We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family day out” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moher Hill Open Farm

Moher Hill Open Farm
Ranked #4 of 7 things to do in Liscannor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Moher Hill Open Farm and Leisure Park, Liscannor, Co. Clare is the ideal family fun venue. From feeding the wide variety of animals, which include Ozzie the ostrich, Leroy the llama and Podge and Rodge the pot bellied pigs to wizzing around on the indoor or outdoor go karts. This is a farm which guarantees fun whatever the weather with an extensive outdoor play area, including a mini-golf course and indoor bouncing castle and ball pool. Moher Hill Open Farm is a visit which must not be missed.
Dublin,Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great family day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Paid a visit to Moher Hill farm on Thursday last. I was plesantly surprised to find so many animals for us to see and get close enough to pet and feed. A little scary moment when I took my eye off the large Ostrich and he made a grab for the bag of feed I had in my hand. I think I scared my Grandaughter more than the Ostrich did when I grabbed the bag back :-)
The owners have really made an effort to give value for money and have added a very good indoor and outdoor play area including a bouncy castle and mini pedal carts at no extra charge. There is even an indoor picnic area so bring along your own food and make a full day out. There is a mini crazy golf course and this does have an extra charge but only 2€ per player.
I do regret not paying a compliment to the people at the Tea Rooms on my way out who I assume were the owners. We are far too quick to crititise and not quick enough to pay compliments when due.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Dad_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    22
    8
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great for the kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Spent a very enjoyable few hours here with my little one recently, great variety of animals, loads of space and great facilities to keep the children entertained once they've seen all the animals (indoor bouncy castle / play area, outdoor playground, plenty of toys etc).

On the very odd occasion when the rainclouds interrupt the balmy tropical sunshine of west clare / or the tide is in and you can't keep them on the beach any longer, this is a great option to keep the little ones entertained.

The staff were friendly, the coffee pretty good and the carrot cake excellent.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shambobala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“not value for money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

2 adults 5 kids 56 euro. Mentioned this as we paid but got no satisfaction. 2.00 euro extra per person to play 4 holes of crazy golf. You need to review your pricing policy. No family deals on offer. Was at horse show in RDS recently and paid 55 euro for 2 adults and 4 kids for a full days entertainment. Not very many animals to see but they did have beautiful new born bunnies. Are we just going to accept extortionate prices in this country?

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Dee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delia C, Owner at Moher Hill Open Farm, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Moher Hill Open Farm is a 14 acre farm with a mile long trail to view our many different breeds of animals. These include llama, deer, ostrich, emu, alpaca, a vietnamese pot bellied pig with her family of 1 month old piglets, kune kune pig, goats, soay sheep, jacob sheep, peacocks, many breeds of fowl, miniature donkeys and their foal, miniature ponies and foals, falabella ponies and turtles. Our summer 2013 admission rates are €8 per adult and €8 per child with special discounts for children under 3 years and senior citzens. For all groups over 5 people we offer sizable discounts. However in order to receive a group discount a group must present themselves as such and also pay within a single transaction. If your family paid in one transaction and was charged €56 then this was incorrect and not in line with our current pricing policy.
Our optional mini-golf course is a 9 hole, all weather, outdoor course which was architecturally designed to fit in with its surroundings. We charge a €2 fee per club and ball and there is no time limit to how long you spend on the course allowing people the chance to play the course more than once.
Perhaps you did not avail of our other services on the farm which were included in the admission fee such as; bouncing castle, ball pool, indoor and outdoor go karts, indoor sand pit, traditional play area, all weather soft surface play area or under 5's play areas.
We find the comparsion with the Dublin Horse Show unrealistic as the number of people admitted in your example, and the products and services provided are dramatically different.
At the farm there is no time limit and you can stay all day if you wish, as many of our customers do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
141 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good place for family day out; not as good as previous years.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

We took our 4 kids to Moher hill for the third year in a row. It worked out a little expensive at €8 a head, especially when there seemed to be less to see in terms of the animals. It was mostly sheep and ponies, with a few llamas here and there. The same animal breed was repeated at a number of different spots. We were lucky enough to land as a lamb was being fed; each child got a chance to hold the bottle for it. There's very little I could fault, the kids certainly enjoyed themselves, but I felt that the value for money was not as good as previous years. They don't take credit cards, like a lot of places in Clare.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank toruairc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delia C, Owner at Moher Hill Open Farm, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit as much as you had in previous years. We have many different types of animals on the farm including llama, deer, ostrich, emu, alpaca, a family of Vietnamese pot bellied pigs, kune kune pig, goats, jacob and soay sheep, peacocks, and a variety of fowl. During the summer months we often put sheep in the paddocks to ensure the maintenance of grass levels. We apologise if this distorted your view of the farm. The farm is set out on 14acrea and we are always striving to create something new, for example in 2013 we installed a new bouncing castle. We have now erected a large farm map at the entrance to the farm. This will now ensure that our customers will not miss out on any animals. We thank you for your feedback and review and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Great way to spend the day...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

This is our third visit here this year. The place is absolutely fantastic. Family run and extremely friendly. You would easily spend the entire day here as you an bring your own picnic but also order food, tea and coffee. EAting areas and toilets are absolutely spotless. Activities include the farm (loads of animals), feeding/petting sessions, pedal tractor area, outdoor play area, indoor play area with bouncy castle and picnic benches, crazy golf, go karts - endless things to do! There was a birthday party there on one of our visits and the kids looked like they were having a ball. Definitely worth a visit with plenty to do if the weather is good or bad...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank McCarthyCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moher Hill Open Farm also viewed

Liscannor, County Clare
Doolin, The Burren
 
Liscannor, County Clare
Liscannor, County Clare
 

Been to Moher Hill Open Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing