We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Agree completly with Gilly17!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Groningen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Agree completly with Gilly17!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

Having read the some of the stories on TripAdvisor about Kulala lodge one hopes that the best stories are the truth. Unfortunatly the opposite was the truth. Gilly17 was completly right!! The staff from the restaurant was really awfull and had a complete desinterest in anything that involves guests!! Too lazy to work, too brutal to believe, laughing and talking behind your back about a physical handicap! Asking for cold yoghurt, they just keep on chewing gum like a cow, telling you that it is to much too ask for. Unfortunatly some people can understand your language, can understand all the very bad "jokes" during, the indeed, awfull diner. The place is situated great, has lots of potention but the management should start with "dismissing" most of the restaurant staff!!!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank maria0031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Maria0031, thank you so much for your post. We are sorry to hear that certain aspects of your stay at Kulala Desert Lodge fell short of your expectations and it is very distressing to hear indeed. All the concerns you make mention of, have been brought to the attention of the Chief Executive Officer (C.E.O.) for Namibia and he would like to convey his most sincere apologies for the unacceptable experiences you had at the lodge.

Such staff behaviour as you mention, is not permitted or tolerated in any of the lodges across the Wilderness Group. To hear that this is happening at Kulala Desert Lodge in very concerning, and the CEO will take every step possible to ensure that this is rectified with immediate effect. Please accept our sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    132
    25
    15
    4
See reviews for
65
195
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

.... Friendly & efficient staff
Good & knowledgeable rangers
Unfortunately entry to Sossusvlei is not possible before sunrise anymore. Good for nature, not so for the tourist. Still a sight well worth the journey.

Room Tip: Some of the tents are pretty far from the lodge, that may be good for some (seeking peace) not so fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Teja v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltyedamame
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We only had one night at Kulala as we passed through on a busy itinerary, and the two days surrounding it were quite busy so I was sad not to have more time to enjoy this gem of a lodge.

It had a large an beautifully decorated communal area with lots of open air seating. It also has more cabins / rooms than most of the lodges and was able to accommodate our larger group.

The service, comfort and cleanliness were all terrific. I particularly enjoyed the option to sleep on the upstairs patio under the stars.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank saltyedamame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Wilderness thanks you for your lovely feedback on Kulala Desert Lodge. It is indeed a very special place set in a unique and breath taking environment. Without question, sleeping under the desert sky is an opportunity not to be missed - the stars above are unlike anything many people will encounter in a lifetime; it is our aim to bring these experiences to you so that you may enjoy them in your memories far into the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
217 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

The staff were so friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfy and the views wonderful. It was very hot in the afternoons, but cooled down as soon as the sun set. The swimming pool was also a plus. Watching ores, springbok, and more from our deck was priceless. They really should add wi fi. One computer for the whole camp was not good enough, and wi fi is easy enough to do now.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Handywoman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

I have stayed in many lodges in Africa and the Kulala Lodge ranks at the top. We arrived late as we were lost, but were greeted warmly and felt at home from the start. The tour we arranged to see the sand dunes was professionally conducted by Michael and was so enjoyable. The food was great and the room spectacular. One night at dinner the staff entertained us with songs and dances. The great staff always said hello and smiled.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonutDollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Many thanks for the wonderful feedback on Kulala Desert Lodge – we shall certainly ensure that all the staff get to see this lovely feedback and will congratulate them on their success in hosting you. It is important to us that guests are always warmly welcomed into our lodges, and this is achieved by the ready smiles of all our fantastic staff who have a genuine passion for the places they work in, and for ensuring your stay is an exceptional one. We hope to see you back in Namibia in the near future.
From the Kulala Desert Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

What a beautiful location with views of dunes available everywhere you look. We were treated to changing landscapes throughout the day and at sunset. Our accomodations were comfortable with a great porch and the option of sleeping outside on a rooftop area. We saw oryx, Cape fox, ostrich and springbok from our tent. The camp offers a quick entrance to the dunes of Sossussvlei and pleasant sunset drives in the private Kulala Wilderness Reserve with knowledgeable guides. We found the food enjoyable and the staff pleasant. The larger camp does not accomodate meeting other guests as easily as in some of the smaller camps we visited, but this location is all about appreciating Namibia's beautiful landscape.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We were warmly welcomed on arrival. Most of the staff were excellent. This is all about location, location, and one certainly felt a peacefulness all around. The tents were well appointed and clean. The ice water was very welcome in the flask. The down fall of this place was the food. It was the worst of our whole 5 weeks in Africa and also the last place that we stayed. One does not go to this part of the world for the food, I know that, but if you do not mind egg shell in your omlette along with raw mushrooms, yoghurt at room temperature and cheese that is curled up around the edges, you will be alright. However I must give credit that the salads at lunch time and dinner were nice and fresh. Everest our guide and driver was excellent - very professional and certainly gave his guests and enjoyable time with his knowledge and humour. Petronella, Stella and Kenneth were also wonderful on the ground at the Lodge. The last evening we were there the staff after dinner gave the guest a wonderful concert of singing and dancing which was enjoyed by everyone.

Room Tip: The tents are very spread out across rocky ground, so if you need to be close by to the main Lodge a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Meredith95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Merideth95, Many thanks for the feedback on your experience at Kulala Desert Lodge – we are delighted that overall you had an excellent stay there as it is a very special place in an extraordinary environment.
We are, of course, very disappointed that you were underwhelmed by your breakfast meals and we are looking seriously into your comments – the points you mention are not the standard to which we aspire and our Food Experience Manager will be addressing these with the camp.
Thank you very much for so constructively highlighting this area of our delivery as needing further attention and please be assured we shall be following up accordingly.
The Team at Kulala Desert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sossusvlei
36.7 mi away
andBeyond Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
2.5 mi away
Desert Quiver Camp
Desert Quiver Camp
#2 of 12 in Sossusvlei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
13.6 mi away
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sossusvlei Lodge
Sossusvlei Lodge
#2 of 8 in Sesriem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
28.9 mi away
Moon Mountain Lodge
Moon Mountain Lodge
#6 of 12 in Sossusvlei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
33.8 mi away
Namib Naukluft Lodge
Namib Naukluft Lodge
#9 of 12 in Sossusvlei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge

Property: Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge
Address: Sossusvlei - Kulala Wilderness Reserve, Sossusvlei, Namib-Naukluft Park, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Namib-Naukluft Park > Sossusvlei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Sossusvlei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With vistas directly onto majestic red dunes, Kulala Desert Lodge is the closest location to Sossusvlei, and perhaps the lodge with the most spectacular views. The lodge's accessibility, and its large, friendly lounge and dining area with wrap-around veranda make this oasis in the desert perfect for families and friends. Visits to the dunes and vleis of Sossusvlei are highlights, along with fascinating desert wildlife and the overwhelming magnitude, and sense of adventure on the Kulala Wilderness Reserve. • 23 kulalas (3 family) • nature drives and walks • Sossusvlei excursion (via private gate) • Sesriem visit • sleep out deck • horse riding • hot air balloon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and South African Hotels so you can book your Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kulala Desert Hotel Namib-Naukluft Park
Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge Namibia/Sossusvlei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing