We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has potential”
Review of Suedsee-Camp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wietzendorf
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Suedsee-Camp
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wietzendorf
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here this summer with Eurocamp/Sun hols offer. The camp is almost entirely German so usage of facilities and inclusion can be tricky. There are a few English-fluent staff which is good, the facilities on site are passable and range from poor value (swimming pool/spa) to ok (Pier one bar/restaurant and the mini supermarket). We drove so had use of the car, without it we would have been stuck and isolated.

Wietzendorf is small, it is mainly farm houses with a cheap, good value Lidl-style supermarket called Pennymarkt. The town of Soltau is 11km or so nearby (although difficult to find, a map/gps will be essential) and has good shopping facilities and a few nice sites. Luneburg is definitely worth a visit, and Hamburg is close enough, as is Bremen.

General advice: if you go, make sure you drive and it may not be worth the full sticker price as there are better and cheaper campsites in Europe.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

We were staying with Eurocamp who we have been with several times before. I think the caravans are far more squashed together here than at other sites , without having your own clearly defined grassy space.
However, the park is good with clean , well- kept facilities. The swimming pool is good especially the rapid river although you can get lots of bruises! The Jungle golf was really different - involving going on rafts etc.
The town of Celle is well worth visiting. We also went to Belson which was harrowing but it felt important to go.
Most families would have a great holiday here

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank rosiem17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This camp is about a 6-7hr drive from Dunkirk,but is worth the drive,myself I break the drive and stay either way,as adds to holiday.I wouldn't even dream of staying at this site without a car unless you plan to just stay on site.
I stayed here twice(oct 2011 & july 2013) through the sun holidays and is well worth booking via their deal.There are only a few eurocamp vans,like all their vans they're not massive and may well sleep six but they'd be very cramped with six! One thing I would say that this time I had a problem with was the rep on a number of times letting herself into our van whilst we were out without asking first. Whilst we was there it was really hot and theres only one fan in the van so i'd suggest taking one.
The site its self has lot to offer,but I only use the site as a base to vist the surrounding area so cant comment on them,though whilst checking in was told had to pay to use pool which I think is abit ott.
About 10mins drive from the site is Bergen,now for those that don't know the area around 75% of Bergen are british,as theres a army base here.On the main road you will find 4 supermarkets,cafes,mcdonalds,and other shops.Also in Bergen just up by the army camp you will find Belsen,ok not to everyones tastes but worth a vist. Also in under an hour you can reach Hanover,Bremen or hamburg. In just an over Lubeck is well worth a vist,esp the marzipan café and shop by the town hall. Also nearby is the theme park Hiede,which is very like Thorpe park.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank smurfy3msl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

This is one of the best campsites we have been to, facilities on site are very good even the restaurants serve good quality reasonably priced food (especially when compared to french campsites). The lake is great for the kids, sandy beaches all round and even a pirate ship play area. There are a number of other play areas on site all well maintained. On Friday's there is a campfire with live music, a van selling beer, hot dogs and ice creams.

The surrounding area is very scenic, with pleasant towns such as Celle and Luneburg. Further afield Hamburg, Hanover and Bremen are all worth a visit.

The only minus points concern the Eurocamp caravans which are a bit cramped and not particularly well maintained. I will be booking one of the Swedish style chalets direct next year.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Can really only echo the comments of manchesterdoug.

Sudsee Camp is in a fairly remote location and if you're travelling without a car it could leave you feeling fairly isolated.

We also went on a Sun newspaper holiday. On arrival at the camp around 7.30pm we went to reception to check in and were given our key card (required to open entry and exit barriers to the site) which is subject to a 2 euro deposit - refunded on return of the card.

We then drove to the Eurocamp rep on site and were advised of our accommodation (a 2 bedroom static caravan) and given a list of do's and don'ts the most bizarre of which were an 8pm to 8am lockdown on the site (which subsequently changed to 11pm to 7am) and a strongly observed siesta between 1pm & 3pm.

We had expected to find at least the use of the swimming pool to be free but were told on arrival by the Eurocamp rep that this would be a paid for extra along with the Minigolf and other facilities.

On the first evening we took a walk around the site which is a mix of static caravans, privately owned caravans and some rented caravan and tent pitches. Some areas of the site were very clean and tidy and in other areas a number of the caravans could do with a spruce up.

Somewhat comically the perimeter of the site is secured with a barbed wire fence and combined with the 12 hour lock down and entry/exit barriers led to some interesting discussions as to the nature of the camp :o)

Considering that we were visiting at the start of the holiday season we would have expected the facilities to have at least been given a lick of paint and for the childrens play areas to have been better maintained and swept clear of the mass of cigarette ends.

As well as the Jungle Minigolf and Crazy Golf, the site has a number of general play areas where you can play table tennis and volleyball and sandy areas for children to play on slides, swings, a zip wire etc.

As with most places with a captive audience food on site was realtively expensive and you'd be well advised to come prepared or buy food before you reach the camp site. Also, on the Sunday that we were there the small kiosk selling breakfast, snacks ice cream etc. was closed. Three supermarkets, Pennymarkt, Lidl & Aldi are available in the area and if you were to venture slightly further afield you'd also have access to a Real Kauf which is similar to an oversized Tesco.

The caravan accommodation was ok - fairly basic and in need of some maintenance - broken light bulbs, sticking blinds, and a faulty heater.

Our accommodation had two bedrooms - the main room contained a double bed (mattrass was in good condition and reasonably comfortable), large double wardrobe and dressing table with mirror (both UK 3 pin and Euro 2 pin electrical sockets were available).

The second bedroom had one single bed and a bunk bed in for children. The beds in this room were quite narrow and a narrow walkway between them. This room also contained a wardrobe.

The bathroom area was a reasonable size with a shower, wc and two hand basins. The wc was awkwardly positioned and if you're a slightly larger person you need to remove the toilet roll from the holder in order to be able to sit down! The shower cubicle was a reasonable size but lacked any real water pressure although the temperature was ok.

The velcro on the seat pads of the bench seating in the living area could also have done with replacing as these were constantly falling on the floor at the slightest touch. The bench seats should also turn into a sofa bed, but how this could be achieved wasn't immediately obvious and on the face of it would have been extremely uncomfortable.

The kitchen area contained a number of storage cabinets, a full size gas cooker and fridge freezer and we were provided with a CD/Radio player. Kitchen utensils, plates and cutlery were provided although cleaning materials/clothes need to be supplied by yourselves.

The outside of the caravan had a decked area with chairs, table and barbecue. A couple of sun loungers were also provided.

The Jungle Minigolf was a little expensive but good fun nevertheless. The crazy golf at the entrance to the site was considerably cheaper and had clearly seen much better days, however, it provided some additional entertainment for the children. Fortunately the weather was kind to us and the children were able to play on the equipment in the sandy areas - not a great deal of variety but fun for them anyway.

On the whole we had a reasonable time and the accommodation was clean and comfortable - so ok, but nothing special and wouldn't want to spend more that a couple of days here. The ability to use UK plugs as well as European plugs was a bonus. The camp site overall though was disappointing with poor to average facilities, in mixed states of repair, which left us wondering about how it had achieved a 5 star rating. Optional extras seemed relatively expensive and a car is required in order to explore further afield.

Fortunately we know the area reasonably well so if you are travelling by car a trip to the picturesque town of Celle (about 45 minutes drive away) would be well worth considering. They have much better swimming/spa facilities at Celle Badeland including indoor and outdoor water slides and nicely heated pools. You'll also have the opportunity to do some sightseeing and shopping and if you like ice cream then make sure you pay a visit to the Eiscafe Dolomiti at the top of the town near C&A - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Alex_J43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

we went here on a sun newspaper holiday with eurocamp.
the first shock came when after paying the full amount for the holiday to the sun we were sent an additional bill for over £60 with a note saying that if we didnt pay whithin a couple of days our holiday would be cancelled! i thought this might just be a sneaky hidden service or entertainment charge that had been hidden in the small print (as i had sent the form off i was unable to check it) but when i contacted eurocamp i was assured that we really were being charged twice for the accomodation!!! however they did also tell us that there was a free tropical pool with waterslide, so we went expecting to spend most of the week in there. we were also told that if we want sheets and towels there would be another huge additional charge, which we obviously declined.
we got three trains from hamburg airport to soltau which was pretty straightforward, but as the buses to wietzendorf unbelievably stop at about 7pm we had to get a taxi from soltau.
when we got to soltau at about 1.30am however everything was completely deserted with no sign of any taxis, so we eventually ended up having to go to the police station and asking them to call one for us, which we managed to bargain down from 25 euros to 20.
the next day we found out that the swimming pool we had planned to spend most of our time in was not free as we had been told but was actually very expensive ( we ended up just visiting it once in the evening when it was cheaper but it wasnt great at all and the water was so cold that it did spoil it a bit.)
there was also a miniature golf course that looked really good fun but it was so ridiculously expensive that we decided not to do it. we did manage to play table tennis on one of several free outdoor tables thanks to a very kind man in the fast food place lending us bats and a ball.
apart from one lady at the swimming pool the staff were very friendly, but take a phrase book because very few people in this area speak much english and all of the tourist information signs are just in german. (although the extremely nice eurocamp rep did speak perfect english)
there is a beautiful lake surrounded by sand and playgrounds which im sure must be heaven for the kids in the summer, but the bars and restaurants were a bit boring and too expensive for us anyway. there is also horse riding but we didnt find out how much it was.
There is a small camp shop but do all your shopping at pennymart on the way to wietzendorf as its much much cheaper with a pretty good choice- take your own bags though as they charge for them!.
very beautiful country area with very friendly people but not a lot to do and a long way from anywhere, although the toy museum at soltau is worth a look and isnt too expensive, and the bus is pretty reasonable too.
we did get bored though and ended up spending the last couple of nights of our holiday in hamburg.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank manchesterdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We decided to come to Suedsee Camp for a different holiday and after reading all the reviews and we were looking forward to it. We went early September which is still classed as in season but there was only two resturants open, nothing to do as everything was closed. The staff were not helpfull in the slightest and quite rude. Our caravan was a 5 berth and you could not swing a cat in it let alone fit 5 people in. You are not close to anything so you really need a car or bikes.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wietzendorf
7.3 mi away
Heide Park Abenteuerhotel
8.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Heidehof
Best Western Hotel Heidehof
#1 of 2 in Hermannsburg
65 reviews
9.7 mi away
Center Parcs Bispinger Heide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Hartmann
Hotel Restaurant Hartmann
#2 of 2 in Wietzendorf
29 reviews
3.9 mi away
Gasthaus Zum Wietzetal
Gasthaus Zum Wietzetal
#1 of 1 in Wietzendorf
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suedsee-Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suedsee-Camp

Address: Suedsee-Camp 6, 29649 Wietzendorf, Lower Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Lower Saxony > Wietzendorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wietzendorf
Price Range: £52 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
n the middle of the Lüneburger Heide in Lower Saxony, close to the beautiful village Wietzendorf, surrounded by woods and flowering meadows, lies the campsite Südsee-Camp. It is a holiday paradise with a 3,5 hectare lake and an inviting white beach.Whether you want to camp with your own caravan or tent or you want to rent a caravan, chalet or holiday cottage, we offer you an exceptional holiday experience with all the comfort you need. Spring, summer, autumn or winter – on our campsite it’s always holiday season.Play- and sports grounds, leisure activities, a horse stable, a lake or our subtropical indoor swimming pool – help to beat the boredom at all times. Restaurants, a supermarket, shops and a bike, go cart and car rental station complement the offer. We also offer you coach rides with our own coaches to musicals in Hamburg or amusement parks in the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Suedsee-Camp Hotel Wietzendorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing