We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fata Morgana Studios & Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fata Morgana Studios & Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Graz, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

we absolutely loved our stay. it is a calm place with incredible views and plenty of options for excursions for nature-loving people. very good local food at the beachside restaurant. the beach is absolutely amazing. the whole team was so lovely too. it was a superb stay - our first time - and I understand why people are coming back year after year. tip:you can rent your car directly with them.

Room Tip: apartments on the first floor have a better view. i add a pic taken from our balcony:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alex d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    22
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
49
47
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Many thanks to our hosts who were extremely helpful and friendly.
Very nice rooms, beautiful olive trees, gorgeous sea view and perfect sandy beach for small kids especially. The only problem we faced was long way from Heraklion and sometimes wind which can be not too comfortable on the sand beach. But crystall clear sea and perfect accomodation is worth everything :-)
Car rental service is also very comfortable.
Anna, Michael and Maria

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linz, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Excellent and friendly service together with the extraordinary location makes this the perfect holiday destination for us. The olive trees are beautiful and let the buildings look smaller, which adds to feeling at home.
A good addition is the car rental service that the family started this year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sisteron, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We highly appreciated our stay: the friendly atmosphère, the beauty of the place, the surrounding, the beach, the appartment, for calm and resourcing holidays
We think that the name of the place "paradiso" is perfectly adequate

Beautiful view on the sea side from the spadeful balcony which make the apartment larger and open to the sky : to stand in early morning, for breakfast and at night to look at the stars. ..

Leila and Laurent

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We like this friendly place with its olive trees and the well situated appartments so much. This is why we have been coming back every year for five years now.
The food in the restaurant is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hellfried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We have found the dream destination in Fata Morgana. Why? The property is in a relatively remote area and that explain its serenity and secluded feeling. The accommodation is far from luxurious but we had everything we needed and more. The only possible problem was about the quite hard mattress.

We loved the amazing location just few steps away from a post-card beach, in the middle of an olive grove where the only sound you hear are the birds' one. The property is owned and managed by the Papadakis family and every one of them is genuinely charming and sweet. We didn't feel like costumers but rather like family guests. We will never forget the excellent meals in their taverna, overlooking the Libyan sea. Everything was just great and one can imagine staying there for months! We really hope to come back soon!

Room Tip: The towers are very romantic but not suitable if you have mobility problems due to the very steep st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gianluca70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We had a fantastic holiday here but there is virtually no information on the website and no guidelines when you arrive, so I have tried to fill in the gaps below.
Owners are hands-on and very friendly and welcoming.
Location is in the middle of the owners olive grove. Very simple but well done. No pool, gym etc. We had a one-bedroom apartment and it was very clean and spacious; cleaned 3 times per week. Has aircon and ceiling fans, plus fly-screens on the patio doors, so getting the correct temperature and ventilation is not a problem. Small, simple bathroom - no shower curtain but that wasn't a problem for us. Good fridge but no toaster or grill. Also no hairdryer so remember to pack your own if you need one. There is a TV but very few channels and almost no English content. There were no ironing facilities and I don't think the site has a washing machine. Free wi-fi but signal is weak and suffers from drop-out so don't expect to conduct your business from there.
Location is fabulous overlooking the Libyan Sea. Direct access to a lovely beach which has 3 fairly clear sections; family, family with topless, naturist. However, the beach can get very windy so be prepared.
The site has its own taverna shared with the property next door - meals were very local, simple, very good and very reasonably priced. But don't expect to be able to buy a hearty English breakfast.
Be prepared to pay for your accommodation in cash; credit cards are not welcome. That goes for just about everywhere in the Sfakia region. We did manage to pay for the hire car and fuel in Chania with credit card though. No cash machines in Frangokastello but 2 in Chora Sfakia about 15km, 30 minutes' drive away (yes it really does take take 30 minutes to do that 15 km!).
If you haven't been to this region before, the drive from Chania is about 2 hours (and the signposting is not great) and about 3 hours or more from Heraklion.
For us, it's a great area for walking, especially the gorges which you should investigate before you travel. However, I was surprised to find that there was no obvious way of booking a day trip to the Samaria Gorge either from Frangokastello or Chora Sfakia. The other fabulous walk is from Chora Sfakia to Loutro, returning by boat - again, look into it before you travel.
If you want a simple, quiet holiday in a fabulous location, I can wholeheartedly recommend Fata Morgana.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dreamsandschemes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frangokastello
6.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Lefka Ori
6.3 mi away
Livikon Hotel
Livikon Hotel
#3 of 3 in Sfakia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradisos Studios & Apartments
Paradisos Studios & Apartments
#1 of 17 in Frangokastello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kallicrates Village
Kallicrates Village
#1 of 6 in Frangokastello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maria's Studios
Maria's Studios
#3 of 6 in Frangokastello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
1.1 mi away
Oasis Apartments
Oasis Apartments
#5 of 17 in Frangokastello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fata Morgana Studios & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fata Morgana Studios & Apartments

Property: Fata Morgana Studios & Apartments
Address: Frangokastello, Sfakia, Crete 73011, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Sfakia > Frangokastello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Frangokastello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Fata Morgana Studios & Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fata Morgana, built in an area of 40.000 m2 with olive-trees, over Orthi Ammos beach, is the ideal place for your relaxing holidays. In the enclosed area your children can play and move around carefree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Fata Morgana Studios & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fata Morgana Studios & Apartments Frangokastello, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing