We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old School House B&B
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Went for a weekend away with family to Ballinskelligs. We were greeted by the owner Lillian, who ,ade us feel at home by making us a cup of tea and showing us to our room! We got the big family room, which was perfect! Could be a bit more updated though! Breakfast was good. Overall the B&B could be a bit more updated, although I know its called the 'Old School House' for a reason! Lovely and social owners, Dominic and Lillian. Dominic had great stories. Wouldn't give it a five star rating. But enjoyed the home from home experience!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dennieok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed here for a few nights & couldn't wait to get out of it. Weird hospitality, gospel/ church singing during dinner not my cup of tea. Although they tried to provide entertainment it was more a case of forcing their own preference onto guests. The room was damp, the shower mouldy & the lump of chipboard under the mattress to hide the broken base jutted out & caused a big bruise on my chin. Beds not made daily & i wasnt sure if they were changed from the previous guests. The grounds are littered with old car parts and Fáilte Ireland sign disregarded on the ground is a sign of things to come inside. The prayer room, yes this B&B seconds as a church, will be recommended to you too (just weird)!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank TurasNua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

As Kevin M said in a previous review this is the epitome of an Irish B & B. Sadly so many are run as purely commercial operations and have no interest in the guests as people. Dominic & Lillian are such a warm, friendly welcoming couple that you feel right at home the minute you arrive.
We stayed for 3 nights with our 2 teenagers on one of the glorious weekends in July 2013. The family room is very spacious and comfortably sleeps 5 (dble bed + bunk bed + a proper single bed).
There was always a good buzz at breakfast time as Dominic & Lillian chat freely with the guests making for a very laid back relaxed meal.Breakfasts were good - on the 3rd morning I decided to have just 2 sausages & a poached egg. I got 2 sausages + 2 poached eggs on a large heart shaped slice of toast....In 2 mins my tech savy teens had a pic on Facebook !
Its not a registered B & B but don't let that put you off ! The charm and friendliness of lillian & Dominic make for a much more enjoyable B & B experience than one would ever find in the plushest 4 star resort !
Be sure to ask for directions to the wonderful Inney beach which is only 1-2 miles away. Great for a walk when the tide is out in summer or winter.
Check out this B & B ...you wont be disappointed !

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meggyocon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

I stayed here from June 17 to June 22nd 2012. My first impression was a welcoming, friendly atmosphere! I was greeted by Lilian, she showed me to my lovely room and made me some tea :) My room was bright and clean and the decor was lovely! The garden outside is beautiful on a sunny day, with beautiful views of the mountains. Dominic and Lilian are very warm people with loving hearts and made me feel welcomed and relaxed! Ballinskelligs is a peaceful town and The Old School House is perfect for anyone seeking peace and refreshment. I would love to return one day! Brenda McMahon, Cork, Ireland

Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
4  Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stayed for one night at The Old School House. As we parked up we were met outside by Dominick with a welcoming smile and some good humored banter. The house is very homely with a relaxing atmosphere, our room was clean and very comfortable. We had a lovely breakfast and some great conversation with Dominick and Lillian. When we departed our only regret was that we were not staying for longer.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Had an excellent one night stay here over the Easter weekend!

We stayed here as our "base" as we set off to explore Skellig Michael...the morning of our trip out our boat canceled at the last minute, but Dominick and Lillian swung into action and found us an alternative trip instead.

The best pancakes I've ever had in Ireland...and be sure to ask Dominick for a sample of some of his magic tricks...

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dubaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

The Old School House is conveniently located near the Ballinskelligs Pier if one plans to visit the ancient monastic settlement on top of Skellig Michael. The rooms were warm, clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was delicious. The Old School House is operated by two of the most genuinely inviting and lovely people you will ever meet. I traveled with a group of three in hopes of taking the boat out to Skellig Michael, unfortunately the weather and ocean swells prevented our goal. But what we thought was a serious downer to our trip turned out to be a moment where unplanned events led to an encounter that our group will cherish forever. On the morning of our planned departure, the owners of the Old School House, Dominic and Lillian, called early to the boat men to see if the weather allowed the trip. When they found out the bad news, they made sure to tell us before we traveled to the docks. Good thing they did, because we avoided getting wet in the rain. Dominic and Lillian, being gracious hosts, cooked us up a wonderful breakfast and entertained us with great conversation. They stoked up the fire and allowed us to play with their new puppy. We ended up talking til noon. I have traveled a fair amount, and I always place Ireland up at the top of my favorite places in the world due to two reasons. First, the natural beauty will take your breath away. Second, the people of Ireland are warm, charming and love their country. Dominic and Lillian are perfect examples of the amazing Irish hospitality. Thank you both for a wonderful time, and we all hope to meet you again in our travels.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bart0s10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballinskelligs
1.9 mi away
Tig an Rince
Tig an Rince
#1 of 4 in Ballinskelligs
115 reviews
3.0 mi away
Seaside B & B
Seaside B & B
#3 of 4 in Ballinskelligs
40 reviews
3.9 mi away
Beach Cove B&B
Beach Cove B&B
#2 of 4 in Ballinskelligs
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Smuggler's Inn
Smuggler's Inn
#4 of 13 in Waterville
146 reviews
2.9 mi away
Skellig Hostel
Skellig Hostel
#1 of 3 in Ballinskelligs
63 reviews
6.0 mi away
QC's Townhouse
QC's Townhouse
#1 of 20 in Cahersiveen
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old School House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old School House B&B

Address: The Old School House The Old School House The Old School House | Barrys Cross, Ballinskelligs Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Ballinskelligs
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ballinskelligs
Price Range: £70 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old School House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the rolling hills of Kerry, in the southwest corner of Ireland by the wild Atlantic Way and the dark sky reserve in the most scenic and peaceful part of Ireland, there you will find The Old School House. A lovingly restored old school house with 7 guest rooms, this cozy inn offers you a place of refuge from the hustle of the every day world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Old School House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing