We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“&beyond Sossusvlei desert lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
andBeyond Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“&beyond Sossusvlei desert lodge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Outstanding outlook, great rooms and nice main lodge. Food was tasty and fresh and a good variety. Found it hard to enjoy the ambience as the staff noise often over took the common areas. Our guides knowledge was either lost in translation or he needs more knowledge. We learned more from the guide books and the information provided in the rooms. A more professional approach is needed.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldenjays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    33
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
69
164
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Vito, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Upon arrival from the air one looks down and wonders: what could possibly live in that environment? What astonishment to realize that from the exceptionally designed central lodge and bungalows of multi-colored granites from the nearby mountains, one can see game and birds: Plains Zebra, Black-backed Jackal, Aardwolf, Bat-eared Fox, Oryx, Common Ostrich and more. In term's of the guest's comfort, there is no detail that has been spared. The very spacious bedroom is staged three steps up from the lovely living room and terrace views, all in tastefully desert-toned fabrics. One could stay for days, weeks, even months appreciating the sky, sand, and silence. Finely stocked bar fridge and interesting snacks, though the food is so splendid in the restaurant that I never felt the need to even taste the snacks. The sense of solitude and expansiveness of the vistas are profoundly moving and somehow reassuring. The game drives were excellent with a guide who was knowledgable about every aspect of the ecosystem and history of the site. Our group of six enjoyed thoroughly the 5:30 am trip to the spectacular Sossusvlei dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park, and our photos reflect the grandeur of the red sand, wind-drawn curves and dark shadows of sunrise. Hot breakfast by the dunes: priceless. Incomparable experience that left me eager to return some day and learn more.

Room Tip: All Bungalows are situated to take advantage of the magnificent views, so none is better than the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

This was the highlight of our 3 week trip around Namibia. Each chalet is HUGE with a massive comfy bed, huge bathroom and a lovely patio on which to relax and view the game in front of you, all the while sipping from the inclusive well stocked bar fridge. The solitude was bliss. We stayed for 3 nights and each meal was expertly cooked. We are foodies and we could not fault any meal. Anna our butler was excellent and ensured we ate privately each evening. The last night she set us up at the pool surrounded by dozens of "jar lights". It was amazing. All staff we encountered were great - friendly but not too chummy or obsequious - just professional.

We had an exceptionally good time there. Highly recommended.

The lodge is a fair drive to the main Sossusvlei area to view the dunes, take scenic flights etc. But worth it.

Highly recommended too is the balloon safari. 1 hour in the air drifting then a great champagne breakfast in the middle of nowhere. Not a cheap excursion at N$4250 each - but great fun in a fantastic setting.

Room Tip: We were in room 1 - at the end - so whilst it is a fair walk to the main lodge it is also one of 2 c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike-Petra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benoni, South Africa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Visited the Lodge a couple of weeks ago, after a bumpy flight in a Cessna, from Windhoek, we arrived at the lodge. After a short drive up to the actual lodge, we were met with lovely cool wet towels and a delicious cool drink. We were told we had a butler, which we did not see once in the entire 3 nights, 4 days we were there ??? We even had to let ourselves in to our room and familiarise ourselves with the amenities. Beware, the carafe which I thought was water, is actually Vodka, great to take your headache pills with!!!! Our ranger Peter, was great, nothing too much to ask. the Astronomer was on leave, fortunately we had a friend with us who was quite knowledgeable, so he became the resident astronomer. The rooms were lovely, but there was a full moon whilst we were there, and not closing the blind to the stars, was an issue. It is incredibly hot there, even in May, so the aircon had to remain on, albeit noisy. The dunes were amazing, but challenging for the unfit and older person.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

It is an amazing place. The villas, scenery and management/staff. We have been there three times and never been disappointed . A perfect place just to wind down. Beautiful location, villas and scenery, I have rated the spa and fitness center due to and error, There is no spa and fitness center but it is nice to just do walk i nye desert and plunge down in the pool afterwards

Room Tip: Ask for the villas on the left hand side of the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trymes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
374 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

The villas that you stay in are lovely. The views and scenery from the villas and the lodge are spectacular overlooking the red dunes. The villas are large and there was plenty of room for our family of four (1.5 and 3.5 year old).
The drive to Deadvlei and Sossusvlei is about 45 mins. I recommend leaving for the morning session as you will get more time with the dunes and the lighting will be better. If you go in the afternoon by the time the sun starts to set to get the shadows and the really good pics you will need to race to make it out of the park on time.
The surrounding area of the lodge is gorgeous. Make sure to visit the petrified dune, it is a must. Preferably in the morning before it gets too hot.
We stayed four nights but three is more than enough to cover everything.
We liked George (guide) and Ruth (butler) was lovely.
I'm not giving 5 stars for two reasons. As you might have read in previous reviews the food is average at best. It gets pretty old after 4 days.
The other disappointment was the astronomer was on holiday while we were there. That is no fault of the lodge but the star gazing is amazing there and it would have been wonderful to participate with the astronomer if they had been there when we visited.
Also we stayed in Villa #10 and for those that don't care to walk this might be a bit far from the main lodge for you. We didn't mind as the kiddos liked finding "nature" along the walk to the lodge each day and night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iamarugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Perfect desert location for tranquility. Tented accommodation allows the feel of sleeping outdoors-rooms airconditioned.
Limited wi-fi in reception area.
Excellent buffet with meals prepared personally by chefs.
Easy access to visiting the dune field

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travellingirllz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sossusvlei
33.4 mi away
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
38.9 mi away
Desert Quiver Camp
Desert Quiver Camp
#2 of 12 in Sossusvlei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
36.9 mi away
Sossusvlei Lodge
Sossusvlei Lodge
#2 of 8 in Sesriem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
61.9 mi away
Moon Mountain Lodge
Moon Mountain Lodge
#6 of 12 in Sossusvlei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
65.1 mi away
Namib Naukluft Lodge
Namib Naukluft Lodge
#9 of 12 in Sossusvlei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
39.4 mi away
Desert Camp
Desert Camp
#4 of 12 in Sossusvlei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Sossusvlei Desert Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Property: andBeyond Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
Address: Sossusvlei, Sossusvlei, Namib-Naukluft Park, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Namib-Naukluft Park > Sossusvlei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Sossusvlei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — andBeyond Sossusvlei Desert Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by rugged mountains and the magical sand dunes of the Namib Desert, andBeyond Sossusvlei Desert Lodge is the ultimate escape. An oasis of peace and comfort in the midst of the world's oldest desert, the Lodge offers a cosy and comfortable refuge in the vastness of this strange and beautiful land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels and Agoda so you can book your andBeyond Sossusvlei Desert Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
&Beyond Sossusvlei Desert Hotel Namib-Naukluft Park
And Beyond Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
Sossusvlei Mountain Hotel
Sossusvlei Mountain Namib Desert
AndBeyond Sossusvlei Desert Lodge Namibia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing