We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique experience,”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sossusvlei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
KUANGUKUANGU - Luxury Cabin
Ranked #1 of 1 Sossusvlei B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Unique experience,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Although the comfortable cabin (of which there is just one) is only a 15 min walk (or 3 minute drive) from the main house at Barchan Dunes Retreat, you feel as if you are miles from anywhere. We liked the sense of isolation and tranquility from the moment we arrived. The cabin looks out over a flat valley of swaying yellow grass, surrounded by rocky hills - a beautiful view. The well designed open air bathroom area/shower/toilet is a unique feature (waist high walls), and we successfully heated the water tank (with a fire) for hot water showers. Instead of opting for dinner at the main house, we had a thoughtfully prepared braai pack, which was provided in a cooler box: beer, wine, meat, salad, cheese and biscuits - it was all delicious. Spacious bedroom with large floor to ceiling windows, very comfortable bed with good quality bed linen. We only had a one night stay here, but would definitely return and do some walks in the hills behind the cabin. We walked over to the main house at Barchan Dunes Retreat in the morning, delicious breakfast. This is a very unusual place to stay, but perfect if you're after peace and quiet and privacy - a truly memorable African experience. This was our favourite place in Namibia. Shortly after leaving here to get to Windhoek, the road goes via Spreetshoogte Pass - breathtaking views as you wind your way to the top of the mountain.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linda009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
31
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We absolutely loved our three night stay at Kuangu Kuangu - if you are looking for something a little bit different and complete romantic isolation, you couldn't stay anywhere better!

We ate with the owners at Barchan Dune on the first night and the meal was lovely and the company very enjoyable, drinks are included which is a very nice touch. We ordered the delicious braii packs for the second two nights and really enjoyed BBQing under the stars (but it is an idea to start the braii before sunset as the lighting isn't great).

The bed is super comfy but the sun does heat the room up very quickly in the morning - all you need to do is roll down one of the shutters a few inches and that solves the problem. The outdoor shower and loo have lovely views and although it is an idea to take a torch for using the loo during the night, we found the starlight completely adequate.

The view down the valley is incredible and even tho Barchan Dune is only half a mile away or so, it is completely hidden and you feel you have the whole valley to yourselves. Sunset on the mountains was absolutely stunning!

I couldn't recommend this place highly enough and am already looking forward to going back one day to this thoroughly magical place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

This is our second visit to Kuangukuangu. Kuangukuangu is in a very private
setting under a camel thorn tree.

We picked Sept. instead of Dec. because the weather was perfect.

From the moment you arrive you are treated like royalty but at the same time
you feel like you are in the middle of nowhere. Stunning views from the
cabin all 180 degrees of it with Gemsbok walking past you to the waterhole.
The food is 5 star with great wines (included if you book the dinner). The
farm drives with Willem as usual are really pleasant. We spend two full days
walking in the mountains behind the cabin. Truly an experience I will never
forget.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
316 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

We were so looking forward to our 2 night stay but it was a bit underwhelming. It is not luxury. Hot at night and no insect screens on main windows so not able to cool down. Not even any cushions for outdoor seats. Old tin table and fairly basic cooking facilities. The BBQ pack was good. There was no lighting on the eating area which they could not fix which made bbq difficult. There is limited lighting inside and no bedside lights (there are candles). The electricity went off completely on the first night and there is no torch so difficult to get outside for the toilet in the middle of the night. We had breakfast at Barchan Dunes which was good. We also had one evening meal there which was just ok (bit disappointing really) but did include drinks. Views pretty good but we would not return as too expensive for what it is. We would try elsewhere instead.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1plato23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O L, Propriétaire at KUANGUKUANGU - Luxury Cabin, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.
Our feeling is that this kind of accommodation is not the one you were looking for. Kuangukuangu is not a lodge, nor a hotel; this is a unique cabin in the middle of the desert. Nature and scenic countryside is the luxury we tried to emphasize when we imagined this place.

We had a look at the batteries and they work perfectly well - might be you didn't realise that you used too much power for the place? May be you tried to use a hair dryer, or any "high power" device? The outside table is new and has been replaced 4 months ago.

Nevertheless, we hope that you enjoyed your stay in Namibia.
All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

A cabin in the middle of nowhere, lost at the very end of a nice and green valley, on the ground of a nice guesthouse held by very nice people.

The silence, only the sound of nature, the kudus and zebras giving you a visit before sunset.

In this magnificent and very exclusive context, a very comfortable cabin, with hot water, outside shower and loo, and a kitchenette.

One should definitely order the braii pack. Delicious meat and salad, as well as wood and charcoal to make and enjoy your very own barbecue.

Also, a quick visit to the main guesthouse, located a mile away, will give you the opportunity to say hello to the pet suricate hanging around the premises.

We had a nice bottle of bubbly for our honeymoon.

A real must do!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winzouze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Namibia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

We stayed at Kuangu Kuangu in November. Loved the isolation from the world and the peace and tranquility. A truly unique destination with outdoor kitchen area and shower with a view to the incredible night skies built amongst the boulders. Would definitely consider a return visit but not in Summer - just TOO hot - and we're Namibians and used to the heat!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SavetheRhinoTrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O L, Propriétaire at KUANGUKUANGU - Luxury Cabin, responded to this review, 1 January 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are happy you enjoyed the place. You are right about the heat, which can be aproblem in summer if there is no wind to cool. We plan to build a second roof, that will protect the inside of the cabin from the heat in summer. All the best in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

My husband and I stayed in June, 2012 for three nights and we both highly recommend this romantic retreat. The cabin is lovely, Willem's gin and tonics are sublime, Hannetje's food is superb, the game is plentiful, and the company is delightful. Make sure you have at least one dinner at Barchan Dune, though Hannetje's brai packs are delicious, too.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GammyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sossusvlei
0.0 mi away
Hammerstein Lodge
Hammerstein Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sesriem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.0 mi away
andBeyond Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
0.0 mi away
Namib Naukluft Lodge
Namib Naukluft Lodge
#9 of 12 in Sossusvlei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moon Mountain Lodge
Moon Mountain Lodge
#6 of 12 in Sossusvlei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.0 mi away
Solitaire Desert Farm
Solitaire Desert Farm
#1 of 4 in Solitaire
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KUANGUKUANGU - Luxury Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KUANGUKUANGU - Luxury Cabin

Property: KUANGUKUANGU - Luxury Cabin
Address: Solitaire Naukluft, Sossusvlei, Namib-Naukluft Park na, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Namib-Naukluft Park > Sossusvlei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sossusvlei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your private lodge near NamibRand, Naukluft mountains and Sossusvlei. Your unshared accommodation in Namibia. The ideal place for those who prefer absolute isolation, privacy and exclusivity in Namibia.Situated in the peaceful solitude of an idyllic valley, in the heart of the desert, KuanguKuangu is the ideal place for travellers who seek tranquillity and intimacy. Nestled in a dune, KuanguKuangu makes it possible for its occupants to live in harmony with nature, at the same time offering them comfort, luxury, adventure and relaxation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
KUANGUKUANGU - Luxury Cabin Namibia/Sossusvlei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing