We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Camp”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sossusvlei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wilderness Safaris Little Kulala
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Camp”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed at this exceptional and beautiful camp for two nights. The lodge has lovely design and super friendly and helpful staff. We had a wondering stay and sky bed idea is brilliant. The food was very good and they arranged a nice little private place for us on my bday, very attentive service. We highly recommend this for everyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ting S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    44
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
32
128
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Absolutely in love with the fabulous design of the lodge and its location—it's like on another planet. As if it was some film set. And so “romantic”, according to the girlfriend; the wind, the silence and night sky, just wonderful—it is in the middle of nowhere so there is almost no light pollution. We did the “sleeping under the stars” thing which was great—however after a busy day we fell asleep almost immediately (so much for the transcendental star gazing I had planned).

The day can get busy, we were taking a ton of photos and in between our guide kept us occupied with trips to the dunes (AMAZING) and other activities. They are just great by the way, the guides are flexible with time and helpful and knowledgeable.

Super food and wine, service tiny bit uneven (either too much attention or not enough), but we didn’t think it was in any way a problem. Maybe they were trying too much as I think at the time the main manager was away. Again, it didn't matter. Ah, yes—arrival was unusual as they thought we were to fly-in but we arrived by car and they didn't expect us… so no waiting with the wet towels business etc. Maybe we are weird as we actually liked it. It was funny.

I suppose it’s a bit expensive, but then it’s an all-inclusive basis.

Like whole of Namibia, Little Kulala is a desert treasure: just a beautiful place. I am uploading few photos from the place to tripadvisor, but have a lot more here:
http://www.travelplusstyle.com/in-our-lens/photos-by-ts-little-kulala

Room Tip: Closer to the main lodge—the heat of the day and wind can make it a bit of a trek from the farther-p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

perfect spot for short stay. The tent is more like a room and it's great to have a bbq at your own place with a perfect view. I should recommend this place just for one or two nights during visiting the Vlei. Leave very early in the morning for your visit to the vlei!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juudatnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The arriving was not optimal, the manager was not accurat enough. She forgot some things and despite she write the diatery specials, nobody of the waiters and staff was informed. The first two days we must every time telling about our diatery and at the thirth day the bevery manager changed it. Now the food was perfect, Thank You!
The rooms are very clean and comfortable also our guide Callie was a 100% expierenced and professionally man.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miephansnetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Little Kulala, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Miephansnetherlands,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Little Kulala. we are glad to hear you had a good time with us.

As for the confusion with your dietary requirements we apologise for the inconvenience this caused you. We do pride ourselves in meeting our guests every need but unfortunately there is sometimes a slip up. We have had a discussion with our management team and service staff to pay closer attention to this information. We are also currently refreshing the training of our reservations staff to ensure that all this information is collected prior to the guests arrival.

We are glad this was eventually rectified for you.
The Little Kulala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Private huts with own pool, you can sleep on top of it, if you want! Unbelievable star viewing at night. Great tours to the dunes. Attentive service. Outside dinner with a great variety of fine food. We loved it very much!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesmJ5367RW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This was our first trip to Little Kulala, and I was pleasantly surprised when our plane landed at the airstrip. The scenery is stunning. I was quite overwhelmed with it.

We were met by our guide Alpha, who was a most knowledgeable and informative young man. He was patient and friendly and eager to share his knowledge with his guests.

The camp itself is beautiful. The food is wonderful and the staff were just great. Our room was very comfortable. There was plenty space and wonderful views. We particularly like to watch the animals heading along to the waterhole just opposite the main building.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShadeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The decor is understated and perfectly judged. We received a warm and informative welcome and our room was above and beyond what we had expected. The air conditioning - while not overly powerful - just took the edge of the intense heat in January and was appreciated. The staff were without exception absolutely delightful and the food was outstanding - the best we had on a 2 week drive around Namibia.
We stayed for 5 days which seemed to surprise a lot of people, but the ambience and views made it a perfect place to relax during our whistle stop tour of Namibia. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beauboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Little Kulala, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Beauboy,

Thank you for the wonderful review you posted for Little Kulala. We are delighted that you had such an amazing experience and further thrilled that we could help make it so special for you.

We look forward to hosting you again.
The Little Kulala Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sossusvlei
13.6 mi away
andBeyond Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
5.5 mi away
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
10.4 mi away
Desert Quiver Camp
Desert Quiver Camp
#2 of 12 in Sossusvlei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Sossusvlei Lodge
Sossusvlei Lodge
#2 of 8 in Sesriem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
38.3 mi away
Moon Mountain Lodge
Moon Mountain Lodge
#7 of 12 in Sossusvlei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
10.7 mi away
Desert Camp
Desert Camp
#4 of 12 in Sossusvlei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Safaris Little Kulala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris Little Kulala

Property: Wilderness Safaris Little Kulala
Address: Sossusvlei - Kulala Wilderness Reserve, Sossusvlei, Namib-Naukluft Park, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Namib-Naukluft Park > Sossusvlei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Sossusvlei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Wilderness Safaris Little Kulala 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest luxury camp to the remarkable Sossusvlei dunes, Little Kulala's exquisite fittings, pastel tones and use of natural light merge into the timeless desert landscape. Aside from excursions to the dunes, the unadorned beauty of the Namib is explored via game drives and walks on Kulala Wilderness Reserve, providing sightings of desertadapted wildlife and plants, from ungainly ostrich to charismatic bat-eared fox. Scenic sundowners take in awe-inspiring views that stretch endlessly to a distant horizon, while a "star-bed" offers slumber under some of Africa's clearest skies. • 11 rooms (1 family) • nature drives and walks • Sossusvlei excursion (via private gate) • Sesriem visit • sleep out deck • quad biking • massage treatments • hot air balloon ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Little Kulala Hotel Sossusvlei
Wilderness Safaris Little Kulala Namibia/Sossusvlei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing