We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really delicious food in a comfortable historic hotel”
Review of Hotel Schoen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Schoen
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Assmannshausen
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Hotel Schön has been lovingly maintained and thoughtfully updated with modern bathrooms, flat-screen televisions and other conveniences. We noticed tour package group members who had been pre-booked in a larger nearby hotels having dinner here and saying this was the best food they had eaten in Europe.

Travelling north in the Rhine Valley Oct 22 we back-tracked a number of kilometers down to road, past other hotels to Hotel Schön. To our eye an 1890 style building restored as if newly built. We later learned the hotel is far older. The patriarch told us it has been an inn and vineyard run by his family for ten generations. He modestly said it was not a great hotel, but was a very good hotel.

We were greeted by a charming woman who showed us a spacious room overlooking the Rhine River with a deck, which some of the rooms have. Dinner of chicken in a red wine sauce and our very helpful waiter made us very sorry we were not staying for a week, or at least another day to try the sauerbraten. Seriously good value for money.

Downsides? The Hotel Schön does not offer wi-fi for guests.

Tip of the Day: Vodafone, Fonic or Telekom all offer pre-paid sims for your mobile phone which provide your laptop with a gb or more of hot-spot data for about €20. If you can't put another sim in your (American phone) buy a nice android phone for €100. Many spend far more in roaming charges in a few days

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Norm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

We spent 5 nights at this hotel. We were extremely pleased with the whole experience. The rooms were immaculately clean, and although there was a highway and railway nearby, the windows were well-soundproofed. We had a balcony which looked out on the river, very much enhancing our enjoyment of the room. The dining room was a real cut above. We had dinner there twice and quite enjoyed the cuisine. In addition, the family who runs the hotel also produces wine, and what wonderful wine it is! We very much enjoyed the spatburgunder (pinot noir), from 2008 particularly. The white varietals were terrific as well. Karl, who manages the whole enterprise, works tirelessly from dawn til well after dusk and does his utmost to keep everything running smoothly. We felt very well taken care of. This is a small, family-run boutique hotel which has a quiet competence and charm that is well worth experiencing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougLee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

When you celebrate your wedding and spend thousands you expect your host to be as accomodating as possible. Here we had an owner that was far more concerned with how he does things than how we wanted them. The most agrivating thing was when my new bride was not feeling well and all geast were getting way to warm he continued to heat the room and close the windows. On the plus side the wine was great, the rooms were clean, and the location is perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Blake N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We didn't stay at Hotel Schön, but we went to the restaurant for lunch. We had a fantastic meal with great wines from the region as well as from their own vineyards. The choice of meals is smaller than in other places in Assmannshausen, but everything is fresh and tasty. They have also delicious german cakes. The staff was great. Outside you'll sit under the pergola with view on the river Rhein where boats and ships are passing. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank MiWeWiesbaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Schon for one night at the conclusion of our Rheinsteig hike. In fact, we arrived about 6:00 pm on a rainy evening after hiking 18 miles in one day and were really cold and tired. We could not have found a more perfect place to end our adventure. Our room faced the river and I was able to stay in bed the next morning and watch the ships go by. The room was large, clean and bright and our dinner in the hotel (after a wonderful warm shower) was excellent. We especially enjoyed the wine carousel complete with a guide to the different wines. Breakfast the next morning was served to us and included fruit salad, yogurt, eggs, cold meats and cheeses along with crusty rolls, bread as well as coffee and tea. I really hated to leave! The only downside was the number of fruit flies in the dinning room, but that's common in the fall especially in a fruit growing area. The waiter provided covers for our wine glasses to keep them out, and that certainly helped. This was an excellent place to stay and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fairfax28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

This is one of our best memories of a fantastic holiday. We had a lovely room, clean and comfortable, and a beautiful view. We were well cared for by Norbert and the staff of the restaurant and had a most memorable meal there. They were most accommodating, and we could not have wanted for more. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank toad55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

We have stayed at Hotel Schoen many times , over a twenty year period.
The Family also have a vineyard with high quality red and white wines.
The bedrooms are good - especially those with a view over the Rhein - it is entrancing to watch the river traffic at this narrow part of the river.
The dinner ( often taken at the covered terrace at the front ) is first class. This year I had , as a main course ,the most magnificent rack of crusted lamb - probably the best lamb I've ever tasted.
It is , in my opinion , a very, very good hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rosneath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hotel Schoen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schoen

Address: Rheinuferstr. 3-4, 65385 Assmannshausen, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Assmannshausen
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Assmannshausen
Price Range: £66 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Schoen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing