We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”
Review of Skellig Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Skellig Hostel
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed from the 9th to the 12th of August. The place is spotless and Freda our hostess was fantastic.My husband and I are in our 50s and were a little nervous about staying in a hostel, we need not have worried. Most of the people we met were families and couples enjoying the beauty of this area. St Finians Bay and the chocolate factory are a must visit. Ballinskelligs beach is beautiful. The Point seafood restaurant is also a must, the food is fantastic.We had a lovel stay in Ballinskelligs and can recommend this hostel to everybody.We stayed in a room with our own bathroom overlooking Ballinskelligs beach. It was better than some hotels that I have stayed in.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10 it was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank katemaguire58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed one night at the Skellig Lodge Hostel in Ballinskelligs a few days ago and wished we could have stayed longer. We had booked a family room for four with a shared bathroom at short notice. On arrival we were greeted warmly by Farida who runs the place. She showed us around the excellent facilities and also informed us that the 'shared' bathroom was for our use only, even better than expected. The room we had wasn't big, but clean and nicely decorated, the bathroom next door was bright and big. There was lots of green space around the hostel for our children to play and for us to sit and have a coffee (no tables provided outside though, we had camping chairs). Toys and games were provided in the sitting room area of the hostel, probably good on a rainy day but also outdoor games like 'boules', frisbees etc, a great hit with the kids. There is a well-equipped kitchen with two cookers and two fridges, enough even on busy days I think. The dining area next to the kitchen has several large tables. The hostel is very well run, there are even flowers on the tables, which is a lovely touch. It was very quiet at night-time too. There was free tea, coffee, spices etc in the kitchen, as well as washing up liquid and towels for drying dishes. Not something you find everywhere. The price for the room was very competitive, which also helps of course. And the Wifi is free and quite good, surprising for such a remote area. Ballinskelligs itself is a beautiful place, small but perfectly formed. One can see the sea from the hostel and it is only a couple of hundred metres down a small road to the lovely beach (with castle). There is a cafe beside the beach too, very nice. It is possible to walk along the beach to the local pub, and across the road from it was a chipper van (we drove though as we had the kids with us and it was dark on the road). Another pub is a couple of miles away, as well as the craft centre. No shop within walking distance, better to buy provisions in Cahirciveen. We had a car, no problem getting around, otherwise it is pretty remote, but that is it's beauty. The drive along the coast road to Portmagee is amazing but a bit scary near the pass (steep and narrow). Can't wait to go back to Skellig Lodge another time though and hopefully staying a bit longer. Still lots to see and do, or just hang out and relax...Maybe finally learn Irish properly, classes are run nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisIE14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

excellent hostess wonderful cakes made by her cead mile failte irish welcome suberb facilites for family kids loved bunk beds wonderful beach and fab location for touring portmagee skellig ring derrynane beach great experience will be back again very soon! great value a haven of tranquality very friendly helpful staff loved our stay thank you Mary frances James&emma

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank mary frances o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Declan, the owner was most courtious, kind and helpful . He contacted me the day before we arrived to ask what could he cook for my breakfast as Iam a coeliac . He again text on the morning of our arrival with directions W when we arrived we were offered coffee or tea , The room was clean and fresh only negative ,there was no tv. This is only a minor detail .Declan went to a lot of trouble to make a lovely gluten free breakfast and even baked homemade soda bread ,as wellas getting gluten free rolls and muslei . Iwould return there again and must highly recomend it

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank berbandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Skellig Lodge is a terrific place to stay. Super location, exceptionally clean place, very friendly staff and great facilities. We have returned to enjoy holidays here, staying in Skellig Lodge every time, year-after-year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Seamus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed at Skellig hostel for a week this summer. It is a brilliant place to stay for families. There is a great beach about 5 minutes walk down the hill and a chocolate factory about 10 minutes drive away. The family rooms are spacious and have their own bathroom. The staff at the hostel are brilliant with kids and didn't even bat an eyelid when my two year old escaped her bed in the early hours of the morning and decorated the bedclothes with toothpaste. The manager of the hostel is lovely and is an amazing cook and she leaves freshly baked cakes in the communal kitchen everyday. It is a very practical place for families to stay, the rooms have excellent facilities and there is a large well equipped kitchen and a very comfortable lounge. Even when the lodge was very busy it was quiet at night and the views over the bay are amazing. There are loads of attractions and activities to do in the area and the whole place is very family friendly. Best thing about the place is the manager who is lovely, friendly, a brilliant cook, can speak several languages and dispenses food, drinks and cake in large quantities to anyone who is around!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank felicity c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Skellig lodge is a wonderful place to stay. It's cheap, comfortable and practical. The rooms have everything you need. Great facilities, kitchen, dining room and TV room with games. They provide tea, milk etc as well as bread, butter, jams etc. And most evenings they bake goodies for the guests.
The view of the sea is beautiful. It's 5 min walk to the beach, to Sean's ferry to Skellig Michael, the pub and the post office and there is a wonderful lomi lomi massage lady a 5 min drive away. It's heaven. Freda who runs the lodge is fabulous, friendly and helpful. I called her to book and get information on 066 9479942. Highly recommended. Ger

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geraldine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballinskelligs
4.8 mi away
The Old Cable Historic House
The Old Cable Historic House
#10 of 13 in Waterville
192 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tig an Rince
Tig an Rince
#1 of 4 in Ballinskelligs
119 reviews
2.8 mi away
Beach Cove B&B
Beach Cove B&B
#2 of 4 in Ballinskelligs
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Old School House B&B
The Old School House B&B
#4 of 4 in Ballinskelligs
53 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seaside B & B
Seaside B & B
#3 of 4 in Ballinskelligs
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skellig Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skellig Hostel

Address: Ballinskelligs, Ballinskelligs, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Ballinskelligs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Ballinskelligs
Price Range: £39 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Skellig Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing