We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best Falkensteiner out there”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Falkensteiner Family Hotel Lido Ehrenburgerhof
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Casteldarne
Certificate of Excellence
home
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Not the best Falkensteiner out there”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

With our 3 children we visit at least once a year in summer or winter a Falkensteiner resort.
We tried it in february and we had a great time skiing in Plan de Corones / Kronplatz.
Pros
food is very good, the best in all Falkensteiner resorts we visited
Cons
small outdated spa facilities
noisy rooms
far from ski lift, there's a convenient train just outside the hotel or a bus, you need half an hour to get on the fields

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the entrance as you will be disturbed by music played in the hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francesco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    200
    54
    21
    6
See reviews for
426
38
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltic Coast, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013 via mobile

Very cosy family oriented hotel, one of many in the Falkensteiner chain.

We spent there nice Christmass time with our kids ( 7&11). Lots of kids from Italy and Austria but also some English speaking ones too - Americans, British so ours had a great time to play outside ( short city trek with fire torches, sleigh, buiding snowcastles and snowman) and indoors with all the kids.

Skiing is also great although you do have to take the train ( the station is only 100 m from the hotel) or drive 15 min by car to the Kronplatz where all the best slopes are located ( a lot of blue pistas so good for the kids and intermidiate skiers). The slopes where not all too crowded even during the weekends and Christamss whcih was great .

The town itself where the hotel i s located is a rather small but charming town with no shopping but if you do want to visit the splendid Christmass market in the center of Brunico ,it is only 10 min away by car or convinient train ride.

Worth seeing is also the Mountain Museum run by Reinhold Messner ( the famous mountaineer) in his private castle.

Best rooms face the lake and offer nice view and large balconies.

Food is exellent !

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank dar0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Falkensteiner has an excellent ratio price/service. Godd loking exterieur and interieur. Some rooms need a refreshment, but all are very clean and spacy. Fine wellness with out-door pool, friendly staff, outstanding kitchen. Excellent wines. Dining room a little bit noisy (some parents as noisy as their children ).Train stop for the ski-domain 3 minutes from the hotel. But it makes the connection only to the brandnew station. Otherwise, car-trip 10 minutes to the station uphill to Bruneck: the hotel is NOT situated directly near the ski-pists. But we think, it's probably the best you can get in this area when you want to combine skiing, quietness, wellness and some space to move around inside the hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was 254. Spacy, very clean, but a little bit oldish. It was situated on the backside, but v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueskybluesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

This is the best hotel we stayed, everything on measure of us, we enjoyed everything: swimming pool, breakfast, rooms, snow! We would like to come back in the future...Thanks a lot to all the staff. The service was very kind.

I would like to thank personally the director, a person really nice and always available for all our requests

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antonello S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2010

After booking directly with the hotel through the Falkensteiners' Group website, we arrived at this hotel with very high expectations. We had booked a north side family room - however the decor in the room was no where close to the impressions we had been given from the pictures shown on the website. We were therefore very disappointed at the thought of having been misled. Although extremely spacious and clean, the furniture was rather old and shabby, some of the tiles inside the bathroom were cracked and the shower cubicle was rusty. The view from the balcony (north side) is not very impressive since the hotel is located in a semi industrial area and just some meters away from the railway station.

Luckily as we continued to discover what the hotel had to offer the many other positive apsects in the hotel outweighed our initial dismay we had about the room. The food was good to excellent and the service rendred by the staff at the restaurant was also very good and friendly. The indoor and outdoor heated pool facilities were great as well as the many other areas around the hotel. The falky club for the kids is superb as parents can enjoy their meals whilst the kids are kept busy by the carers inside the play and activity areas.

All in all we enjoyed our stay at the Ehrenburgerhof and will consider going back again, perhaps sometime in summer. It's a great place for families with children - but having a car is extremely recommended as it's location isn't the very of best. Taking a lake side room view would be a much better bet.

One last comment about the reception staff. Although being helpful and efficient in their work they tend to forget to offer a service with a smile .... The only exception was the girl by the name of Doris. She was the most helpful and friendly of the team and always tried to render a service with a smile without letting patrons feel uncomfortable in asking for assistance.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GOH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 April 2006

We stayed at the Ehrenburghof Lido over the easter period. It is a beautiful hotel in the stunning south tirol in northern italy. (It took us 2.5 hours to drive from Munich in the early morning). We chose the hotel as we have two young boys aged 2 and 4 and it caters for children. The hotel itself is wonderful, the room was perfect, with a seperate room with bunk beds for the boys, very modern and clean with excellent service. There is a childrens club 'the Falky club' for children aged 3 and above which opens from 9am to 9pm in summer and 2pm to 9pm in winter. The club has lots for the children to do and an indoor play area with slides, ball pool etc. If your child is under 3 you can use all of the facilities within the club but must stay with your child.
The hotel has a childrens outdoor play area by the small lake it sits on with sunbeds to relax on - it was about 18 to 20 degrees when we stayed there in April. Children can eat in the Falky club where they provide childrens food, pasta, fish fingers etc. or with you in the restaurant, either with food from the club or the restaurant food which is a 4 course meal. The restaurant provides a buffet breakfast and evening meal included in the price (alcohol extra). It has an 'Aqua park' with indoor pool and another pool which leads outside and extends into the lake which was heated to a lovely 30 degrees. There is a small childrens pool inside but not suitable for very small children and no equipment to play on. However they can paddle in the lake in warm weather by the play area.
In winter you can hire ski equipment and the hotel is very close to some excellent ski resorts. In summer there are the alps to explore, cable cars to ride up and rodelbahns (toboggan runs) to come down. It took us approx. 2 hours 15 mins to drive to Lake Garda and visit Gardaland, Italy's Disneyland equivalent.
One possible downside of this hotel, depending on your outlook, is that the clientele are mostly germans and italians and so everything is written in these languages too. We were the only brits staying when we were there. If you like a challenge then you should not let this stop you from staying at this beautiful hotel and most of the staff speak english. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Casteldarne
10.7 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Falkensteinerhof
3.8 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Sonnenparadies
7.9 mi away
Excelsior Dolomites Life Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Wellnesshotel Sonnenhof - Winklerhotels
10.6 mi away
Familienhotel Huber
Familienhotel Huber
#2 of 6 in Valles
357 reviews
10.3 mi away
Hotel Gruner Baum
Hotel Gruner Baum
#3 of 34 in Bressanone
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falkensteiner Family Hotel Lido Ehrenburgerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falkensteiner Family Hotel Lido Ehrenburgerhof

Property: Falkensteiner Family Hotel Lido Ehrenburgerhof
Address: Via Stazione 7, 39030 Casteldarne, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Casteldarne
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Casteldarne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Falkensteiner Family Hotel Lido Ehrenburgerhof 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the first hotel and original home of the Falkensteiner family. In the heart of South Tyrol, situated by the Dolomites in Pustertal, this is THE resort for families. The hotels private lake, which is surrounded by a new playground and adventure park, lends a unique flair to this special place. The genuine hospitality typical of Tyroleans will instantly make you feel at ease, while our experienced team will try to fulfil any special requests our guests have. These factors, in combination with excellent Alpine-Adriatic cuisine and an incomparable range of entertainment and activities offered, will truly make this an unforgettable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Falkensteiner Family Hotel Lido Ehrenburgerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing