We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
217 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

The staff were so friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfy and the views wonderful. It was very hot in the afternoons, but cooled down as soon as the sun set. The swimming pool was also a plus. Watching ores, springbok, and more from our deck was priceless. They really should add wi fi. One computer for the whole camp was not good enough, and wi fi is easy enough to do now.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Handywoman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    132
    25
    15
    4
See reviews for
65
195
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

I have stayed in many lodges in Africa and the Kulala Lodge ranks at the top. We arrived late as we were lost, but were greeted warmly and felt at home from the start. The tour we arranged to see the sand dunes was professionally conducted by Michael and was so enjoyable. The food was great and the room spectacular. One night at dinner the staff entertained us with songs and dances. The great staff always said hello and smiled.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonutDollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Many thanks for the wonderful feedback on Kulala Desert Lodge – we shall certainly ensure that all the staff get to see this lovely feedback and will congratulate them on their success in hosting you. It is important to us that guests are always warmly welcomed into our lodges, and this is achieved by the ready smiles of all our fantastic staff who have a genuine passion for the places they work in, and for ensuring your stay is an exceptional one. We hope to see you back in Namibia in the near future.
From the Kulala Desert Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

What a beautiful location with views of dunes available everywhere you look. We were treated to changing landscapes throughout the day and at sunset. Our accomodations were comfortable with a great porch and the option of sleeping outside on a rooftop area. We saw oryx, Cape fox, ostrich and springbok from our tent. The camp offers a quick entrance to the dunes of Sossussvlei and pleasant sunset drives in the private Kulala Wilderness Reserve with knowledgeable guides. We found the food enjoyable and the staff pleasant. The larger camp does not accomodate meeting other guests as easily as in some of the smaller camps we visited, but this location is all about appreciating Namibia's beautiful landscape.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We were warmly welcomed on arrival. Most of the staff were excellent. This is all about location, location, and one certainly felt a peacefulness all around. The tents were well appointed and clean. The ice water was very welcome in the flask. The down fall of this place was the food. It was the worst of our whole 5 weeks in Africa and also the last place that we stayed. One does not go to this part of the world for the food, I know that, but if you do not mind egg shell in your omlette along with raw mushrooms, yoghurt at room temperature and cheese that is curled up around the edges, you will be alright. However I must give credit that the salads at lunch time and dinner were nice and fresh. Everest our guide and driver was excellent - very professional and certainly gave his guests and enjoyable time with his knowledge and humour. Petronella, Stella and Kenneth were also wonderful on the ground at the Lodge. The last evening we were there the staff after dinner gave the guest a wonderful concert of singing and dancing which was enjoyed by everyone.

Room Tip: The tents are very spread out across rocky ground, so if you need to be close by to the main Lodge a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Meredith95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Merideth95, Many thanks for the feedback on your experience at Kulala Desert Lodge – we are delighted that overall you had an excellent stay there as it is a very special place in an extraordinary environment.
We are, of course, very disappointed that you were underwhelmed by your breakfast meals and we are looking seriously into your comments – the points you mention are not the standard to which we aspire and our Food Experience Manager will be addressing these with the camp.
Thank you very much for so constructively highlighting this area of our delivery as needing further attention and please be assured we shall be following up accordingly.
The Team at Kulala Desert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

From the moment we landed in Windhoek we were in the capable hands of Wilderness Safaris. A 1.5 hour flight and you land at the airstrip and 20 mins by car you are at the lodge. The rooms are setup as permanent tents with a smallish but adequate bathroom with an outside porch and upstairs viewing platform/ sleeping area. Reading through some of the past reviews there have been issues with the management, staff and general food. I raised this with Wilderness before travelling and was assured that they have put in a huge effort to overcome this. And it has paid off - the staff and management are attentive and the food was overall good. The lodge has a very relaxed feel and whatever you want they are willing to accommodate you. In the afternoon a welcome break from the heat a dip in the pool - some of the pics in other reviews are of the old pool.

An important point to consider when booking in Sossusvlei is proximity to the dunes. Kulala Desert Lodge is close by and you enter through a separate gate. This means the trip is reduced significantly. If you are coming through the main gate it is a 65km drive to Dead Vlei. You can only enter the park at sunrise and need to leave before sunset so don't expect to be capturing the initial sunrise or full sunset over the dunes. However, this is not a real problem.

The dunes are spectacular, you will not be disappointed. If you are fit I would suggest going up Big Daddy. Our guide drove us straight past Dune 45 and we were the first to climb Big Daddy (which is a bigger challenge that 45). You can then descend into Dead Vlei and walk out where the masses enter. Big Mamma is also good to climb and less crowded. When climbing 45 keep going where the majority stop,continuing up to the top of the next peak. From there is a view of a different landscape where the sand is more brown. Also, a trip to Sesriem canyon (at the entrance to the park) is worth it to see a completely different landscape.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stofmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

This is a medium-sized resort with some 25 bungalows. It is situated close to the Dunes with a perfect view on the sun-set in the evenings. Best to enjoy it on the terrace with a nice sundowner.
The individual bungalows are kind of special. Half the walls are made of concrete, the upper half of canvas - this is probably a good solution with warm temperatures. There is also the possibility to go up to the roof and sleep up there (not in July though).
In the main house there is the restaurant, a bar and several places to relax.
In the afternoon a little snack, coffee and tee are offered. Breakfast and food were good.
After dinner the personnel - almost all of them, from the ranger to the kitchen-aid - gave us a presentation of native songs, really enjoyable.
There is a private gate to the National Park - but, unfortunately, this is reserved for tours only (I think Wilderness Safari), all others have to drive up to Sesriem and then drive down again - some extra 60 kms. On the other hand, paying ab. NAM $ 970,- p.p. for the tour seemed a bit too much. So we had to get up even earlier to be at the gate at 6.20 am., sun-rise. Shortly after, just before dune 345, we saw the people from the lodge who had booked the tour.
Kulala Desert Lodge is very oeco-minded - you even should save the first cold water in a bucket when you take a hot shower! On the other hand, they offer excursions with quads - in the afternoon for a sundowner and in the morning at about 7 o'clock. Great to wake up on the roar of a quad - that is a little minus.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Although it's a pain to crawl the 14 kilometres from the entrance to the lodge itself we found a warm welcome and the view from our room was incredible, although it was too cold to go for the option of sleeping on the roof! The drive into the dunes was fantastic with our excellent guide Stephanis, ending in breakfast at Sossusvlei itself.
The rooms, which are static tents attached to permanent bathroom areas are large and comfortable with excellent showers. You are also asked to save the cold run off before your shower gets hot in a bucket for the cleaners to save on water, a brilliant piece of eco friendliness!
The main lodge overlooks a waterhole and the bush with the dunes beyond and has a small bar and a lovely fireplace.Food is good, mainly on a buffet basis and staff are enthusiastic and cheerful. Overall a really pleasant experience.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinS57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sossusvlei
36.7 mi away
andBeyond Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
2.5 mi away
Desert Quiver Camp
Desert Quiver Camp
#2 of 12 in Sossusvlei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
13.6 mi away
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sossusvlei Lodge
Sossusvlei Lodge
#2 of 8 in Sesriem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
28.9 mi away
Moon Mountain Lodge
Moon Mountain Lodge
#6 of 12 in Sossusvlei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
33.8 mi away
Namib Naukluft Lodge
Namib Naukluft Lodge
#9 of 12 in Sossusvlei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge

Property: Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge
Address: Sossusvlei - Kulala Wilderness Reserve, Sossusvlei, Namib-Naukluft Park, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Namib-Naukluft Park > Sossusvlei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Sossusvlei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With vistas directly onto majestic red dunes, Kulala Desert Lodge is the closest location to Sossusvlei, and perhaps the lodge with the most spectacular views. The lodge's accessibility, and its large, friendly lounge and dining area with wrap-around veranda make this oasis in the desert perfect for families and friends. Visits to the dunes and vleis of Sossusvlei are highlights, along with fascinating desert wildlife and the overwhelming magnitude, and sense of adventure on the Kulala Wilderness Reserve. • 23 kulalas (3 family) • nature drives and walks • Sossusvlei excursion (via private gate) • Sesriem visit • sleep out deck • horse riding • hot air balloon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and South African Hotels so you can book your Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kulala Desert Hotel Namib-Naukluft Park
Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge Namibia/Sossusvlei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing