We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position but quite cool during June nights!”
Review of Desert Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Desert Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Udine, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great position but quite cool during June nights!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed there on our first Namibian night. The place is really well located, the room was huge and very clean. The only problem we had was due to the poor thermal insulation (we've been there in June so the night is quite cool) and to the absence of a heating system in the bungalow (there are additional blankets but outside the bed is still cool). BTW the position makes worth the staying here even if for that price the breakfast could be included!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Masa1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Desert Camp, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Masa,
Thank you for your review! Glad you liked our location and facilities. There are extra blankets provided in the room for extra warmth during the colder evenings.
Looking forward to welcome you back during your next visit to Namibia!
Best wishes,
The Desert Camp Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    150
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
95
234
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at Desert Camp for 2 nights in June. The room was large and comfortable. The location is perfect, it's just outside of the park. There is no heat or air-conditioning. It was very cold at night when we stayed. Extra blankets are provided and we used silk sleep sacks to stay warm. Warm water for showering is readily available. The bathrooms are not well lit and a flashlight is helpful if you need to use the facilities in the middle of the night.
Be sure to have the buffet dinner at it's sister lodging Soussusvlei Lodge, it may seem expensive but it's a bargain. An even better bargain is the Lodge's picnic basket breakfast to take into the park. It was our breakfast , lunch and dinner. Both the dinner and breakfast were delicious.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WFBTraveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Desert Camp, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear WFBTraveler3,
Thanks for your excellent review of your stay with us in June! Glad you liked our location, the buffet dinner at Sossusvlei Lodge and the breakfast picnic basket.
We are looking forward to welcome you back!
Best wishes,
The Desert Camp Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I was thoroughly impressed by Desert Camp. The location is good, just 3 mins away from the main park gate, and the rooms are good quality. One big plus, so many power points (rare in these types of accommodation). There was also free wifi that went out into the tented rooms - down the road at the more upmarket Sossus Dune Lodge, they don't have this.

One of the best things was the dinner - you pre-order and they bring you a braai pack so you can bbq as the sun sets over the mountain. I had oryx, kudu and eland, with some salad, and the meat was brilliant. A nice touch. Staff were helpful and friendly and rooms were clean. Wildlife was all around, jackals came right up to the braai and there were oryx roaming about 50-75 metres away.

If you can't get into the park - for the pre dawn departure to sossusvlei, then this would be my first choice outside of it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Desert Camp, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Ed,
Thank you for your fantastic review and kind compliments to our helpful and friendly staff! We are delighted that Desert Camp impressed you so much and that you liked our power points, wi-fi and the fresh food on order for the braai.
Looking forward to welcome you back during your next Namibia trip!
Best wishes,
The Desert Camp Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The Desert Camp is a facility that is owned by Sossusvlei Lodge just 3.3km from the National Park gates and the Lodge.
The staff are very friendly.
We got up early to get to the NP gates by opening time to beat the traffic. Well there wasn't much apart from 4 bus loads. The buses of course stopped at dune 45 on the way to Sossusvlei. We arrived at the dunes to find the early risers from the lodge and campsite within the Park already having walked up the dunes. Very few people there though.

The colours are magic in the morning and evening from Desert Camp. There is a walk or two from the Camp - we spotted springbok when we went out.

The braai / BBQ facilities are great. You can either use the one at your 'tent' or go to the communal one.

The tent has a very spacious bedroom with a couch, plus a huge shower area and separate toilet. A safe is in the room. The kitchen itself is outside. We enjoyed this was we had some local wildlife visit us - possibly jackal but maybe a fox. And other wildlife - we saw the footprints in the morning.

It does have a swimming pool but it was far to cold to jump in. One brave child did and he confirmed my thoughts.

A great stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mac59NewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Desert Camp, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Mac59,
Thanks for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us! Glad to hear you enjoyed our accommodation units, the braai and the local wildlife wandering around.
We are looking forward to welcome you back during your next visit to Namibia!
Best wishes,
The Desert Camp Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We wanted simple accommodation in the area and this fitted the bill perfectly. Accommodation is in tents but with some solid structure housing the excellent showers and wash facilities. The beds are comfortable and if it is too hot or cold there is reverse cycle air conditioning. Cooking facilities are basic in an outside cooking area. The tents look straight on to the desert with an ever changing backdrop of changing light on the mountains and wild animals such as oryx and jackals roam the area. WiFi is available at reception. The staff were friendly and helpful;.All in all this represented very good value.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OceanWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Desert Camp, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Oceanwanderer,
Thank you for your wonderful review of you desert experience! Glad you liked our tented structures, the shower and facilities we offer at Desert Camp.
We are looking forward to welcome you back!
Best wishes,
The Desert Camp Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The desert camp is located 4 km before the gate of the park, 5 min drive. Absolute stunning location and view, very nicely appointed chalets in tent style. Most highly recommended. Great service, view, chalet and the price is also reasonable for the location. The even have WiFi in the restaurant lobby area. And then Braai - Africans for BBQ: Every Chalet has it own BBQ installed on the veranda. In the afternoon you can order meat, wood, etc and they also give you a set of plates, pots etc if you are not on a camping trip. Advise: do not order too much since portions are huge. Had some excellent pork chops.....

Room Tip: any chalet is fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnskybeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Desert Camp, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Barnskybeat,
Thanks so much for your fantastic review!
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the location, the service you experienced, the WiFi and the Braai with the food you ordered.
Looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit to the Sossusvlei area!
Best wishes,
The Desert Camp Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
460 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This camp provides for a great desert experience. Part structure and part tent this is what I guess might be termed as glamping.

The buildings are spacious with comfortable twin beds, pushed together, a sofa and a large bathroom with walk in shower and plenty of hot water. We loved the attached outside kitchenette in its own canvas tent as well as the braai. You dont even need to take any provisions with you as you can order everything you need for a diy dinner and or breakfast from reception who will also supply the cooking utensils, pans, cutlery and a kettle FOC.

the camp also has a small (very cold) pool with half a dozen loungers for relaxation, a bar with reasonably priced drinks and cocktails for the perfect sundowner, and a central large braai area if you want to cook in a large group - there are about 20 of yhe 'tents' but they are well spaced and positioned for privacy.

if you dont want to self cater the sister lodge is only 5k up the road and their buffets are excellent.

Desert camp is also only 5k from the entrance to Sosussvlei and provides for the best value accommodation closest to the park. Highly recommended for both a great experience and value for money

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasmine101Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Desert Camp, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Jasmine,
Thank you for your wonderful review of your ‘glamping’ experience! Glad you enjoyed the privacy of our units and the fresh food supplies on order at reception.
We are looking forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Namibia!
Best wishes,
The Desert Camp Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sossusvlei
20.4 mi away
andBeyond Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
0.7 mi away
Desert Quiver Camp
Desert Quiver Camp
#2 of 12 in Sossusvlei
188 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sossusvlei Lodge
Sossusvlei Lodge
#2 of 9 in Sesriem
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge
0.0 mi away
Sossus Oasis Camp Site
Sossus Oasis Camp Site
#3 of 9 in Sesriem
284 reviews
13.7 mi away
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Camp

Property: Desert Camp
Address: Farm on D826 | Maltohöhe District, Sossusvlei, Namib-Naukluft Park, Namibia (Formerly Sossusvlei Desert Camp)
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Namib-Naukluft Park > Sossusvlei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Sossusvlei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desert Camp is situated only 5 km from the entrance gate to Sossusvlei and Sesriem Canyon in the Namib Naukluft Park. Nestled under centuries old thorn trees, Desert Camp offers an unsurpassed view over the desert landscape and surrounding mountains. The 20 affordable, self-catering accommodation units under canvas are equipped with an en-suite bathroom, shaded veranda with a fitted kitchenette, barbeque, power points and an adjacent parking area. Each twin-bedded bedroom features a fold-out sleeper couch where 2 small children (under 12) can be accommodated for free when sharing with their parents. Facilities at the main building include a fully stocked and serviced bar with big screen television, a sparkling swimming pool and 2 communal boma-areas which are perfect for groups travelling together. Fresh food supplies can be ordered daily at reception. Meals can be enjoyed at the nearby Sossusvlei Lodge restaurant. Exciting desert activities like Guided Excursions to Sossusvlei, Quad Biking, Sundowner Drives and magnificent Scenic Flights over the dunes and coast can be booked at the Sossusvlei Lodge Adventure Centre. A fully stocked shop, fuel and an Internet cafe is available at the Sossus Oasis Service Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Desert Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sossusvlei Desert Camp Hotel Sossusvlei
Desert Camp Namibia/Sossusvlei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing