We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely country cottage ideal location.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bedroom
Bedroom Cliffs of Moher. 5 min. Drive away
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Bedroom
Bedroom
Cliffs of Moher. 5 min. Drive away
Cliffs of. moher
The. Burren
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Liscannor, County Clare

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anne G
Settle
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
“Lovely country cottage ideal location.”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We enjoyed a lovely short break in this spacious comfortable cottage. Lots of character met by friendly, courteous owner. Close to the cliffs of Moher. Saw Dolphins from Loop head lighthouse. Short walking distance to 2 Inns that provide tiny bars within their houses, serving Guinness etc. Highly recommended and would love to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and character of cottage
Liked least: Double bed very hard.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fender56
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderful cottage , wonderful country”
Reviewed 20 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely, well equipped & presented , comfortable cottage in a tranquil rustic setting . Breda is a is a lovely , friendly & helpful " hostess" . The location is ideal for exploring beautiful Co. Clare and beyond. There is a good supermarket in Ennistymon about 10 /15 minutes away or there are local bars / restaurants....especially Vaughans Anchor Inn in Liscanoor which is excellent , but booking advisable . So many lovely places to visit ...too many to mention . Just get on the Wild Atlantic Highway up to Galway and enjoy the ride

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cottage and location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RH988
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming Irish cottage”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Kate's Country Cottage was the perfect stay for our family! The cottage is lovely and cozy, being perfectly furnished with every convenience you would need. We loved it's historic charm and enjoyed a fire on the wood burning stove. Easy location to visit the Cliffs of Moher or to catch a ferry to the Aran Islands. Martin and Breda welcomed us with friendly, Irish hospitality, and made our stay very comfortable. We are so glad we chose this cottage for our trip to county Clare!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YTR24
Co Antrim, N.Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A REALLY WONDERFUL, WELCOMING, COMFORTABLE COTTAGE!”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed here for a week in July. We had a great stay in every way from the scones which Breda had ready for us on arrival to the personal farewell from herself and her husband Martin when we were leaving. Breda and Martin could teach a few of our so-called hospitality professionals a lesson in how to look after guests.
The cottage itself is a real joy to stay in. I spent most of my time in the kitchen sitting by the range or at the table. It is the most homely holiday accommodation I have ever stayed in.
There is a comfortable lounge in the next room and TVs in both rooms but do yourself a favour and dont turn them on!!!!!!! There are lots of other things to do in Clare. Beds were comfy if a little firm for my wifes liking.
The garden at the back has a lovely wee seating area from where you can watch the sun go down and see the sea.
The cottage is perfectly located, close to everything you would want to see in this part of Clare.
I really cannot recommend this cottage highly enough and cannot wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palerider...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Great place to relax”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

It's our third time staying here, which should tell you a lot. A great location for touring around or jsust chilling out locally. Within easy reach of many of the local attractions but seemingly off the beaten track to avoid crowds and traffic if you don't want to travel. Its a lovely cottage with plenty of room, wifi if you want to keep in touch and the owners are two of the most helpful people we have met. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: nothing comes to mind, it was exactly what we wanted
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wandering...
Essex England
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week at Kate's Country Cottage whilst touring northern Ireland & the Republic. The cottage was cosy and well equipped and the location was excellent for seeing all that this beautiful area has to offer. We also had fabulous weather. Breda was lovely and very helpful (thank you for the scones!) and everyone that we met in the area was so friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb M
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best part of our trip!”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Kate’s Country Cottage was the best part of our trip. We traveled to Ireland with my parents and my children. This was the perfect choice for our family. Breda and her husband have done a beautiful job restoring this lovely cottage. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome—Breda provided a beautiful care package with milk, butter, bread and muffins for our arrival. Her husband met us in Liscanoor to get us safely to the cottage after our long trip from Florida! The cottage is centrally located near the Cliffs of Moher (amazing!), Doolin Village with the traditional Irish music (fantastic!), Lahinch with the amazing waves, quaint shops, and restaurants (fun!). From this cottage we easily traveled to Kilfenorra to view the ancient crosses around St Fachnan’s Cathedral and dance the night away at Vaughan’s Pub. We made day trips to both Bunratty and to view the Burren and the Poulnabrone dolmen. It was a blessing to be able to travel each day to see the sites and return to the warmth and comfort of Kate's Country Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location!
Liked least: Unable to use the internet properly although Breada was very accomodating and tried to assist us in getting it resolved!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing