We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great basecamp for exploring Snarfellsnes”
Review of Hotel Hellissandur

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hellissandur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Hellissandur
Ranked #1 of 3 Hellissandur B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

This area is fantastic. Scenery, nature, trekking, volcanos, bird watching, whale watching etc. Hotell Hellisandur is one of those rare well managed small hotels situated off the regular tourist trails. Really good service, average rooms, clean etc. Nothing special, but really worth every penny. Personell great! The view of the glacier in the morning while being served coffee is spectacular. Location is far more attractive than for example the hotel in Olafvik.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kalvhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

Lodging options are slim for Snæfellsnes National Park, but this one is fortunately a gem. The expertly prepared dinners included a number of ingredients sourced from Hellissandur. It was a real treat to spend the day out hiking and know that we'd finish the day with such good food. The breakfast spread ensured that we were well fueled for the day. Our rooms was clean with crisp sheets in typical Nordic style. We're looking forward to saying here again in the future!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreas Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We spent one night in mid Sept. 2012 in the nearby town of VIK. As it was getting late (8:30PM) they recommended us the restaurant at Hotel Hellissandur which was a very short drive away. Upon arrival we were told that the restaurant was reserved for a meeting and the option was to eat in the lounge watching the super size tv.
Reading other comments: it appears that meetings are taking the dining room option from the visitors often. So, I recommend the owners should find another venue or time of the day for their meetings and let the visitors enjoy the dining room which appeared to be a nice one.

We were served very efficiently and politely buy a gentlemen which we later found out was the Hotel Manager, Receptionist, the Chef and also took care of the bar.

The food was excellent (fish soup, mussels, lamb) and much beyond what we expected in this fairly remote corner of Iceland. The hotel looked very clean and we think that the rooms are likely to be nice too. So, it may be a good idea to spend a night here and enjoy a first class meal during your travels in Iceland...

Room Tip: Arrive before sunset and enjoy the view around while you are having dinner (Hope the dining room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qualityvsquantity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

I stayed in Hotel Hellisandur for one night in July 2012.

The hotel is an expected gem in a scarcely populated part of Iceland, in beautiful surroundings.
Staff was very friendly and tried their best to accomodate our needs (even keeping the kitchen a little bit longer than normal).

The rooms were of good 3-star-standard, with soft beds and spotless, great bathrooms stocked with amenities.

The hotel serves dinner. Although the selection is short, the food was excellent. My myssels were cooked perfectly.

This hotel is an excellent base to discover this beautiful part of Iceland.

Room Tip: The hotel have some rooms with a glacier view. Try to get one of them by calling ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guillaume R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I would go there again. Room was okay, breakfast was good, kitchen did a good job for dinner. Location is perfect. The usual sleeping difficulty in Icelandic summer: You don't get the rooms really dark.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

I was at Hotel Hellisandur for one night and it did the job - nothing outstanding but nothing bad either. The room and bathroom was clean (and the bathroom was surprisingly well stocked with shampoo and soap), but I heard every peep out of the neighboring rooms - who, thankfully went to bed reasonably early. There was some kind of meeting in the dining room, which meant dining in was not an option for nearly the entire evening (which I wasn't forewarned about at check-in). The person at the front desk sent me next door to a coffee house/cafe that wasn't open, for the only other food option in a reasonable distance. I ended up having impromptu room service after giving him the "how are you gonna fix this, cause I am hungry" look. After that was all said and done, the burger and beer was quite delicious! Breakfast was wonderful and had many options. I left the hotel rather early in the morning, as I had a long drive ahead of me. I wouldn't highly recommend this hotel, but I wouldn't shy away from it - it was a clean, warm place to crash for the night.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaiBoken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank marina10_92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hotel Hellissandur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hellissandur

Address: Klettsbud 7, Hellissandur, Snaefellsbaer 360, Iceland
Region: Iceland > West Region > Snaefellsbaer > Hellissandur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hellissandur
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing