' s also a must. A small village like Tonicello is really great place for families. It's not too noisy, it's not too crowded. It's a place where it's possible to enjoy some days relaxing, enjoying the sea,enjoying the food and ensuring also lot of fun to the kids.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Xx-_Mau_-xX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Our family was looking for a place to wind down from our busy Canadian lifestyle and we found it in Villagio Tonicello. From the warm and friendly staff to the incredible meals prepared by the hotel chef, our time there was great! Every effort was made to make our stay comfortable. The beach is some 200 meters down a hill but it was not an issue as there is a steady stream of golf carts taking guests to and from the sea. Great place for families, lots of activities and shows for kids. Property is extremely clean and well maintained. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robana4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2008

My family and I stayed at Villaggio Tonicello for two weeks in June. Needless to say I was apprehensive about the hotel being that there practically no reviews about the hotel online so I decided to go with my instinct and take a chance to book there. Being Italian, I have travelled to many parts of Italy but this would be my first stay in Calabria. The hotel turned out better than I expected. The staff was very helpful and friendly and tended to every concern or need that we had. They made our trip enjoyable and funfilled. I have two small children and they had a fantastic time as well. It was a bit of a walk to the train station but the kids learned to cope with it. The beaches were phenominal, although the water was still a little cold being the beginning of June. The hotel was clean and the food was exceptional. You felt like you were eating home cooked meals. There are two pizza parlours in walking distance and Tropea was a 3 minute train ride away with plenty of shops and sightseeing tours. The resort itself was an endless beauty of plants, trees and flowers. We had olive and banana trees in front of our room. The grounds were kept very clean.

We highly recommend this resort to anyone who wishes to visit Calabria and intend on returning in the near future.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Tina14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2008

We loved Tonicello. We my husband and I and our two daughters (7 & 4 years) went the last week of May 2008.The villaggio was very quiet at this time of year but we were told that the village gets much busier in the high season as the resort is very popular with the italians.
We booked the superior apartment and it was worth every penny. The beach was a stones throw from the village and had their own beachchairs. The sea and beach is very clean. The village itself is well maintained and clean as is the pool and surrounding areas. Maria the receptionist is a delight and gave excellent service, letting us check in early even though it was her lunch break( in low season check in isn't until 5pm).The bar/market is open in the morning and then closes for siesta opening in the evening.
The apartment was lovely well equipt with Sky TV, hob fridge freezer, remote control air-con in every room.
The apartment was serviced every day with clean towels. Beach towels were also provided.
The pool was big enough to swim properly in and there was a childrens pool also. The complex is ideally situated for the station which is walkable in about 10 mins where you can catch the train to Tropea and there are other restaurants and bars and a supermarket also within walking distance.
We found Tonicello perfect for a relaxing holiday at this time of year and would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank geronimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2008

We booked a four star hotel , it was infact a three star hotel.
I realised it was 'out' of season but:

Restaurant was closed
Reception Closed
Bar Closed
Pool Bar Closed
Shop Closed
All Advertised activities not available.

The 100m walk to the beach is down a very very very steep hill, not good for anyone with walking difficulties.

With that in mind we cooked our own food and the Pizza Restaurant along the road was great.

Maria at the hotel made the stay great but I would liked to have been warned that we were self catering not in a hotel.

Would like to back September whens its still suiet but all open.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank smaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2007

We two paid only 60 Euro per night, and we found it underpriced for this very new modern clean petite hotel, especially when we weren't required to stay for more than one night. The room had a self-catering kitchen facility and spacious balcony directly facing their tropical garden. If you plan on driving, we can totally recommend this wonderful hotel. Their location is not walking distance from a town/shop such as Tropea or Ricardi but kind of a little isolated. (About 10 minutes west from Tropea by driving, of course, you can take a taxi too) Around there, taxis aren't stand-by at a train station, unless you are lucky. Their hospitality was amazing and they created a beautiful breakfast buffet for us two for only 8 Euro per person in their very new and clean spacious restaurant area. The breakfast buffet was beautiful enough for us to think of it as having value of 18 Euro person instead. The stuff was exceptionally kind and helpful to help me confirm our next hotel by making a phone call to other hotel for us at night. This hotel has a tropical paradise looking garden and pretty pool (they don't have a heated pool or Jacuzzi), very close to a beach. They have a free wireless internet connection available for their guest if your laptop has the wireless card.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank raven_10099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capo Vaticano
0.8 mi away
Hotel  La Bussola
Hotel La Bussola
#1 of 20 in Capo Vaticano
1,038 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villaggio Il Gabbiano
Villaggio Il Gabbiano
#2 of 9 in San Nicolo
281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baia del Godano Resort & Spa
Baia del Godano Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Capo Vaticano
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villaggio Club Baia del Sole
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cala di Volpe
Hotel Cala di Volpe
#7 of 20 in Capo Vaticano
334 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Village Eden
Hotel Village Eden
#2 of 20 in Tropea
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Resort Tonicello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Resort Tonicello

Address: | Loc. Tonicello, 89865 Capo Vaticano, Ricadi, Italy (Formerly Villaggio Tonicello)
Region: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Ricadi > Capo Vaticano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Capo Vaticano
Price Range: £41 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Resort Tonicello 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Resort Tonicello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villaggio Tonicello Ricadi
Hotel Resort Tonicello Capo Vaticano, Calabria, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing